We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise with amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Praslin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Praslin to your Saves list
Raffles Praslin
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Praslin, Anse Takamaka, Praslin Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise with amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at this amazing location for a week during our honeymoon. Having a 24/7 butler, a great villa (we stayed in a standard size but it was still quite big) with a pool and great view (we were upgraded to a panoramic view), unbelievable food (try red snapper for two at dinner, tuna carpaccio with okra for lunch) and two endless beaches with a natural reserve island across was simply amazing. Thank you Christopher and Kavi for making this an unforgettable honeymoon for us. Top of the list for honeymooners - the prices are a bit steep but they make up for it with the amazing service.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great feedback.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had an amazing stay, and that our butlers Christopher and Kavi have pampered you with heartfelt service during your honeymoon. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been shared with the team.

We welcome you to come back for your first anniversary celebration.

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    76
    13
    11
    6
See reviews for
70
328
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Looking for a 5 day break white beaches, great accommodation. Look no further. The relatively new resort built on this hill side is truly amazing. Yes it is somewhat new, tree's are growing to give a dash more privacy but one can see that this is a luxorious tranquil place to stay.

The villa's are stunning and offer anything you can really need. Flat screen TV with connections for everything from ipod to apple TV. Tastefully decorated rooms, with all the comforts one can need. A bathtub with a view of the sea, outside shower to look at the stars while washing off the beach sand. The villa's have a private outside plunge pool and a large veranda with beds for sun bathing, a sitting area with too many pillows to count, outside fridge.

Although situated on the hillside overlooking the sea please dont think you will have to walk up and down those hills every day. Raffles have buggies to drive you around the resort, driven by professional and friendly staff, more on the staff later.

Food, something we all enjoy, lets not complain about prices, the Seychelles are not cheap, we are not on the Costa Brava in Spain. Value for money yes, spot on very good value. Good food needs to be praised and here praise is truly due. The kitchen staff are truly amazing in their abilities to even make breakfast a feast. Not being a buffet person myself I was reluctant to visit one of the resort restaurants one evening as there was a buffet. Much to my pleasant surprise this was a magnificent display of culinary expertise. The fresh red snapper was delicious, perfectly presented and a delight to see. The staff in the restaurant truly pull together to make your stay a very pleasurable and most of all a very tasty one.

Moving to poolside and also the other location of a very good restaurant (seafood). The area around the pool is peaceful and calming with views of the palms and probably only about 30 meters from the beach. The pool is made up of two near olympic length, 44meters i am told, infinity edge pools, dark blue tiles, stunning.

PS did i mention WiFi at poolside for those who still want to stay in touch.

A modern resort with a very good feel to it. Ah yes I was going to mention staff. The staff are actually the reason I wrote this review, too often are we confronted with staff who do a job and thats it. In Raffles the staff continuously go beyond expectations to please you. Eating outside the the resort , the staff will give suggestions, make reservations, even check with the restaurant that you have arrived (very dark roads). From the butler service to the airport pickup they are true professionals who are really willing to please and help you. If i were to pick out one reason why this was and exceptional stay I would have to say : the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

We have made several improvements to our menus and buffet, and are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experiences in our restaurants.
Our team always aims to give heartfelt and caring service, and we are happy to hear we have succeeded. Thank you for all your wonderful comments and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Praslin in the future.

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Myself and my now wife have stayed at many 5* resorts in the Indian ocean (our favorite area ) from Oberios , Kempinskis and four seasons etc.. so we done some reseach on where we wanted to get married and take our honeymoon . We decided on Seychelles as we hadnt been there before, and after much consideration on resorts , and good value for money we went with Raffles along with there wedding package .

Iam very pleased to say we have no regrets with our decision and would not change anything .

Praslin is a very special island we discovered , two of the best beaches in the world , a world heritage national park , easy access to other Islands , golf course etc.... Raffles is easy placed for access to all ,( incuding the very impressive Cafe des Arts restaurant 10 mins drive from hotel ) and just 20 mins from airport , which is just a very quick 15 min flight from Mahe , the easiest flight and transfer you can take .

We were very happy to find we had been upgraded to the next catergory room which I can only say is one of the best presented rooms we had stayed in, along with a stunning view of the ocean and Curieuse island .

The resort itself has made huge efforts on decor , luxury , along with a real tropical feel , from the beautiful Danzil bar , through to the wonderfully decorated outdoor and indoor Curieuse restuarant . We were very happy with all meals and various food theme nights . Fantastic spa and gym which you could not find better anywhere .

Where do I start regarding the staff , from the general manager through to the bar staff , butlers , conciege , house keeping and wedding coordinaters etc... I can honestly say this , from all the places we have stayed in the past they rank amoungst the most proffessional we have experienced and we could not have asked for more . Everyone went out there way to help with anything we requested or asked for . I would like to thank them all indivually if I could but id be here to long .

The weeding package is amounst the best values we found and it did not let us down in anyway .

If you are considering the Seychelles for a wedding or a holiday I cannot recommend Raffles enough to you , you will not be disappointed .

The hotel still has my wifes email address so if you require any help regarding wedding preparations etc... she would be very happy for you to ask hotel permission to make contact with us if you require . Highly recommend local photographer Paul Turcotte . We would be happy to forward photos if needed .

Thanks to Simon GM and all managers , Christine wedding coordinater , Nicholas manager and head waiter , Chundrum butler AND of course regards all the staff .

Ive never been able to go the full 5 points on reviews , but on this case I have no option .

Colin and Denise Bastick .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Bastick,

Thank you so much for all you wonderful comments.

Your truly romantic wedding is one we at Raffles Praslin will never forget. We are incredibly happy that we made your very special day most memorable. We would be delighted to have you (and the boys this time) back for your 1st wedding anniversary celebration next year.

Congratulations again, and we wish you all the happiness for your wonderful future together.

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We enjoyed a great stay at the Raffles Praslin in an Oceanview Villa for 5 nights. It was a gorgeous space with a fully fitted villa, huge pool, beach and a few places to drink and dine. Definitely one of the top 3 rooms we've ever stayed in. And the staff were incredibly gracious and helpful.

On the downsides, you're on a hill so reliant on buggies to get you up to your room. We never had to really wait, but you do lose a bit of independence. Also, it's easy to get sick of the same restaurants or room service as numbers are limited, yet it's very costly to get a taxi for a meal off the resort (we took advantage while we were already renting a car for 80 Euros for one day). And, finally, although this is circumstance of being on the island, the food and drink and activities are expensive (easily can spend $100 on a dinner or $200 - without liquor).

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 173 and were able to see into 8 other villas (assuming the reverse was true). 175...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Resident,

Thank you for sharing you experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Raffles Praslin. Our team makes every effort to provide heartfelt service and to ensure that you feel most welcome.
Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Raffles is a 20-25 minute drive from Praslin airport. Check in lobby is an expansive ocean view that looks like a painting.
I had a brief stay at Oceanview Villa, the villa has its own private pool, and you get breathtaking ocean view from the room and from the bathroom.
Raffles is a relatively new hotel, thus the vegetation is not full grown yet, while the view offered in the villa is amazing, but since the nothing blocks my ocean view, nothing blocks other people from looking into my room or even my room in that matter. So either a perfect view or no privacy, you can't have both!
There's a butler in each villa, and mine was very friendly and attentive. I had a very brief stay so I really can't comment much if service is consistant.
We had dinner one night at the hotel, but the food is unimpressive, and service is a bit slow in the dining room.
During our stay, we can still see gardeners organizing the grounds and vegetation there, but the major disappointment during our stay was not a lot of facilities were not opened during our stay, probably due to the low accommodation rate so the hotel doesn't think it's necessary to open all the facilies for in-house guests, which is a shame, because they have this outdoor bar near the lobby area that looks pretty cool but there's nothing there.
I was told there was one direct path from the breakfast dining room to the beach, but that path is covered with weeds and a lot of bugs, it's impossible to make it to the beach through that path.
Beach is beautiful, but I only saw one service attendant on the beach, an I thought the beach area is a bit small as well.
Hotel has arranged a taxi boat to take me to the Curieuse Island just right across from the hotel, it's about a 15 minute boat ride, and you get to explore the island a little and see the tortoises there, highly recommend!

All in all, Raffles is a beautiful hotel with contemporary design and elegant marble bathroom, view is great but on the sunrise side.
The hotel has built too many units clustered together thus there's a problem with privacy, and some minor glitches they need to work on, but it was still a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanview pool villa in the middle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Resident,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

The arrival experience at Raffles Praslin with the panoramic views of the opal-hued ocean against the lush green hills of the islands is beyond doubt breathtaking. We are delighted you enjoyed the great views from the Arrival Pavilion and your Oceanview villa.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the in-house facilities. We are pleased to share that we have recently implemented a weekly F&B activity overview that is communicated to all residents. Now residents can discover our wide range of culinary experiences and entertainment options and not miss out on anything.

The gardens are continuously being improved by our landscaping team, and every day endemic plants and trees are being placed in strategic locations around the resort. We welcome you to come back to see the great improvements!

Thank you for all you valuable feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Now looking through the bright and stunning photos from our unforgetable vacations at Raffles Praslin Seychelles we wish to be back to this amazing place immediately! 

The setting of the resort is  ultra luxurious and contemporary, with a picturesque views of the island and the ocean, with the most beautiful beaches in the world just a few minutes away. We were having our own spacious private villa with a great view over the ocean from our bedroom, with a private swimming pool, a sun deck and an outside shower. The villa was everything you can expect from a luxurious resort - design, furniture, every detail are well planned and fit together nicely without compromise. If one wants privacy during the stay at Seychelles, has traveled worldwide and consider himself a high-end sophisticated traveler going on vacations - without any doubts should visit this place!! 

Praslin Island is a wonderful place to be - remote, very green, with amazing beaches and far from being a touristic place. Going to Seychelles with our 8 months old baby sounded challenging to us, but we have decided to take the risk and fly there (3 return flights!), hoping the destination, weather and the hotel will match our highest expectations. And they did. We didn't want to rest on the main island, hoping for more privacy, intimacy and luxurious individual approach without touristic sightseeing, shops, souvenirs, etc. And that's why Praslin sounded like a perfect destination for us. Besides the Raffles hotel and pure nature there was nothing else to disturb us during 1 week of our first vacations with a baby. The resort public areas did not look crowded, and it is obvious why! As soon as your start enjoying your private villa, swimming pool, sun deck - you don't want to leave it for anything else....even in the evenings we have preferred to have a barbecue on our terrace, which was organized by room service and was amazing!! (If you go for it - take the menu with seafood and wagyu beef).

We were pampered by the sincere and caring service, our butlers were friendly, with excellent English and doing they job with the most commitment and involvement. Every our wish was fulfilled, even before expressing it. For all our trips around the island we have used a hotel transfer, which was  very smooth and affordable, always with an acknowledged driver, who was willing to help and take care of our trip.

It is worthy to mention the restaurant Curieuse (during 1 week we have been there 4 times!!), where the food was magnificent....don't miss fresh red snapper, tuna steak and sushi evening! 

The beach of the resort is gorgeous, very cosy and green, and similar to the world famous Anse Lanzio beach, which is located only 10 min away from hotel. (Don't waste your money for a lunch in Bon Bon Plume, located on Anse Lanzio.....pure touristic place and food was average!).

Definitely we will try to be back as soon as possible....being at the unique destination like Praslin in the middle of the ocean, breathing the ultimately clear air and at the same time feeling cosy and safe - what else can be better for a top class vacation :)

Room Tip: Villa #232 was wonderful with amazing ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Resident,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience with us.

Raffles Praslin is an oasis of calm and comfort, appealing to those seeking intimate residential charm in paradise. We are happy you and your family have enjoyed your holiday with us and that you felt truly pampered.
The in-villa BBQ dining experience is an excellent choice for those tranquil evenings on your villa deck, next time we invite you for a romantic candlelight dinner on our beach.

We welcome you and your lovely family to come back soon!

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We decided to celebrate our 48th anniverary and picked the Seychelle islands. After much research we found that Praslin had what we wanted and that Raffles sounded like a perfect place for us.
We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice! Everything from reservations to the last tearful goodbye was amazing.
Our villa, 186, was exactly what we were hoping for! The outdoor shower, very comfortable bed, the private pool and gorgeous deck could not have been better.
We looked forward to breakfast every morning as the buffet in Losean had everything and more. My favorite was the delicious waffle that was personally prepared for me just the way I liked it!
Everyone at Raffles seemed to know our names and on our anniversary we were greeted with a "Happy Anniversary!" by the entire staff. The whole day was made magical by the incredible staff that just wanted to do and more and more for us.
The beach was beautiful and our view from our villa made the ocean feel within reach.
I felt as though the entire staff was there just for us, but every guest felt that way too!
Wherever and whenever we needed to have a buggy, it appeared immediately. The drivers were warm and friendly and we got to know them and look forward to our chats!
We did make the trip to Le Digue and spent the day exploring the island. Our return was delayed but Raffles was there waiting happily for us.
Raffles made us feel secure and cared for the entire stay (four nights).
I can't think of one thing that I would have changed except to have been able to stay longer.
If you are going to stay in Praslin, Raffles is the place to stay.
It is perfect and I miss it already....but we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe ocean view and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesPraslin, Manager at Raffles Praslin, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Residents,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed you stay with us at Raffles Praslin. We always aspire to give a residential feeling and heartfelt service, and are thrilled that you had a wonderful anniversary holiday.

We welcome you to come back for your 49th anniversary!

Best regards,
Raffles Praslin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Praslin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Praslin

Address: Praslin, Anse Takamaka, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Takamaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Takamaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Praslin 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From across the continents of Europe and Asia, the legend of Raffles now extends to the enchanting islands of the Seychelles, cradled at the heart of the Indian Ocean. Raffles Praslin Seychelles presents an all-villa Seychelles luxury resort nestled within the stunning island of Praslin that was once declared the rediscovered Garden of Eden. This Seychelles hotel seeks to present guests with an escape where warm native Seychellois hospitality is infused with the enchanting touch of Raffles. Surrender to the sun-kissed allure of Anse Takamaka’s powdered sands, on to which spill the eighty-six spacious villas fashioned to assure lavish comfort. These private abodes offer a choice of whispering, opal-hued oceans and lush green hills. Be immersed in the relaxing therapies of the exclusive Raffles Spa, which coupled with the soothing embrace of unsullied nature, rejuvenate both body and spirit. Taste the distinguished flavours of the breezy Curieuse Seafood Restaurant, the local cuisine and Mediterranean delights of Losean or the light comfort food by the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Raffles Praslin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Praslin Hotel Anse Takamaka
Raffles Praslin Seychelles/Praslin Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Praslin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.