We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margrethe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Margrethe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Margrethe
LangGade 36, Gadbjerg 7321, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gadbjerg
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Very friendly staff. Everything looks a little old but the room, restaurant and the hotel is clean. We had dinner in the restaurant. Food was good but a little salty. Breakfast was good. A lot to choose and more then enough. Fresh baked bread, fresh fruit, egg, milk, juice and so on.

Close to Legoland and you can buy your ticket already in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good food, warm staff, and a nice place to stayover. The interior design is kept in red carpet retro style, with spaceius rooms. The hotel could be a paralelle to a cowboy hotel in Las Vegas with a couple of horses parked outside. But nope. You are in friendly nabourhood with no indians and lots of nice people. The hotel is closeby a railway track (no station) that keps you in mind that the 70'ties is 40 years ago, although the Hotel Margrethe could make you forget. The ballroom in hotel Margrethe is almost as being in the tv series Twinpeaks by david lynch. A comfy place for everyone who like a calm smalltown stayover passing through or having a familyparty.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The stay at this hotel was connected with our trip to Legoland, which is located within about 15 kms' range. We chose Margharete mainly due to the fact that it wasn't too expensive and provided a swimming pool. When the check-in day came, and we arrived at our destination, we saw a rather shabby building, which even at the first glance told us that it hadn't been renovated for decades. Some of the letters forming the name of the hotel had fallen off, leaving some dirty dust spots behind them. Luckily, none of the three stars were gone ;). Inside, we were greeted by an elderly fellow, who I guess was the owner. After I asked him about how to configure the Internet and whether it was free of charge or not, he couldn't give me a clear answer about that. (Later, I figured by myself that this service was paid, unfortunately). The hotel room was more or less OK, except from the fact, that it was very poorly lit, What's worse, one of the light bulbs short-circuited and almost exploded when it was switched on, sending a fat spark on a bed below. There wasn't any shampoo in the bathroom, except for some all-body shower gel, which hadn't been replenished before our arrival and was very soon gone short of. Since we checked in in the afternoon, and there weren't any suitable places to eat dinner in the area, we decided to eat at the hotel. I must say that I wouldn't serve my worst enemy the food that we ate there. The steak resembled an old sole, which had lied in water for weeks. Yet, it was almost raw inside, so you had to chew t veeery long, The french fries had an unpleasant taste, almost like plastic. The Ice-cream dessert had surely been stored in the fridge for weeks if not months , before it was served to us, The same referred to the whipped-cream topping on it. Another family, which sat not very far from us, complained on the quality of food as well (cork crumbs in the glass of wine, incompletely fried chicken, etc.) So - the dinner was a disaster, and not only that: it cost us more, than the eat-as-much-you-can dinner that we had the following day at Legoland!. As mentioned above, the positive thing about the hotell was the swimming pool, even though it was a rather small one and only 1,2 m deep. Reassuming: The hotel needs an upgrade, not only of its structure, but also - the level of its service.

Room Tip: During the summer: ask for a room next to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gadbjerg hotels

Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

This hotel is great if you look for a place to stay for one night between Legoland and Loveparken (Lion Park) Givskud. The staff is friendly and the rooms are good. On the plus-side is a pool if you have children along.

Everything works but you can't blame the hotel for being trendy.... Everything looks as things did in the 1970ies and the motto of the hotel could be: "If it works - don't fix it". Everything works and I wouldn't mind coming back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

We spent our Easter holiday at Legoland in Billund, Denmark and stayed at Hotel Margrethe in Gadbjerg for 2 nights. The hotel was okay, check in went fast and effectived. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The room was well heated and spacious, but needs an upgrade.
Beds were clean, as well as the bathroom. The floor was not vacuum cleaned.
Rate for family room is average. Breakfast is okay and simple. There is a restaurant and a bar in the hotel.
There are two small swimmingpools that opens in April. Location is good, 14 km to Legoland and 4 km to Løveparken (Safari Zoo) Givlund.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Worndown
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Margrethe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margrethe

Address: LangGade 36, Gadbjerg 7321, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle Municipality > Gadbjerg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Gadbjerg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Margrethe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Margrethe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.