We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic first time in Samui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Resotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Samui Resotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samui Resotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Moo 3, Chaweng Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Chaweng Beach
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic first time in Samui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We arrived at Koh Samui and were originally booked into another resort which we were not very happy with due to the fact that there was no beach with sand attached to the resort as we had seen in promotion photos. The sea water had come right up to the wall of the resort and we were told that there would be very little sand on low tide and we would have to walk 5 minutes down the road to get a sandy piece of beach. It was then that I made some enquiries and it was suggested that we check out the Samui Resotel Resort. Which of course my husband, friends and I did and decided that we would pay the little extra and stay here. The beach was wonderful and just what we wanted. Thank you to the resort staff for being so wonderful and helpful during our 5 night stay at the Samui Resotel. Our room was clean and modern and we had a lap pool outside our room. We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful beach and the pool area. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and you were always greeted with a friendly smile. The resort is not too far from the main area of Chaweng and it was good to walk for 10-15 minutes to the main centre every day. There were many eating places to choose from and we had no problem finding a good place to have dinner at. The only negative feedback about the resort is that internet usuage should be complimentary and we should not need to pay. The hotel we stayed at in Phuket gave free internet usuage. I would certainly not hesitate in recommending this resort to any of my friends and family. In fact my son who is 20 years of age is staying there shortly with a group of his friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to provided your feedback regarding our hoyel. I very pleasure to learn that you are very happy during stay with us.

I would take this opportunity to cotinue our service and facility and with a pleasure in the welcoming back again.During stay should you have any inconvenence i would like to apologized.

Should you have any further be assistance plaese do not hesiatte to contact me.


With best Regards;

the Managment and staff Team
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    106
    41
    11
    14
See reviews for
36
167
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in an ocean pool villa from the 7th to the 18th of December 2012. Our stay was everything anyone would want in a resort for their honeymoon. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The food was some of the best we ate anywhere in Chaweng during our stay. And the villa; the villa was heaven. We spent a part of everyday lounging at our crystal clear pool just a wall's jump away from one the nicest and quietest beaches in Chaweng. If you're looking for a romantic holiday, and if you're splashing out on an ocean pool villa, PLEASE look no further anywhere in Chaweng than Samui Resotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Greeting from Samui resotel Beach Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind spend a holiday with our hotel and kindly taking time to provided your feedback regarding our hotel, Certainly during saty with us should you ahve any incoveneince please apologized.

Shoudl you ahve any further assistance plaese do not hesitate to conatct me.We wish you have a nice day


Best regards;

The managment team
Samui resotel Beach resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I just came back from 3 nights stay at Samui Resotel. We made the decision to stay here is because the review and the beach is just behind the hotel and near the Chaweng centre
, so we booked a Ocean Pool Villa. (just to pamper ourselves and for my 50+ birthday)

The check-in was smooth; staffs are polite and helpful throughout our stay there.

The location is perfect as its away from the bustle and hustle of the center, but just a 10-15 minute walk to the center. Or you can take a open-bus around (like to the fisherman village which is 10 min by open bus).

The room was great and huge, its really bright in the day time because of the white colour painting of the room. It has almost everything you need; flip-flop, beach basket, extra beach towel, electronic and smoke mosquito repellent, coffee and tea making utilities, 2 big umbrellas which is very useful as it rain heavily on one day when we were there.

The bathroom is huge as well as the bathtub, which easily accommodate 2 persons. There is even an essential oil burner in the bathroom.

The private pool was fantastic; we just enjoy lying in the pool watching the sunrise and sunset.

The unit I stayed (1108) is just next to the path to the beach, so I just walk over from the unit back wall to the steps and reach to beach which is just outside the unit.

However there are little things; the tile in the bathroom has dropped off, the cover of the rack was cracked and broken.

Another thing that puzzle me is the charging of the internet usage With such a establishment like this and the price (US$335/night), the internet access should be complimentary. Or at least certain area of the hotel be wi-fi free. I travelled a lot , even in Europe, there is free wi-fi in B&B room. At the end, I paid 450 BATH for 3 hour access.

Overall we had a great stay here. And may come back again.

Room Tip: the Ocean Pool Villa is great, facing the sea, the beach is just in front and the only thing you hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Greeting from Samui resotel Beach Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind spend a holiday with our hotel and kindly taking time to provided your feedback regarding our hotel, Certainly during saty with us should you ahve any incoveneince please apologized.

Shoudl you ahve any further assistance plaese do not hesitate to conatct me.We wish you have a nice day


Best regards;

The managment team
Samui resotel Beach resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Only stayed here for one night in November on the way through from Koh Phangan to Chiang mai. I'd just stayed at a horrible place in KP so I was delighted to reach this lovely, modern and clean haven! Hotel staff were polite and helpful. Weather was terrible so I didn't use the facilities but the pool and beach did look lovely and I could see the sea from my room which was nice. I did try and fit in a few spa treatments (they advertise themselves as a 'spa'), when I asked a member of staff where it was, she seemed confused and after a few attempts, she told me that the spa was shut because it wasn't busy.
The aircon in my room stopped working after about half an hour, they tried to fix it by switching the power in and off, they then advised that they couldn't try that after it broke again because it had started raining. They did offer to move me rooms but I'd had to unpack all my stuff (broken suitcase) and was really tired.

The place was lovely overall, however the peace and what would be tranquility of the place is ruined by the fact that the main road is right outside the room door.. Like on your doorstep. There are vehicles driving up and down playing very loud music and adverts until late, as well as mopeds and motorbikes. It's almost like they're driving through the room at times!

I'd use again as a stopover though.

Room Tip: Pool rooms looked nice enough, try and avoid the side that backs onto the main road (if there is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame

Warmest Greeting from samui Resotel Beach Resort.

We would like to take this ooportunity to thank you very much for your kind holiday with us.
than you very much for your kind suggesion.

Should you ahve any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me,


Best Regards;

Siriporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Just ended my 3 nights stay as part of 8 nights stay in Ko Samui. Decided to stay in Chaweng Beach for the 1st 3 nights to enjoy the atmosphere in the heart of things.

Stayed in the Superior Sea View Room (2nd floor building block facing the main road) with a balcony facing the sea.

I booked my hotel through LateStays.com for a total of 10,125THB inclusive of breakfast for 2 people.

Went to the hotel straight after arriving at the airport. Go to the taxi counter and asked for a van to share instead of private taxi. It only cost 120THB and for me, there were only 3 stops all within the Chaweng Area.

Check in was brisk and there is no need to print your confirmation voucher as I just showed it to them from my iPhone and they already knew whom to expect for the day.

Decided to go for rather basic room as don't expect to spend much time inside the hotel.

Lets get straight to the room. What I like is that its white and airy and that helps with the clean feeling of the room. I got 2 double bed although I was traveling alone and I had requested 1 king bed. When asked on any promo upgrade, there wasn't any or staff could not be bothered to check.

The little things that I like about the room are: 2 flip flops that can be used by guests to go to beach or around town, 4 glass bottled water (replenished daily), beach basket, easy to operate safe, unbrellas (useful at this time of year), flat screen TV with HDMI input (just incase you are interested to bring your electronic toys), electronic and smoke mosquito repellent, large bathtub that can easily fit any 6 footer, small container of washing powder (so that you don't have to buy a large bag of washing powder and carry it around), hand held shower plus rain shower, cloth drying rail at the balcony, tea light with aromatic water that you can use to relax in the bath.

The little things that I don't like are: despite being a (relatively) new guy on the block (its only 2-3 years old), the maintenance of the hotel could havw been better, shower water slow to drain, as mentioned by other people, the shower is not as clean as it could be, traffic noise as well as the electricity buzzing from the electrical pole (I stayed in 2207 if that helps) and also WiFi!

I will rant a bit on the WiFi as I think its a silly rule/managemwnt decision. If you compare to other establishment along the road, they are all offering free WiFi. Even the lovely Thai Thai Spa just outside the hotel provide free WiFi. To add into insult, other cafes/restaurants are also offering free WiFi. I decided to eat at the hotel on my last night - ordered a bottle of wine and steak (which was great) - and asked if there's WiFi that I could use. The answer was that I have to buy (even when I was a patron of their restaurant). That explain (or perhaps, in part) why the place is empty for dinner.

Again, as many have point out, there should be no harm in providing free WiFi as hardly everyone will be on their laptop 24hr. People are busy exploring the island, partying or trying to forget abput work.

Hotel location with regards to local amneties are great. Money changer just outside hotel as are massage parlour which I went twice, FamilyMart (similar to 7Eleven) and a cup of cappuccino (at 80THB @ Tanya's Cafe).

Breakfast is the usual typical hotel breakfast. Nothing to shout about. Staff that I interacted are very pleasant and helpful - even offering to print a taxi voucher that I had booked privately (which I didn't do as its not required) and also assisted to call the driver to arrange time.

The beach in itself is a letdown. Never stayed in Chaweng Beach before as my previous Koh Samui trip was 3 years ago and had stayed in Lamai Beach and Bo Phut. South of Chaweng were supposed to have powder soft clean beach but (perhaps, its the rainy season), it was full of rubbish (which was explained as being washed down from the river).

I would recommend this hotel only for the clean white room and its friendly staff. Am sure that other hotels near it would be more value for money. Staff should also be empowered to delight their guests by using their discrete authority. This will definitely bring in more raving reviews rather than hits and misses.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame

Warmest Greeting from Samui resotel Beach resort.

Thank you very much for your considering our hotel and spend a holiday with us, we are very sorry to know that our hotel and facility of the service are unexpectation and cann't make your memorandum a nice holiday.Plesae forgiave our apologized

However, we would like to take a opportunity and would like to thank you very much for your kind suggesion we are going to improved and hope that we wills seeing you

Should you have any further please do not hesitate to contact me


Best Regards;

Siriporn Lorphan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were recommended by our friends to stay at this resort in Koh Samui. We’re a young couple in our mid 20’s who had never been to Thailand before so we sought a lot of advice from our friends and on here prior to booking our accommodation.

We were willing to spend a bit of money on our accommodation, considering it was our first holiday together and the price is very cheap compared to Australia. We decided to spurge a little in Koh Samui following 4 nights in Phuket and we booked a garden pool villa.

After leaving our amazing resort in Phuket we couldn’t wait to see what was waiting for us at Samui Resotel, considering we had paid a lot more than Phuket and were expecting our villa to be mind-blowing. Before we left I had read a fair few of the reviews on here for Samui Resotel and although I was a bit unsure our friends had assured us that Samui Resotel was the place to stay.

Well…we liked the location, close enough to the clubs and bars by tuk-tuk or taxi but far enough away that we had some piece and quiet and an easy stroll to the walking market, restaurants and shops. However, the resort itself was a bit of a let-down. First of all, the facilities are a bit basic considering how much we were paying per night – in Phuket we had two pools, 3 restaurants and free wifi for a quarter of what we were paying at Samui Resotel. Yes, I understand that Koh Samui is smaller and therefore the resorts aren’t as big as in Phuket and the price might be a bit higher everywhere on Koh Samui but for close to AU $250 a night you would expect free wifi and well kept rooms.

Our villa was very big, the pool was perfect and we could slightly see the ocean from our room which was a nice surprise and it was only a short walk down a garden path away from our backdoor (however we had to jump over a wall to get onto the beach which was annoying). The major let-down was the lack of up-keep, the paint (as mentioned in a lot of reviews on here) is peeling, the bathroom had mould and the air-conditioning was almost non-existent! They charged us for a second room card which was a bit steep considering how much we were paying to stay there (without the second room card you can’t leave the air-conditioning on while you have breakfast, go to the pool etc. and even in a short time the room became extremely hot)

The bathroom was very large and had no fan (the air-con could not cool the bathroom either) so it was almost unbearable to stay in there for too long. It was also quite noisy too as the bathroom was next to the pool area and the music from the pool could be heard quite easily from the bathroom and the bedroom if the door was left open.

All in all, we really enjoyed Koh Samui but next time we’ll be staying somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Resort/Hotel is at the far end of Chewang Beach. It's away from all the bright lights, discos, clubs and bars of the resort, which are easily accessible by taxi, bar bus or a brisk 20 minute walk. If you really want to get away from it all then you could just stay here 24/7 as it has everything for a chilled out, quiet, easy going time. Has it's own library, internet room, in room wifi (all chargeble), own private beach area, own private spa/massage area. You can eat at night overlooking the beach. Has a nice pool area with swim up bar and a very small fitness/conditioning room.

If you want to get away from it all (but not too far away that you might want to go out on some nights to experience noise, bars, restaurants, markets etc..) then this is the place to go with your loved one. The staff were exceptionally friendly and whilst we had drinks or evening dinner overlooking the beach and sea after serving us they would often stay and chat with us for a while.

Room Tip: We booked a poolside room which had a plunge pool right outside our balcony giving us easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame

Warmest Greeting from samui Resotel Beach Resort.

We would like to take this ooportunity to thank you very much for your kind holiday with us.
than you very much for your kind suggesion.

Should you ahve any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me,


Best Regards;

Siriporn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samui Resotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Resotel and Spa

Address: 17 Moo 3, Chaweng Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Resotel and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Samui Resotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Resotel Hotel Koh Samui
Samui Resotel And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Resotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.