We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regardless of the weather - a sunny welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swinside Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Swinside Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Swinside Lodge Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grange Road, Newlands, Keswick CA12 5UE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Regardless of the weather - a sunny welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

A quiet and peacuful location with great walks on the doorstep and only a stone's-throw from Derwentwater. Mike, Kath and Clive provide personalised service and fantastic food. Regardless of the weather (and we went from hot and sunny to getting totally drenched) we looked forward to returning to the hotel to relax and especially to enjoy the great food.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    14
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
154
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

My wife and I have been guests in Swinside Lodge Hotel 7 times during the past 7 years. This year's owners, Mike and Kath, are the third owners we've dealt with in that time! Amazingly, we loved it the first year and each successive owner has added to the hotel in such a way that we continue to be drawn back year after year. Certainly a large part of this is the food as prepared by Clive, who has been the chef for quite a few years and who continues to produce delicious meals consistently, night after night, year after year. Add to that a warm welcome and immaculate accommodation and it all adds up to a wonderful experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed at the lovely Swinside Lodge in May for seven days. This is our sixth visit to Swinside and we definitely anticipate returning next May. The new owners, Cath and Mike, are most accomodating and delightful. They are incredibly enthusiastic and energetic about maintaining the essence of what makes Swinside so special and improving on that. They have many plans, such as adding more landscaping to the garden, and have already made subtle as well as noticeable changes. They've installed new heating, enlarged the parking area, put in double paned windows, hung multiple bird and red squirrel feeders that have attract an entertaining parade of wildlife outside the dining room window, and are in the process of enlarging some of the rooms and bathrooms.
They've given Clive, the marvelous chef, a new kitchen and although we never thought it was possible, Clive continues to outdo himself with absolutely gourmet meals and glorious presentations. Clive's dinners are true culinary delights--he uses fresh, local ingredients, creates sumptious menus, and every mouthful is fantastic.
We obviously love Swinside. The location is quiet, peaceful and convenient to excellent walks. Cath and Mike are warm, generous people who are working very hard to make Swinside better than ever.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Quite hard to find on the windy around Derwent Water, so it was with relief that we finally arrived, and from the first view, it looked to be a charming little spot. Extremely quiet, in an out of the way area with almost no traffic.

There was some work being done on the car park area, but it did not bother us at all as i was done during the day.

The place has the feel of your grandma's house crossed with an old school bed and breakfast, but I mean your rich grandma :-)

Ringing the bell on arrival, we were met by Mike, the owner, along with his wife Cath. Who were easily the nicest people I have ever dealt with at a hotel. The room was very comfortable with a fantastic bed, complimentary tea and coffee, cookies, biscuits, sweets and all sorts. I almost felt bad eating them all :-) The bathroom had a feel to it that was veryhard to explain. Once I got in, I did not want to get out. Not sure I've ever used a bathroom that was so oddly comfortable, especially considering it's modest size.

The second real gem of this place after the oweners was, (although it is reflected in the price), the food. Included in the rate, which I believe is standard, was a 4 course evening meal and full Cumbrian breakfast. A gin & tonic in one of the drawing rooms was a nice touch (on the house), and the evening meal, served very professionally by Cath was exquisite, and in a beautifully presented dining room. I would say the chef was wasted in such a small place in the countryside, but this is exactly the kind of thing that makes these types of places so special.

The breakfast was of the same quality, and the owners have the sausage made especially for them by the local butcher, and it shows. There is not a single aspect of this hotel with which the owners have been frugal or not given their full attention.

We only stayed one night as we were on a flying visit to the Lake District, but budget permitting, I would have stayed there longer. Mike and Cath were extremely helpful regarding local activities, and were more than happy to take the time to chat and make you feel at home. Keeping the car in the small, but perfectly adequate car park until 5pm on our checkout day was absolutely no problem also.

The clientele was a little older than the hotels I normally use, but it all added to the wonderfully quiet and relaxing atmosphere. if you're a certain type, you might think it all a little quaint and snooty, but then you don't deserve to enjoy little gems like this.

Left without a bad word to say about it, and desperate to get this written down, so others don't miss it. Cannot be recommended highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

This is a superb small hotel, up there with the best we have stayed in around the world. We chose it from Alistair Sawday's book and he was not wrong, even though the new owners have only been there since October 2008. They kept the chef who is brilliant, and have done some upgrading already. It is small and spotless and the the owners maintain a good balance of friendly and efficient. With a maximum of 14 guests there is time to get to know people. The views are stunning as is the wildlife. If you stay there make sure Cath lets you play with the jukebox.

The location is ideal for walking in that part of the Lakes, both low level and high level, and one of the finest hikes around actually starts at the front door.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I thought this was a really lovely hotel. Rooms were comfortable and spotless. I loved the view from the window. The dinners were absolutely excellent. Wonderful food, beautifully presented. Hosts Michael and Cathy made everything about the stay pleasant. I found the hotel's situation perfect, with a choice of lake, mountain or valley walking on the doorstep. The wildlife visiting the feeders in the front garden reached disneyesque proportions at times - red squirrel, hare, many birds one evening (no bluebirds though). Recommended. Just don't all book it out when I want to go next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk, england
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

The hotel enjoys a fine location, framed by lakeland fells and is surrounded by fields full of lambs during our stay, with red squirrels woodpeckers and many other birds visiting the garden. Catbells is only ten minutes walk away , as is the edge of Derwentwater, with lovely lakeside trails and a regular boat service to Keswick and other stops around the lake.
New owners Mike and Cath were exceptional hosts, easily attended to my wifes food fads and even repaired a pair of broken sunglasses left in the bedroom. Their whole ethos is aimed at a top quality service and we were so pleased to have chosen this hotel, which we consider is under rated on the star system, particularly the food. Our party of 6 reckoned the dinners were as good as anything we had experienced in any hotel and chef Clive Impey is an undiscovered and modest star in that respect. The fact that dinner was a set 4 courses was absolutely no problem with willing hosts happy to consider individual tastes where appropriate.
Our room on the top floor was not huge but was well set up with a comfortable bed and refitted en suite and the two sitting rooms were a pleasant place for pre dinner drinks and coffee.
Great weather too, so fabulous walking, all nearby. We even got to meet the Borrowdale race champion Billy ( still a record holder from 1979 ) who was rebuilding the entrance gates in Westmoreland slate.
If you want a quiet spot in a beautiful location plus outstanding food and great walking, look no further......

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swinside Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Lodge Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Newlands, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Swinside Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel in the heart of the English Lake District personally owned and run by Mike and Kath Bilton. A warm welcome awaits – hospitality and food are our passions, and the hotel has recently been voted in the top three Fine Dining Restaurants in Cumbria with an AA 2 Rosette Restaurant supplemented by a 130 bin wine list. Local wildlife including red squirrels can be seen in abundance in the gardens, and spectacular walks and drives start from the hotel’s door. Seven bedrooms all with beautiful mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Swinside Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Hotel Newlands
Swinside Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinside Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.