We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST STAY EXCELLENT HOSTS EXCELLENT VENUE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parklane Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Parklane Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Parklane Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Greenlane West, Epsom, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“MUST STAY EXCELLENT HOSTS EXCELLENT VENUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have stayed here before, previous to the new management and have to admit I was not impressed, This time around it was excellent.. Clair and Mandy are brilliant and extremely efficent ... excellent stay once again.. i have been to stay twice already.. will be back no doubt really soon.. thankyou for having us.... jade

Room Tip: i like spa baths so if you are out and about during the day then 14... but if you are planning on st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi Jade
Thank you for your great feedback, It is a pleasure having you stay with us and am so glad to hear that you will be back, we are slowly going through and working hard to ensure the whole property reflects our passion for what we do.
Thanks for taking the time to review us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Clair and Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    15
    16
    11
    20
See reviews for
24
23
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I have just had two wonderful nights with the above motel. We have stayed in many over the years including 5 star and found this motel one of the best we have experience. It's location was just across the road from where we needed to be yet only 5 minutes from the centre of Auckland.
The communication with Clair and Mandy both with booking, staying and leaving was amazing. They went out of their way to help us. The room was incredible, felt like we could really relax and enjoy. Very clean and wanted for nothing.

Would highly recommend this to anyone couple, single or family and we will certainly be using their services again.

Debbie & Murray Kirkness
Wanganui NZ

Room Tip: We did n't try the restaurant but it sure smelt great. Nor did we try the fitness centre. The f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi Debbie and Murray
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, as we have just taken over the management of Parklane Motor Lodge, with a review like yours, we know we are on the right track to providing great service and attention to detail. We are very handy not only to Alexander Park across the road but also to many great other attractions in city of sails. After talking to you about the clear domed roof we had another guest who was watching the planes go overhead at night and she was saying it was an awesome experience
we look forward to welcoming you both back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at this property since it was close to the city centre and a part of the golden chain. This was listed as a gold We have had a good experience so far in all our stays with the golden chain but this experience was a disappointment. It started with us being checked-in into a room which was not cleaned. Guess a bunch a youngsters had a party in the room and there were beer bottles & dirty bed-sheets lying around. To give credit to the motel - the manager did come immediately, apologized and took us to a new room. The property looks run-down & there is trash accumulating in the car-park area. This is listed as a premium property in the golden chain website but basis our experience I don't think so. Would not visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that you've had this experience at our motel, on the date you checked in with us we had just finished having 3 cricket teams stay and unfortunately the room we had allocated to you had not yet been cleaned at the time when you checked in as our cleaners were working late into the evening to get the mess cleaned up after these 60+ Guys. I'm glad we were able to promptly move you to a cleaned room and that this didn't cause too many hassles or disruptions to your stay.

The mess that comes with 60+ Guys is amazing and as they had been with us a whole week it had been near impossible to keep the outdoor areas tidy after them. I can assure you that rubbish accumulating on the outside of the property does not occur often and once again I do apologize that this has not been a great experience for you and reflected poorly on our motel.

This coming week we will be leaving as the managers of this property to move on to the next step in our career. There will be new managers and we know that this will help bring new ideas & improve many different aspects of our guests experience.

Kind Regards,

Wayne Sharplin & Matt Durand
Motel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Thank you to Wayne and the team at Park Lane Motor Lodge for accommodating our class trip at short notice! All rooms were clean and comfortable, mini bars were unstocked as requested, beds were moved to fit groups as required, check in was arranged smoothly (not an easy feat with this many kids)all questions were answered prior to arrival, other guests were fairly warned of our stay.
Some of the children's comments are below:
It was cool because the rooms were big, the motel was huge
It was fun, the pool, the rooms
The pool and sky movies made it awesome
Easy to get to comfortable and clean
I liked it because it had everything we needed
Because we behaved good and it was cool because it had a pool
Flash
I liked that we got to choose who we shared with
I really really liked where we stayed it was a really neat place I would like to stay there again
Fabulous rooms
Really really good rooms, balconies and had a pool
It was very cool
Sweet as, flash, felt like a king!!
Comfortable and relaxing
I liked it because of the rooms
It was awesome with a spa, balcony, and fluffy blankets
Cool, it was very nice
It was flash with the pool and our room had a big TV
Because it had a pool
Bliss!
Good sleeping arrangements
So easy
Awesome, comfy beds

Well done and thanks so much Wayne and Matt, Debbie Atkinson, Principal

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Debbie,

We were more than happy to accommodate your school group, being a 38 room motel meant it was no hassles to fit your large group in quite comfortably. It is great to read all the comments from your students and the staff members/parent helpers alike and glad to hear that everyone had such an enjoyable time.

We look forward to welcoming you all back on the next school trip.

Kind Regards,

Wayne Sharplin and Matt Durand
Motel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a penthouse room which was very clean and ticked all the boxes. The checkin was smooth and Wayne offered helpful advice on the surrounding area. The private patio was brilliant, we spent our afternoons sitting in the sun enjoying a glass of wine. We also enjoyed a night at the harness racing which is right across the road from the motel. Thankyou, see you again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive Feedback. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our lovely penthouse rooms and were lucky enough for the weather to be great during your stay so you could really make the most of the private balconies. I agree we are in a great location for the harness racing over the road and glad to hear you had a very enjoyable time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope the weather will be just as perfect for you then.

Kind Regards,

Wayne Sharplin and Matt Durand
Motel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Not only is the motor lodge easy to find,easy to park and conveniently situated, it is very clean and comfortable. We arrived with extra party members on a very busy weekend.The manager - Wayne Shaplin went out of his way to accommodate us all. He organized transport to a major sporting venue and gave invaluable advice to make our weekend memorable.
This excellent service is rarely seen,and we will most certainly be booking in again when we visit Auckland.

Room Tip: The family rooms are lovely.......bright ,light and airy. The kids(aged 18 -22) loved being up in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Carole,

Thank you very much for your glowing review, we really appreciate your feedback and as you know we do take great pride in caring for all our guests so it was no troubles at all to accommodate and help with your needs during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future with a great kiwi hospitality!

Kind Regards,

Wayne Sharplin and Matt Durand
Motel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Aged would be an understatement. Power points loose on the walls, atrocious paint job - i think they used a two inch brush to "cut in". Having said that, I did call late on a Sunday evening and the owners were very accommodating, leaving a key and note for our after hours arrival. Would I recommend it? If you are in and out and it is just a bed for the night, sure. I wouldn't plan on having a holiday there though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am very glad that you had the chance to experience our great customer service even thought you were checking in after our office hours, and that you would still recommend our property as a place for an overnight stay.

We thank you for your feedback regarding the room itself and will be looking into the way in which the power fittings are secured to the walls (check to make sure no one has removed the screws etc.).

Since your stay we have had a painter at the property who has made several touch ups, as after looking into it I would have to agree there are a few places where the painting job done by the old managers has been quite shocking, so thank you for bringing this to our attention and giving us the opportunity to work on this for all our future guests.

I hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back again in the future, even if it is just as a great location to spend the night while working in the area.

Kind Regards,

Wayne Sharplin & Matt Durand
Motel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parklane Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklane Motor Lodge

Address: 222 Greenlane West, Epsom, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Epsom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parklane Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parklane Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Auckland
Parklane Motor Lodge Epsom, Auckland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parklane Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.