We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local foods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaranda

Zaranda
Carretera Es Capdella-Galilea, km 1.7, 07181 Es Capdella, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
971-138 620
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is situauted in Castell Son Claret and has a former michelin star chef who has just moved there
Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Service and cuisine deserving of the Michelen star. Sommelier was very attentive and entire staff was great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    9
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Give this man a(nother) star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Zaranda took a brave step a couple of years ago moving from Madrid to Mallorca, but what a wonderful decision to open in this fabulous new setting. The restaurant is in the beautiful 14th century courtyard of the Hilton Hotel in Llucmayor.

We ordered the top tasting menu and selected one of our favourite Spanish wines (from Mallorca,) - the amazing Miguel Gelabert "Sa Vall Private Selection"

Almost lost for words, I can truly put this meal into the top 3 of my life, (which includes the 3 star Michelin - El Bulli.) Every aspect - the setting, the service, the sommelier, and of course the food was superb. I could go into the intricacies of the extremely long menu, (in fact, so long, that we couldn't manage the cheese board and one of the fabulous desserts!,) but you must try it for yourselves. Perfection.

The chef and owner, Fernando Perez Arrellano and his charming "maitre d'" wife, thoroughly deserve another Michelin star next year.

One very slight niggle, which is down to the hotel, not the restaurant, is that guests with suitcases trundle through the courtyard from time to time slightly spoiling the peace. But, it certainly doesn't detract from the excellence of the meal.

The price is absolutely correct for this level of restaurant, and even seems good value in comparison to some other Michelin recommended restaurants who most certainly do not deserve their star, (see my recent review on Skina - Marbella!)

Go and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

On a hot summer's evening, what a lovely place to eat. Our Table d'hote menu (78 euros) came with several amuse bouches, the food was excellent and copious, the setting superb, and at a total cost of just under 200 euros for two, with wine and coffee, very good value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks,england
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“deserves it's Michelin star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for a night at the Hilton sa Torre so that we could eat at Zaranda.The tables are situated in the lovely courtyard of the old building and this beautiful setting is a perfect one for this exceptional gastronomic experience. We had the "menu Zaranda" with the wine flight; the total per person E125.The staff are extremely attentive and explain everything about each of the courses. The food is superbly presented and every course - from the several tapas to the pudiings, were a joy to savour. For a special occasion, this is a wonderful place to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pricey but well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Amazing food to tickle your taste buds and to fill you up. Great chef and fully deserving of a Michelin Star!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaranda also viewed

Es Capdella, Calvia
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Es Capdella, Calvia
Costa d'en Blanes, Majorca
 

Been to Zaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.