We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muang was Mwah Mwah Mwah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muang Samui Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Muang Samui Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Muang Samui Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13/1 moo2, Chaweng Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymoon Escape Package
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Chaweng Beach
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Muang was Mwah Mwah Mwah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We travelled to meet friends in Koh Samui - the choice of resorts on Chaweng was overwhelming. After much searching we decided on Muang Samui Chaweng (not to be confused with the Bo Phut one) and it was perfect for our needs. We loved our stay there - everything was ideal - it was peaceful, the restaurant (for breakfast) terrific and the staff were so helpful.

It's at the lagoon end of the beach so quite tidal but the pool makes up for things when you can swim in the sea. The location (in relation to Chaweng shops) is ideal - probably at the top end of the better shopping).

World Tailors were the best best best best best - Tony was awesome. Armani International Suits not so much - although they did a good job, they were more expensive and managed to stuff up our two orders so wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    89
    35
    13
    13
See reviews for
46
157
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days (it's in Chaweng not Bophut as previous reviewers have mentioned. I don't understand why Tripadvisor will not correct it) after much considerations. I originally wanted Centara but it was fully booked until end of Aug. So we booked Banana Fan Sea but reverted to Muang Samui. What a mistake and a huge one!

The resort is a mosquito-heaven! I had more mosquito bites in half a day here than our 4 days in Bangkok. And ants! Little ones crawling against the walls (which we found out the day we left). Every time I got in the bed my whole body was itchy like fleas, and my husband woke up with rash all over his legs. I was hoping the next night would be better after changing the sheets but no. Itchy Itchy Itchy!! Although we are very understanding travellers and the resort is surrounded by trees, the rooms at least should be free of bugs-oh, we found a dead cockroach too.

I read some positive reviews about the food so I had my expectations but disappointingly it wasn't very good at all. No indoor seating, meaning you have to constantly fight flies and mosquitos while eating. Breads were dry, the lady at the egg station did not understand "overeasy", and did not know how to flip the eggs. It took 3 persons to finally flip them and by that time the yolks were fully cooked. Thai food section pretty average too.

Location however is fantastic. Only a short walk out to main Chaweng where all the actions are. 7-10 min walk to the market. Beach is not as nice as south Chaweng but water is pretty clean-except for some green foamy stuff...

Pool is rather small and chairs just not enough. When we asked for a chair to be set up they said it should take 15 minutes, but they never came and we were in the pool for almost 2 hours.

No resort map or hotel directroy in the room either. When I asekd, the reception staff said "the hotel has only 53 rooms so you don't need a map. Just take a walk around the resort and you'll see everything". Hmm.....

Overall, this hotel is not a 5-star hotel. Star-rating is not just for the size of the room of the location. I'd give it a 3 at best. There are tons of other hotels right next to each other in all of Chaweng so look somewhere else. And for the price ($300 a night incl. extra bed and breakfast for a 7-yr old.) it's so not worth it. We were sad to leave Chaweng but soooo glad to leave Muang Samui.

One more thing as many other reviewers have mentioned is that most staff here don't speak English. While I do not expect housekeeping staff to be fluent, one does not think that "dog" or "cat" or "aroma oil" requires much English skill. Very nice, friendly people trying to help but just can't communicate.

Things to say positive about the hotel: They offered us a 30-min. complimentary massage for both my husband and I, and since my husband wasn't so keen on getting a massage I asked if I could get a one-hour massage instead and they were more than happy to accomodate.

Chaweng is a place full of energy and places to stay. I'm sure there are much better alternatives. Will definitely come back to Chaweng but will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor as the lightings are very dim and natural light is blocked by the trees. And the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Came here with friends 2 years ago and wanted to have the same room. This was no problem for Dear and the staff. All the staff are very proffessional and super helpfull. Rooms are very large and all the facilities needed are there. Breakfast is fabulous and if you require a special diet just ask. My wife and I were there for 12 nights and it was fabulous.

Room Tip: Our room was on the Ground Floor at the edge of the pool. We had direct access from our room to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very nice resort property that offers peace and quiet in the busiest part of Samui. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is first rate, and pool is lovely. Rooms are large, well appointed and very comfortable with all the Western amenities you'd want, with a Thai design flair. The beach is fairly good, but the better beach water is about a ten minute walk down the beach. Once you leave the property you are on the busiest street on the Island, so if you're looking for a balance of city night life and a quiet resort then this property is exceptional. If you're looking for a more secluded spot on the island, then look for something further South or North.

Room Tip: Try the massage on the beach...300 Baht!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our third time staying at the Muang Samui Spa Resort in Chaweng and the quality of the stay/service has degraded to the point where we will not be back.

There has been no effort to keep the rooms updated. The drapes and cushions for the furniture are showing their wear and tear due to the humidity. The beds were OK for comfort but my wife had lots of bites on her legs one morning. Might be bed bugs or spiders in the bedding.

It also appears that all the the best staff at the Muang Samui Spa Resort have been moved up to their new property the Muang Samui Villas and Suites.

Things that we liked about our stay was the breakfast and the spa facilities. Both were above average for food and spa treatments in Chaweng.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at the Muang samui resort Chaweng and i must say this was one fantastic stay. the hotel is perfectly situated at Chaweng road and close to the main busy shopping/restaurants area, the hotel itself is clean with nice well decorated rooms and the service is astonishing. the beach is nice but not one of the perfect beaches but we always used to go the Ark bar beach next to it maybe 500 meters away which had a perfect beach with nice music playing all the time.
The only downside to the hotel i think is the food as we had a couple of dinners at the hotel and i don't think the food was of great quality. but in general the hotel is great and i recommend it to any young couple wanting to visit Ko Samui.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

What a fantastic location, perfectly situated on the beach and close enough to all the stores and shopping that is what makes Thailand amazing!
The staff were super friendly and talkative and would be happy to just have a chat or help us with anything service related.

We found this to have one of the best beachside locations as the other resorts to close to party locations and this resulted in all matter of things washing along the beach, but not at Muang!
Make sure to pop by the "Have a Nice Day!" family massage stand on the beach, well worth it for a truly amazing and relaxing experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Muang Samui Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Samui Spa Resort

Address: 13/1 moo2, Chaweng Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Muang Samui Spa Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the east coast of Koh Samui Island, Muang Samui Spa Resort is idyllically located on the white sands of Chaweng Beach, 10 minutes drive, or 3 kilometers from Samui International Airport, and 25 kilometers from Nathon City and ferry pier. Upon entering the Muang Samui Spa Resort, a feeling of genteel hospitality surrounds you, sustained by the welcome of tropical greenery, the impressive Southern Thai style decor and the gracious smiles of the staff; the temptation of this charming sanctuary will remain with you always and call for your return time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Muang Samui Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Samui Hotel Bophut
Hotel Muang Samui
Muang Samui Spa Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muang Samui Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.