We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Bad Hotel for out in the Suburbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Waipuna Rd | Mt Wellington, Mount Wellington 1060, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Hotel for out in the Suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have stayed here many times for business. I've been upgraded a few of these times to some fantastic rooms some with great views of the small lake. The hotel has great facilities and the restaurant serves a decent meal at a good price. The fitness centre is a little small but it does the trick. Parking is plentiful. I would have no hesitation staying here as a base for an Auckland Holiday. Just be aware it is a bit out of town but it is easy to get to.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daron_Gray, Director of Sales at Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your time here, and we really appreciate your loyalty. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback such as yours.
Kind regards
Daron Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    69
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
30
3
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have stayed often , it's central enough because you can get on the train - look for the weekend deals, great stuff. Outdoor pool in the summer and outdoor spa for other seasons. Plenty of grass for running around for the kids. If you have your bike go fo the ride around the basin, if not, the bar is the place to be. Sylvia Park is great for shopping, go to the Garrison for Pizza.

Room Tip: Get a corner room for a large family - can't be beaten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christmas Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed 5 nights and took the ''Bubbles for Couples'' package.What we spent was well worth what we expected.The views of Panmure basin were fantastic.Location was great not far from the Otara Flea market,Pakuranga night market, Sylvia Park shopping complex 10mins from the motorway..just great.Our room had everything we wanted,king size bed,two tv's,two bathrooms, kitchen,large living area and a beautiful view, and my favourite a gym across the hallway.I would recommed the Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre.Here's to a lovely 5 days...''Cheers''

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed at the Waipuna Hotel for 1 night.
On first entering the room it was very hot as it was a hot day out
a quick call to reception on how to operate the airconditioning and all was sorted.
We got abit of a view of Panmure basin and was quite nice most of the view was of the carpark below.
The room had lots of space, though the carpet had lumps in it and looked tired could do with a new one. The decor looked like it has been refurbished but I didn't like the wall paper.
Bathroom was clean a tidy.
Just a drive down to Sylvia Park Shopping complex which is very handy.
All in all we enjoyed our night there

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

For spouse and self alone, the thought of preparing Christmas dinner and the more horrifying thought of washing utensils afterwards made our decision easy. You could call it laziness, but what the hell?. Scouring the web for Christmas dinner led us to Waipuna - only a 15-minute drive from home. We thought also of meeting up with the Police booze bus after one or six flutes so threw everything to the wind and booked for Christmas night also. Returned home at 9.30am boxing day - and it was all good.
Apartment 202 is said to be a Honeymoon Suite which, for us both who are progressing towards ages of 3-digits did seem just a smidgen out of place. Very large lounge with extremely comfortable seating and dining table, large separate bedroom, 2-bathrooms, equipped kitchenette, at least a 42" TV which doubled as a PC screen, a TV in the bedroom should honeymooners feel obliged to watch same while abed. All made our one night stay far better than anticipated and at a reasonable cost for the room/s.
Christmas dinner cost a fortune, to us, but others prepared it and cleared up afterwards with those actions being of value, also to us. Great food, most attentive staff clearly with top quality restaurant and kitchen management. The dessert tables were to die for.
Boxing Day breakfast provided a plentiful choice but really is expensive. However, as a public holiday the day requires extra wages so we have no complaints.
Staff, from the lady polishing door finger-plates to whoever were passing, fell over themselves to say "Hello" and "Merry Christmas". Truly great for anyone who has only just walked in the door.
Beware your bill when checking out. Only while driving home did we realise we had been undercharged. A later phone call to reception sorted this. It was after-all Christmas and a time of goodwill and honesty.
Gripes:
Plug for the main bathroom basin was to small so let water escape.
Water leak at the U-bend of said basin made it essential to keep rubbish bin, with plastic bag therein, thereunder.
Couldn't get heat-pump on to "Warm".
Why do they not remove the aged and seemingly disconnected Shacklock oven before it becomes a museum antique. A competent chippy would easily make a panel to cover the resultant oven-sized hole at little cost.
Great:
Everything else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed at the Waipuna Hotel for two nights in December 2011. I was in town for work and the Waipuna was the closest and also came highly recommended from my client.

Room was perfect for the business traveller; great open plan studio room with shower over bath. Room was clean and could not hear noise from outside or neighbouring rooms. Hot water from the shower was perfect, and bathroom was enough for one person to use comfortably, without tripping over the toilet or running out of bench space.

My only issue (which may have been unique to my room) was that the tv had volume issues; I checked in late on a Sunday night and wanted to watch a bit of tele before going to bed, but even on "zero" the volume of the tv was quite loud, so out of fear of waking my neighbours I switched off. Same issue the next morning, however as I was only in town for two nights and spend minimal time in the room, this was not a major problem.

Would definitely stay here on my next work trip, or for a short stay with my partner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed in room 312, which was a large room with two queen sized beds in. The room was very well serviced and everything as clean and tidy with air conditioning. The bed was a bit soft but I'm being picky. The buffet meal in the restaurant was very good but a bit pricey at $45 per person. Great place to stay though, with a workable gym, pool and a nie running track round a lake. I'd be very happy to come back again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 58 Waipuna Rd | Mt Wellington, Mount Wellington 1060, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mount Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mount Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waipuna Hotel And Conference Centre
Waipuna Lodge
Waipuna Hotel Auckland
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre Auckland/Mount Wellington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.