We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chaweng Garden Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Chaweng Garden Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   162/8 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Chaweng Beach
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great first impression but then it went downhill.
Pros
-golf cart ride to room (kinda
cool!)
-standard room was spacious (get one upstairs so you get a balcony)
-friendly restaurant and beach-side staff
-good location (beach one side, shops and restaurants the other)
-very clean
-beautiful setting
-good buffet breakfast with a huge range
Cons
-VERY slow wifi
-room was poorly maintained (balcony light didn't go, wall mount for shower was loose and swivelled, bathroom door handle was loose)
-water from shower flowed into the toilet and handbasin area
-hot water went cold after 30 seconds, EVERY time
-rude man on reception
-could feel the bed springs in the mattress
-cleaning ladies took used beach towels without replacing (disconcerting when there is a sign that states you will be charged for missing items)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    119
    40
    15
    14
See reviews for
44
95
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayswater
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a garden bungalow. So beautiful, all teak with its own decking and stunning bathroom. The breakfasts were excellent and the dinners we had was thoroughly authentic. We ate one night in the restaurant and another night we had lobsters on the beach in a gorgeous setting. Happy hour was excellent too. Even the laundry lady always greeted us with a huge smile. We were able to book a tour to Koh Tao through them as we'll which was simple and easy. Even on checkout they looked after our luggage and gave us a locker for all my camera gear. They even gave us a late checkout without needing to ask. The pool was great especially in the morning whilst people were at breakfast. The massage ladies by the pool also gave us traditional massages which energised both body and soul. We thoroughly recommend this jewel by the sea.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location, lovely staff, yummy breakfast. Beds were a little hard and there were a lot of kids so very busy/noisy at the pool (school holidays), but fantastic value for money. Nice and close to Ark bar if you fancy a few buckets ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is just a minute walk to the Chaweng beach where variety water sports are available. The beach is clean with many restaurants. The hotel is centrally located, restaurants and shops are easily approachable. The hotel room is big and clean. Buffet breakfast is nice too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our stay at Chaweng Garden's Beach resort was amazing. We originally planned on staying for 4 nights only, but ended up staying for three weeks! The rooms, staff, facilities, proximity to the beach and main street restaurants was perfect for us and exactly what we wanted for our 3 week ‘do nothing’ beach holiday. We stayed in a Superior Deluxe room which was lovely and a superior room (same as deluxe but cheaper and less fancy furniture) which was still perfect. Air con and the comfy beds were worth paying for and the room’s proximity to the beach was the best! The only downside I could say with the rooms is the TV. We’ve had a flat screen for years so unfortunately we’ve become very accustomed to one and being that they’re so cheap we were surprised to see there was only the massive box tv’s with low res pictures. Seriously not an issue when you’re lying on the beach all day, but when you want to watch a movie or something it would be nice to have a good TV. Both Sue’s Ocean restaurant (tables on the beach for dinner) and the Wine Oasis restaurants were fabulous. We rate the Wine Oasis as the best seafood restaurant on our trip – very fresh and staff listened to our requests on how we like our food cooked and every time it was delivered to us perfectly. The staff at both restaurants were lovely as well.
The laundry service was fantastic, happy hour was great value, the pool is absolutely beautiful - very refreshing and my favourite spot to sit all day under the trees on the big sun beds was bliss. My partner preferred sunbaking so he was on the sunlounge in the sand directly in front of me so we could still chat. From this perspective the resort caters for those with sunbaking aspirations as well as those like me with skin that just burns. We will definitely stay at the resort again, it was such great value for money, so relaxing and easy.

Room Tip: Superior rooms far away from the Ark Bar – great value, zero noise and close to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Walking along Chaweng Beach in the early evening we found this restaurant with its tables and chairs set up on the beach. What a beautiful location, you cannot beat it. The menu was pretty good and offered my family a choice of Thai, seafood and western dishes. I decided to give the fresh seafood on display a go and ordered 400 grams of fresh barracuda in a chilli paste (which cost 240 baht @AUD $8). This dish was deep fried and like most deep fried Thai dishes was crunchy, I really enjoyed it with my steamed rice and complimentary salad. My partner had a hamburger which she really enjoyed whilst my daughter had a club sandwich, both were very fresh and were greatly appreciated. The plastic seats were the only thing I didn't enjoy at this location. Oh and it was happy hour! So cheap cocktails and drinks.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a amazing vacation at Koh Sumai, stayed at the chaweng garden beach resort. it has one the best locations, bang in middle of everything. staff is very friendly, service is excellent, rooms were big and clean, food was great too, would defiantly go back again!

Room Tip: if with a small family, the superior triple room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chaweng Garden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Garden Beach Resort

Address: 162/8 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaweng Garden Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort is owned by a local Koh Samui family. The piece of land which the resort stands has been passed down for around three generations now. There fore you'll find real Samui hospitality here. Our resort emphasizes simplicity with a taste of Samui culture. Our concept is to maintain a simple feeling……a feeling like this is your second home. We feel that all our guests are part of our family.We are situated in the center of shopping, nightlife and restaurants. Everything is within a walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chaweng Garden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Gardens Beach Hotel Koh Samui
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaweng Garden Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.