We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaranda

Zaranda
Carretera Es Capdella-Galilea, km 1.7, 07181 Es Capdella, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
971-138 620
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant is situauted in Castell Son Claret and has a former michelin star chef who has just moved there
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Initially concerned with "attached to Hilton Hotel" but so wrong. Hotel is converted old manor house with Zaranda restaurant to one side of magnificent cobbled courtyard with tables both inside & outside. Superb team led by delightful owner with partner Chef, escapees from Madrid to this idyllic location. Amuse bouche of red mullet - smoked - opened our eyes to proceed through the Menu Zaranda, some dishes just outstanding - black poached egg - amazing, glazed confit of Ox-tongue - scrumptious. Surpassed a 3* in Italy & even our favourite 1* in Scotland - sorry but true! Wished we had selected our own wine as not overly impressed with their selection of wines. Not cheap but excellent value for this quality of food. Well deserved Michelin* worthy of more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    7
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great local foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Service and cuisine deserving of the Michelen star. Sommelier was very attentive and entire staff was great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Give this man a(nother) star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Zaranda took a brave step a couple of years ago moving from Madrid to Mallorca, but what a wonderful decision to open in this fabulous new setting. The restaurant is in the beautiful 14th century courtyard of the Hilton Hotel in Llucmayor.

We ordered the top tasting menu and selected one of our favourite Spanish wines (from Mallorca,) - the amazing Miguel Gelabert "Sa Vall Private Selection"

Almost lost for words, I can truly put this meal into the top 3 of my life, (which includes the 3 star Michelin - El Bulli.) Every aspect - the setting, the service, the sommelier, and of course the food was superb. I could go into the intricacies of the extremely long menu, (in fact, so long, that we couldn't manage the cheese board and one of the fabulous desserts!,) but you must try it for yourselves. Perfection.

The chef and owner, Fernando Perez Arrellano and his charming "maitre d'" wife, thoroughly deserve another Michelin star next year.

One very slight niggle, which is down to the hotel, not the restaurant, is that guests with suitcases trundle through the courtyard from time to time slightly spoiling the peace. But, it certainly doesn't detract from the excellence of the meal.

The price is absolutely correct for this level of restaurant, and even seems good value in comparison to some other Michelin recommended restaurants who most certainly do not deserve their star, (see my recent review on Skina - Marbella!)

Go and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

On a hot summer's evening, what a lovely place to eat. Our Table d'hote menu (78 euros) came with several amuse bouches, the food was excellent and copious, the setting superb, and at a total cost of just under 200 euros for two, with wine and coffee, very good value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks,england
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“deserves it's Michelin star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for a night at the Hilton sa Torre so that we could eat at Zaranda.The tables are situated in the lovely courtyard of the old building and this beautiful setting is a perfect one for this exceptional gastronomic experience. We had the "menu Zaranda" with the wine flight; the total per person E125.The staff are extremely attentive and explain everything about each of the courses. The food is superbly presented and every course - from the several tapas to the pudiings, were a joy to savour. For a special occasion, this is a wonderful place to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaranda also viewed

Es Capdella, Calvia
Es Capdella, Calvia
 
Costa d'en Blanes, Majorca
Es Capdella, Calvia
 

Been to Zaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.