We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT GETAWAY !!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Stone Wall Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added A Stone Wall Inn to your Saves list
A Stone Wall Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   530 Hitchcock Hill Road, Windham, VT 05359   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Windham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Linden, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A GREAT GETAWAY !!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A Stone Wall Inn is an incredible place to stay... The architecture is very unique, as is Bob, The Owner, who designed the entire buildings and grounds. It's definitely off the beaten path, which was fine by me and my wife. We wanted solitude. We got there at 2:00, but strict check in times gave us 2 hours to walk the grounds, which are amazing. Check in was smooth, and Sean is very accomadating, even carrying our bags to the Corner House for us. We had the Corner House to ourselves our first night, which gave us a chance to really get comfortable out on the main deck. ( BRING BUG SPRAY !!!! ) Cognac and cigars for me, Yellow Tail for my wife. They have a full kitchen, all utensils you need to eat and drink. Microwave, toaster oven, dishwasher,etc. Sauna in the bottom part of the house, which is awesome... The pool an Cajuzzi were there for our enjoyment. WiFi works pretty good, bring your own laptop, the main house internet is spotty at best. No cell phone signal, but you can take and make calls if you feel you must. There are great places to eat, 8-20 miles distance. ( I recommend Solo Farm & Restaurant ) DEFINITELY CHECK OUT LOWELL LAKE STATE PARK. Beautiful. Swimming, EXCELLENT FISHING, canoe, kayak.Not crowded at all, even on Sat. & Sun. Like I told Bob when we left, not we might be back, WE'LL DEFINITELY BE BACK !!!!

Room Tip: The Long House we didn't stay at, But the Crow's Nest room was in a further away location, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, General Manager at A Stone Wall Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the awesome review. I'm glad you enjoyed Lowell Lake, it is our favorite place to take the kayaks out, and to head for an easy hike, complete with interesting attributes like an abandoned summer camp, and a Revolutionary War cemetery.

I also wanted to let you know, that we just finished a complete rewiring of the networking cables on the property, so both buildings have a solid internet connection now. Fiber optic lines are also being installed in the town, and by the end of the year, our internet speeds will be rated at 1 gbps....faster than most urban areas, and universities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying on site as I write this, my fiancé and I along with our dog Sammy. We love being out of the rush of normal life relaxing walking the property which is amazing. Staff is great. The pool is very nice, the room is perfect with a balcony and all. We love the area, there everything you need here but if you venture out not too far away is anything you could want. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently spent two nights at A Stone Wall Inn and had a very good time. The property is quirky in the best sense of the word. Each room is different (see the website) and our room (Cathedral) actually consisted of a main room which contained everything except the bed and shower which were basically in a loft up a flight of stairs. Rolling out of bed into the shower is really a great idea. The grounds were beautiful (although we didn't get to walk them because of some bad planning mixed with occasional rain). The owner/architect came to the breakfast room each morning and regaled us with interesting stories about his life. Although the place is somewhat isolated -- we had to travel 10-25 miles for most attractions and restaurants -- that wasn't a significant problem, especially considering the very small number of vehicles on the roads at this time of the year. I did rate the location as very good instead of excellent because of this; on the other hand, if you are trying to get away from everything, you could consider this location excellent.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are described in a lot of detail on their website, so I'd suggest spending time...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are extremely environmentally friendly; in fact, that is one of their key tenets.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The architecture is unlike anything you've likely seen in your travels, which enhances the enjoyment of the entire VT serenity exponentially. Check-in is easy and completely hassle-free, rooms are great and provide plenty of space and all the accommodations one would expect at a reputable B&B. Our favorite part was being away from all the hustle and bustle and not having cell phone reception, as it forced us to relax and enjoy the inn for what it is, instead of dealing with constant distractions from the modern tech of everyday life. We hope to return later in the summer as well as at some point this winter as well.

Room Tip: with a groupon we were able to get a large room with 2 levels, a jacuzzi tub, and our own balcony fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was me and my girlfriend's first stay and it was definitely an interesting place. Very quiet and peaceful. We had an ant problem in the first room we stayed in but the manager was very nice about letting us switch rooms. The manager and the owner were very friendly. The rooms were a little smaller than expected but they were cozy and comfortable. We felt at home at this place and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

There was no snow when we left MA, but a wintery mix falling when we arrived in VT. The Inn was very quiet the first night and Sean said it was fully booked for the second night of our stay. We heard about the Inn through a Groupon coupon.

Arrival and check-in were great greeted by Sean the Inn keeper for our weekend and his dog. Got a tour of the house. Were blown away by the woodstoves used to heat the central lounge areas. It seemed that we were the only guests to use each of the lounges in the evening. It was March madness time and instead of driving to a local watering hole we caught up on the games there in the lounge. There were no TVs in each room which was fine by us.

Great breakfast each morning. Nothing too wild, but we had a bread pudding one morning and fruit with fresh brewed coffee. The breakfast room was bright and wonderful.

We stayed in the stargazer room which seemed to be shoehorned into its space in the house. It Was a cool room with its own porch.

Inn stayed quiet throughout our stay you didn't hear people moving around during the evening hours even though it was fully booked. It was a modern and funky place to stay and we enjoyed ourselves throughout our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We've stayed at A Stone Wall Inn twice in the past month (March 2013) and will continue to come back. The property is beautiful and hidden away from neighbors so you have beautiful views. The hot tub and dry sauna are a wonderful way to relax after the day and Sean's (the live-in manager) evening treats are always delicious. There is a recreational room with a big TV and guest fridge if you want to bring your own beverages or snacks.

The rooms are cozy and not your typical hotel room. They all have unique layouts and individual perks. Some of the rooms lack in great lighting/big mirrors in the sink area but you can definitely make do with what's there. The beds are cozy with lots of pillows and warm comforters and there are excellent drapes to block out the sun if you want to sleep in.

Sean makes an excellent breakfast and can easily cater towards food allergies in tasty ways. Definitely worth waking up for! There are get information sheets on things to do in the area and amazing restaurants.

Be warned there is no cell service at the Inn and no TVs in the room (although there is great wifi). This wasn't an issue for us at all and provided a much needed escape.

Overall, we can't wait to come visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A Stone Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stone Wall Inn

Address: 530 Hitchcock Hill Road, Windham, VT 05359
Location: United States > Vermont > Windham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Stone Wall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by an award-winning architect, A Stone Wall Inn is not your average bed and breakfast. You won't find doilies, antiques, and Victorian era furniture; What you will find is modern architecture, with buildings designed to interact with the environment, artistic symbolism in every nook, meandering staircases that lead you to unique rooms, and custom designed furniture pieces. As Vermont's Greenest Inn, we use no fossil fuels in the heating of our buildings, and use materials which are sensitive to the needs of the environment. The buildings are akin to an adult treehouse, with creative spaces to be found inside and out. Get away from the fast lane, and come explore the pristine nature of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A Stone Wall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Stone Wall Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.