We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Paradise on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Praslin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Praslin to your Saves list
Raffles Praslin
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praslin, Anse Takamaka, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Pay 3
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Another Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a wonderful 10 days at Raffles Praslin doing simply nothing and enjoying good food, nature and our wonderful villa.
Basically we went to Seychelles for escape from work and city life and it is very nice place to be. We got a very nice villa, with private pool, summer shower, big terrace. All villas are more than 100 sq.m, so it is huge! Our villa was on very top of the mountain which was great - we got an amazing view, good walk to the restaurant to take breakfast (so you can even feell hungry:) and quite private. I agree with previous traveller that you do not get 100% privacy on your villas, however we do not care about that.
Food at restaurant is of high quality, fast service and quite fair prices.
We took bikes few times and went to the city and to one very famous beach (can not remeber the name). We also went to an island just opposite of Praslin to see huge turtles.
I want also say that birdlife is wonderful on the hotel territory, we saw all kind of different birds which have never seen before, even black parrots which are very rare as I read somewhere.

What I must say to the travellers choosing between Seychelles and Maldives - Seychelles is ok if you have not been to Maldives, you will definitely enjoy it. However I would personally go to Maldivies only because of its waterlife and amazing snorkeling.

Room Tip: At villas situated higher on the mountain you get more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you have had a most memorable stay with us! Thank you for your great comments on our restaurants and menu selection, this has been an area of improvement. We welcome you to come back and visit us again any time.

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    59
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
46
263
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Its a beautiful and relatively new property. We had a great view of the ocean and the rooms are modern and spacious with a plunge pool, nice patio and deck. The service is overall very good. The infinity pool is very impressive and we enjoyed just swimming and lounging at the hotel.

We stayed in Mahe at the Four Seasons for 5 nights and spent one night at Raffles to visit Praslin.

A few shortcomings though. One is the spacing of the villas. At the Four Seasons Mahe, the villas are very well placed with plenty of distance from each other and so you don't really even see other villas next door. At the Raffles, the villas are kind of close together so you don't really get much privacy. The service is overall pretty good but its not as consistent as the Four Seasons. The food was overall just okay. Not great especially for the prices but we found that food overall in Seychelles was not that great. The beach at the hotel property is not that nice, the pool area is much nicer. If you want a really nice beach on the property, the Four Seasons Mahe has the most beautiful beach onsite.

So overall our experience at Raffles was good; it just was not great like our experience at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your comments and will review these with the management team for improvement.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Raffles in Praslin Island. We stayed in an ocean view villa with pool. The villa was of a generous size, well appointed and accompanied with a spacious patio and seating areas to relax after a hard day around the pool or beach! The view from the villa is spectacular, and puts a smile on your face each morning.
You are allocated a Butler on arrival and these guys do a fantastic job, nothing to much or to small for them. They helped with Restaurant reservations, inside and outside of the resort as well as day to trips to other beaches or surrounding islands. All of the staff in fact were very attentive, which all added to this 5 star experience. Would definately recommend this Hotel for those wanting a completely relaxing, luxurious break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted that our dedicated Raffles Butlers have shown you heartfelt service and contributed towards a wonderful stay with us at Raffles Praslin. Your great comments have been shared with all our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel to unwind after a hectic few months at work. We wanted to do as little as possible, stay in luxury, eat good food and spend quality time together. Raffles Praslin is perfect for this kind of holiday. The rooms are incredible, with every detail attended to. Crisp linen, massive bathroom with double basin including two showers (indoor and outdoor), outside deck and private splash pool.The views are spectacular and the service impeccable.

The hotel is situated near Anse Lazio beach, voted one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Only 5 minutes away by hotel shuttle.

My husband and I used the excellent gym facilities and also went for a side by side massage at the spa. The therapists are knowledgeable and the spa is wonderfully tranquil.

I think this hotel will also be great for families with young children but teenagers may find it a little too quiet.

I can't wait to go back to this hotel. I travel a lot and seldom return to the same hotels over and over again, but Raffles Praslin will see me again for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the ones situated lower down on the hill are easier to walk from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you had such a great stay and enjoyed your time with us at Raffles Praslin. Thank you for your positive feedback on your villa, the spectacular view and spa facilities. We are very happy you experienced the heartfelt service that is Raffles.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Me and my husband spend 4 days in this amazing resort earlier this summer and enjoyed it a lot. It is very romantic and beautiful. We loved our ocean view villa with private plunge pool and a patio. Also we had a butler/ as everybody else at Raffles I suppose/ and we were glad for all the services he provided for us.
The only minus is that the beach is very small and there are lots of rocks on it.
Also one of the restaurants was closed so we did not have a great choice for dinner, but still everything we had at the Pool restaurant was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

We are delighted to hear that loved your villa and had an enjoyable time with us at Raffles Praslin. Our Raffles Butler team will be thrilled to hear that they contributed to your stay.

We are always looking at ways we can improve our guest experience and are reviewing your comment concerning the choice of restaurants.

We welcome you to come back in the future.

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just returned from our honeymoon on the Seychelles where we spent 5 days in the Raffles Hotel on Praslin.

It is a very nice resort that consists of individual villas located at a hillside on Anse (Bay) Takamaka which is on the north-east side of the island. The villas have a spacious outdoor area with a covered sitting area, a little deck with sun chairs and a small private pool. There is a little fridge at the ourdoor sitting area so you can take some drinks there and keep the cool longer.

The interior is contemporary and beautifully designed with enough space, a huge bed, a little sofa, a separate well designed dressing and a very nice bathroom that has an indoor and outdoor shower as well as a bathtub with a beautiful view. The villa was beautiful and in great shape. We booked a oceaview poolvilla and it indeed had a great view as the villa was rather at the top of the hill. All the villas are connected through rather steep ways and it definitely helps that you can always have a buggy drive you around. The buggy service works very well and we never waited more than 5 min for a buggy after calling one.

You need your key (magnet card) to open the sliding doors to the villa. This was a little annoying as you couldn't keep the doors closed when being outside because you would need the magnet card to get in each time. We were worried to lock ourselves out. But maybe we just didn't get it how to keep the doors unlocked.

While our villa (293) had a great view, it was facing east and didn't have any sun after 2pm. This is not necessarily bad as the sun can be very strong there and after a few days you might avoid it where you can. You won't be able to see the sunset in the resort as it sets on the other side of the island.

Many other reviewers have noted that the vegetation is not yet in its ideal state but it didn't bother us much. While we agree that the resort could benefit from more vegetation it was still beautiful and we enjoyed it very much.

The resort has a very nice pool area and a beautiful beach. The beach has some sun chairs but besides that there was no service at the beach. It is still worth spending time there though.

The service concept is great but it has some hiccups here and there. Some things that are promised are forgotten and there is some room for improvement especially in regards to consistency. The service quality can vary from one day to another.

All Staff members are really friendly and try their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I guess some simply need more training to make the service worth of a five star resort.

Buffet breakfast offered a good choice. The scrambled eggs that are made on your request unfortunately varied in quality from exceptionally great to rather poor, depending on the cook of the day.

The weakest point of the resort is the food. It is good in general but way too expensive for what it is. We have been at the Four Seasons on Mahe afterwards and the price range for the food is the same while the quality is far far better. While we don't mind spending a lot of money for food it leaves a bitter taste of not being worth it. 200 Euros for a buffet dinner (for 2 people with 1 glass of wine each) is quite much for what you get here. A la carte dinners where around 170 euros. Eating at the pool bar (you can ask for the lunch menu also in the evening) is significantly cheaper.

Over all we have enjoyed our stay at the Raffles Praslin a lot and would definitely recommend it. I hope that they will either increase the quality of the food or lover the price for it as this is my main point of criticism. I am sure they are working on the service hiccups.

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend an oceanview poolvilla (what we had) or a panoramic poolvilla. Our oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback on your stay.

While we are delighted that you enjoyed your Oceanview Villa, it is disappointing to read about some of the levels of service and quality you came across during your stay. Please rest assured we are taking you feedback most seriously and will review each point with our team.
It is our aim to continuously improve and greatly appreciate you feedback.

We welcome you to come back and experience the improvements for your first anniversary celebration.

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed for our wedding anniversary for 10 nights and wanted a romantic treat, well; we got one. The welcome briefing was very informative and we were then escorted to our room, which was just wonderful and really gave us a WOW! The private outdoor area with infinity plunge pool, sun loungers, lounge seating with cushions gallore along with outdoor minibar, was so accommodating that you can just stay in your room all day.
The bed has to have a mention, it was so comfortable with the special comfort topper. The bathroom is huge with indoor and outdoor showers, his and hers sinks and a large bath with the same amazing view via the full glass wall (but unfortunately one has to keep the blinds down as it is not one way glass). The butlers will unpack if you wish or are there to answer any queries for you.
The resort beach is small but fabulous, lovely views, sunloungers and refreshment service, we went to visit another beach but much prefer the hotel beach as other public beaches do not have loungers. The pool is very nice, certainly long enough to swim, they also have comfortable double beds with pillows, great for couples..
The Spa and Gym are more than adequate, I had a treatment in an outdoor room and it was lovely to hear the waves instead of piped music while relaxing.
There are some very friendly and helpful staff that make you feel very welcome, the restaurants were very flexible and they offer to make you anything you want if it's not on the menu. You can have a private table on the beach or for more privacy you can have a BBQ in your room.
We found it to be a memorable and restful stay.

Room Tip: As the resort is spread over a large footprint on a hillside, if you are not up to walking up and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing all your wonderful comments with us. We are so pleased to read that enjoyed your time with us at Raffles Praslin. We very much look forward to welcoming you and your husband back for your next anniversary.

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Praslin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Praslin

Address: Praslin, Anse Takamaka, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Takamaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Praslin 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From across the continents of Europe and Asia, the legend of Raffles now extends to the enchanting islands of the Seychelles, cradled at the heart of the Indian Ocean. Raffles Praslin Seychelles presents an all-villa Seychelles luxury resort nestled within the stunning island of Praslin that was once declared the rediscovered Garden of Eden. This Seychelles hotel seeks to present guests with an escape where warm native Seychellois hospitality is infused with the enchanting touch of Raffles. Surrender to the sun-kissed allure of Anse Takamaka’s powdered sands, on to which spill the eighty-six spacious villas fashioned to assure lavish comfort. These private abodes offer a choice of whispering, opal-hued oceans and lush green hills. Be immersed in the relaxing therapies of the exclusive Raffles Spa, which coupled with the soothing embrace of unsullied nature, rejuvenate both body and spirit. Taste the distinguished flavours of the breezy Curieuse Seafood Restaurant, the local cuisine and Mediterranean delights of Losean or the light comfort food by the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raffles Praslin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Praslin Hotel Anse Takamaka
Raffles Praslin Seychelles/Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Praslin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.