We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Delightful place to stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torbeckhill B&B

Torbeckhill B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterbeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torbeckhill B&B
Save
You added Torbeckhill B&B to your Saves list
Torbeckhill, Waterbeck DG11 3EX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Waterbeck B&B and Inns
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Delightful place to stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Welcoming, warm, comfortable and beautifully organised. What more could you want? On a long and tiring journey from Wales to the Northern Highlands of Scotland Torbeckhill is a haven
of peace and comfort. I can recommend Gordon and Yvonne's hospitality without any hesitation and say this with years of experience staying in hotels and B&Bs all over the country. To have a
well organised meal from Yvonne's capable hands is a most welcome addition to this stay, and
a comfortable sitting room with log fire to relax you after a long day of driving is worth far more
than the price charged for the excellent accommodation available. Well appointed bedroom and ensuite shower room were delightful. I shall definitely be returning. Gordon is an excellent host and made me feel at home straight away - highest recommendation for Torbeckhill!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
38
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The perfect place to stay near Dumfries! you have a spectacular view to the lake district from there! Yvonne and Gordon are wonderful hosts - They give you the feeling to be a part of her family! Yvonne and Gordon are very warmhearted and full of humor!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Yvonne and Gordon were the perfect hosts from the moment we arrived until the time we left. Their home is immaculate and very cosy. A home from home. Our home cooked meals were delicious and beautifully presented. A real treat. Torbeckhill is a perfect place to go walking. There is very little traffic and the wildlife lovely. We loved seeing the barn owls. We will definately return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: If you are looking for peace and quiet with great food and wonderful accommodation, look no further.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Gordon and Yvonne know what makes the perfect stay. From the moment you arrive their friendly, attentive and five star approach permeates every aspect of your visit. The house is spotless, the food is all homemade using the best of local produce and the breakfast is the most well presented, tasty and man-sized we have ever experienced. We have stayed with Gordon and Yvonne on numerous occasions and with Wifi available even our 16 year old son thinks it is 'wicked'. It doesn't get less stressful than that.

We recommend you take advantage of everything they have to offer: dinner, bed and breakfast all superb.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the twin (with en suite) and the double with a dedicated bathroom. Both exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

It's difficult to do justice to the experience of staying with Yvonne and Gordon in their lovely home. It really is home from home. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are made to feel so welcome. So much so that they feel like part of the family. Brilliant food, relaxing, beautiful rural views and great company. Have already stayed with them 5 or 6 times and will certainly return. Long may it last! Like the hairstyle Gordon!

The Motorbikers.

Room Tip: Both rooms are well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Gordon and Yvonne are excellent hosts which made for a happy time at Torbeckhill. Luxury accommodation,choice, presentation and taste of breakfast and dinner was delightful. We enjoyed it so much that we returned for another stay on our way home! Torbeckhill is on our list for longer breaks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Myself, partner and mini-dachshund stayed here for 1 night on our way up to the Isle of Mull. We were made more than welcome on arrival to their beautiful home and our dog was even provided with her own towel to wipe her muddy paws after a stroll around the quiet lanes (onlt minutes from the motorway would you believe!). Unfortunately there was no room for us to book in again on our way home :( Would definitely return if they would have us back with our new addition - another puppy! Friendly advice on where to find food in the evening and some advice on which way to go to continue our journey! Would not hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torbeckhill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torbeckhill B&B

Address: Torbeckhill, Waterbeck DG11 3EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Waterbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Waterbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torbeckhill B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.