We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Auckland Ellerslie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Auckland Ellerslie to your Saves list
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72-112 Greenlane East | Ellerslie, Ellerslie 1543, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ellerslie
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

On the positive side the rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. The room we stayed in was very small and stuffy which made sleeping uncomfortable. The air conditioning was also very noisy. Most disappointing however was the food. Flavours and selection were fine however the cooked breakfast was cold and the evening dining had run out of both fish and chicken very early evening and coffee from the machine had also run out.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We were sorry to read of the lapse in service you experienced; which was certainly not of the standard you deserve and we expect.
Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    251
    109
    23
    15
See reviews for
61
212
66
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

So I arrived to find that a mistake had been made at the booking end through our travel agent, and I was in a room with 2 single beds. Not king singles - little singles that children sleep on. I'm 105 kg and singles don't cut it. They were booked out and couldn't offer me another room, however offered to re-make the bed in King configuration....for a $50 charge! I was tired after a long day and I can't understand why they couldn't accommodate me without charging an extra $50. I was made to feel pretty sub-human and foolish, although ended up paying the $50 anyway as I had no choice. Because I had "walked" into the room, I wasn't able to leave the hotel without incurring the full night's fees. So I was trapped. Oh - the first guy I spoke to said there wouldn't be a charge for remaking the bed, but then a snooty Asian duty manager had to reprimand him in front of me and say that I did have to be charged. What a joke, won't be back EVER.

Room Tip: Make sure you get your bedding config right on booking, or they'll charge like a wounded bull to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Auckland Ellerslie. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
I understand you made an honest mistake and will be more than happy to refund the extra cost you had in order to change the bed cofiguration. Unfortunately I could not locate your booking using your Trip Advisor's profile, please feel free to contact me on the below e-mail, and I shall action on the refund;
h3060-fo01@accor.com
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is close to the centre of Auckland but it is especially good for accommodation for an event at the racecourse.

Its an Ibis so don't expect 5star luxury.... I have stayed in a lot worse and you do know what you are going to get.

Many of the reviews talk about the noise levels from the motorway. Stayed on the side that overlooks Green Lane and noise level was OK, which isn't a bad comment from me who is highly critical of noise levels.
.
The rooms were clan and looked after. The space capsule toilet/shower in the corner was interesting!

I didn't use the restaurant but the bar was good

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking Green Lane and not the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We do appreaciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I enjoyed a long weekend (3 nights) at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie. The service was excellent, with some of the friendliest hotel staff I have ever encountered anywhere. They really put effort into greeting with a smile and taking time to get to know you. That's a very rare thing these days, and sets this hotel way ahead of others. The other top scorer was sleep quality. You can't fault a great bed for giving a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are pleased that you had a positive stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Overall rooms are good budget option. Location is good for office in Penrose as you go against traffic. Car park is awful and when wet even worse. Also hate paying for wifi and this was not at all cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We appreciate your thoughts on our rooms and location. Regarding your comments on the carpark, please note that our Reception team will be more than happy to assist with parking whenever you need. Our Front Office staff will be more than happy to offer complimentary valet service, please let us know.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Ibis in Ellerslie for two nights for business. The rooms are incredibly small and you feel a little caged once in them, Internet is incredibly expensive, parking is a nightmare if you arrive after 5pm to check in as most business travellers would. Food was ok although after being told by the assistant manager that I could ask the restaurant to deliver the food to my room, I was asking too much for a plate clearly, instead I got three individual containers with my meal shared amongst them, really odd set up. Overall, if you can upgrade to another hotel in the Accor group, I urge you to. For what you pay for, it was fine, but parking really is a problem and I think there is an opportunity to consider business travellers and their needs much better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your thoughts on the room and room service.. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Auckland Ellerslie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Auckland Ellerslie

Address: 72-112 Greenlane East | Ellerslie, Ellerslie 1543, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Ellerslie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ellerslie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Auckland Ellerslie 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Ellerslie is located in the heart of Greenlane offering easy access to many Auckland attractions. The Ellerslie Events Centre and ASB Showgrounds are in walking distance, Vector Arena, Mt Smart Stadium and Eden Park are only a short train trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Auckland Ellerslie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie Hotel Ellerslie
Ibis Hotel Auckland
Ibis Hotel Ellerslie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.