We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pheasant Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pheasant Suites to your Saves list
Pheasant Suites
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Balls Farm Tye Road, Elmstead Market, Colchester CO7 7BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Perfectly named. This is an ideal place to relax and enjoy the countryside, privacy is assured but luxury is still in abundance. The breakfast was excellent, served precisely at our chosen time via the hatch. The accommodation was very clean and very well stocked with everything you could want or need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
201
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked the Pheasant Suite as a getaway for two nights with my girlfriend and I can see why it's been so highly rated by others. It helped that the weekend was generally very sunny, the suite clean with a large free standing bath. Bed was very comfortable although the sette could have been a little larger. DVD collection was also quite up to date. Privacy is guaranteed with the use of the hatch to pass food through to the room which was really nice. The food itself was fantastic too. Lynda was so pleasent and helpful. Also a lovely reservoir about 200 yards away for a nice walk (or run as we did!). All in all a lovely place - I'll def be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked Pheasant Lodge for my trip to Colchester to see 2 plays at the Mercury Theatre. It is a very spacious and comfortable room, ideal for any one seeking peace and quiet.
Lynda offers exemplary and discreet service, and the excellent breakfast is delivered very imaginatively through a large hatch.
One of the many pleasures of staying here is discovering new helpful and imaginative touches .

Room Tip: Pheasant Lodge was really excellent, and I understand more improvements are being made.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I booked the Pheasant retreat on last minute and I was upgraded by Lynda before we arrived.
The suite was amazing as was the service provided by Lynda.
The facilities and all the little bits added in like the cake and petals on the bed are really well thought out! Breakfast is a must if you are staying at the Pheasant!
I must also say the bath is the best ever!!!!!

Thanks again,

Tom & Emma

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I booked the Pheasant Retreat as a birthday surprise for my Fiance. We had the most amazing mini break. Facilities and comfort exceptional, we both felt very spolt. Fantastic breakfast, the hatch was hilarious, pure genious! Perfect escape for the weekend, we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a wonderful place. Peaceful but beautiful. The room had everything one could possibly need. All we really needed to bring was a change of clothes! The lodge was delightful inside. The beds warm and comfortable, there was a spacious kitchen and bathroom and a well thought out lounge area. The breakfast was tasty and well presented with a sausage range second to none! We will certainly visit again. Hopefully the weather will be a little kinder to us so that we can enjoy the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I chose the Pheasant Suites as I wanted a couple of days away where I could just chill out in silence, sleep loads, eat well and recharge myself. All boxes were ticked. The location is great - a few minutes walk from civilisation should you want a shop or a restaurant, but so secluded the only traffic you can hear are the very few vehicles on the driveway of the farm itself.

Lynda took excellent care of me and made sure everything was perfect - the comments you read about her attentiveness towards guests are 100% true.

My room - which was split into a bedroom and a living area - was blissfully comfy. There were a load of really good dvds to watch, and books to read. And an awesome sofa. The bathroom was the sort you'd find in a top-end hotel. Quite frankly I didn't want to leave.

I don't need to say much more as everyone else on here has already done so. In summary - if you're looking at this place and considering booking, then go ahead and book. I can't think of a single reason why you'd regret it.

Room Tip: I had the Pheasant Suite - attached to the main farmhouse - which had everything but a kitchen. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pheasant Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Suites

Address: Balls Farm Tye Road, Elmstead Market, Colchester CO7 7BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Elmstead Market
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elmstead Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pheasant Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pheasant Suites are situated in the grounds of the non-working Balls Farm. The 17th century Farm House is surrounded by fields and wildlife and located less than two miles from the centre of Colchester and Essex University, a mile from the village of Elmstead Market, Beth Chatto Gardens and only 15 miles from Harwich. It is on the edge of Constable Country. Guest facilities are completely separate from our own, affording guests a level of privacy not normally associated with Bed and Breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Pheasant Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pheasant Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.