We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a low key meeting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Ardlie Street, Attwood, Victoria 3049, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Attwood
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“Perfect place for a low key meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The perfect place for a low key meeting. We had people coming from all over Australia for a one and a half day meeting. Airport pickups kept costs down and being away from the CBD meant everyone focused and in one place. Good food, good accommodation and friendly staff. No smoking in the rooms but the smokers in our group were well catered for. Would definitely recommend it for interstate meetings on the fly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportmotelmelb, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your time in writing a review on our property.

As stated, we do offer meeting rooms for conferences, being a group of small delegates or being a larger group. As we have a 24hour shuttle bus service for guests staying overnight in our accomodation rooms, we also do pick up for conference guests free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    154
    64
    20
    6
See reviews for
59
130
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Under renovations, had our Spa room 'upgraded' to a double renovated room. The front desk clerk explained this was much better as it had two queen beds and modern fixtures. Only two of us,19th wedding anniversary, no need for the second bed mate,and we want a spa!
Ok, got the room we wanted. Was way down the back of the property,down a ramp, past an old bed leaning on a tree, and walking around rubble from the reno and over dirty carpet. Outside cigarette butts littered the ground around our patio. The bathtowels smelt of kitchen rags,suggesting they had been washed with kitchen gear all in same machine,a big no no. The reverse cycle aircon was fine except it would only operate a maximum fan,which was very noisy.
Work was going on upstairs until 11pm,and started again at 8am-hammer drills and all, OK for us but no good for late sleepers. Room service was prompt and the staff courteous but the steak was ordinary. The vegetarian option was very good.
The one redeeming factor for this property, and there really was only one was the superb 3 person spa in the room. To think they are getting rid of the spa rooms!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportmotelmelb, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your honest comments on our motel

We take all reviews very seriously and I will definitely pass on the information provided to all head of departments to investigate and fix the problems that arose during your stay.
As stated we are under renovations to improve the guests accomodation rooms to make every guests stay a more enjoyable one and hope to see you back here one day to give us another chance to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a good place for someone just looking for a night's bed. Very practical option as there is a generally efficient free airport pick up and drop off. It has a reasonably good restaurant but there is a pub and a few nice takeaways close by. The rooms are dated and the area around would benefit from a bit of tidying up even though it is clean in general.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the convention center may be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportmotelmelb, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments on our property.

We appreciate all the points stated in your review and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Everyone has their thoughts when the word motel is mentioned but how wrong was I!

Call for the shuttle bus from arrivals, 50 cents for a local call. Head for the Park Royal and you will see stops for hotel and parking shuttles. Pick up was very quick. Smaller type white van with about 8 or 9 seats.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful on arrival. Rooms modern, nicely decorated and lots of amenities. Huge sized shower. Full minibar with good selection of drinks and snacks (I did find the fridge to be quite noisy at stages through the night though).

Free wifi provided which is great, could have been faster at times though. Business / printing available from reception.

I paid for the buffet breakfast 2 mornings, $19 for cooked and continental selection (continental only option slightly cheaper). Good quality and selection although wasn't keen on the 'gourmet sausages', the rest was very nice.

Shuttle bus runs every 30mins but does fill up quickly. Practically on demand when returning from the airport.

Staff always very helpful and friendly.

Good value, would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportmotelmelb, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We at the Best Western Airport Motel and Convention Centre are very plaesed you enjoyed your stay with us.

As mentioned the title Motel doesn't reflect on how good the property is but merely states that fact that unlike hotels where it has usually many stories, motels are single level and you can drive up, or close to, the entrance to your room.

We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary service of the Wi-fi that we offer to all our guests that stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Arrived close to midnight after a flight from UK. Pick up from airport quick and efficiently carried our but hotel failed to impress at that time of night. Things looked different in daylight; the property was quite spread out and our room was in the block which housed the convention centre. The room was a little dated but spotlessly clean.The restaurant offered good quality breakfast and dinner. Staff couldn't be faulted; Rick was particularly helpful arranging complementary transfers to the nearby Broadmeadow railway station. From there with a Myki travel card(bought at the station) you could travel into the city (Flinders St station).We had booked three nights(in advance) and were well pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportmotelmelb, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your time in writing a review on our property.

We appreciate your feedback and will definitely pass on the compliments to Rick and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night prior to flying overseas.They are currently doing some overdue renovations and to see the way they have thrown the old plaster etc over the balcony(near rm94) is disgusting.We had a booking for a couple yet only 1 breakfast was included. Would not recommend this property to friends,next time would use Quality in Michleham Rd.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportmotelmelb, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as we would have liked you too and hope you give us another chance to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

As my husband works away a lot and I'm forever travelling to the airport, we decided to stay at this hotel the night before he leaves to beat the traffic,and it's a lot closer to the airport for us. All the staff are amazing, not only helpful and willing to accommodate your every need, they greet you with a big smile on their faces, its like one big happy friendly family. The room was spacious ,very clean with a comfy bed, well stocked fridge and toiletries everything you need to make your stay pleasant. Dinner was in their restaurant, my favourite was the Paella while my husband chose the Seafood Medley,OMG chef... the dishes were FANTASTIC, YUMMO.
After a good night sleep what better way to start the day, than with a hearty breakfast so back to the restaurant for a delicious full buffet breakfast of bacon, eggs, sausage ,tomato, ect. which also was just as good.
My husband and I would like to thank management and staff for making our stay awesome, we will definitely be back, wouldn't stay anywhere else when we have to travel to the airport,thank you , thank you, thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airportmotelmelb, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate the great comments on our staff service and the meals in the restaurant.

Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre

Address: 33 Ardlie Street, Attwood, Victoria 3049, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Attwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Attwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Airport Motel and Convention Centre is a four star property that is situated minutes from the Tullamarine Airport and it is also situated only 5 minutes away from the very popular DFO Essendon. • Has a range of rooms to cater for a diverse market, from our basic four star motel rooms to our modern and contemporary Deluxe Business rooms• Included in the rate is our complimentary shuttle bus service that operates 24 hours a day seven days a week. • We also have free wireless internet available for all our guests and all rooms also include selected Foxtel channels. • All rooms also include full size iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, mini bar, remote control LCD TV, individually controlled heater/air conditioner and same day dry cleaning service.For our guests going away for either business or pleasure we also offer our long term secure parking to store your vehicle with us whilst you’re away for a minimal rate of 8 dollars per day. The property includes an A La Carte Restaurant that operates for breakfast and dinner. Operating in the reception foyer we have a flight arrival/departure screen that will keep you updated on your flight times or you’re more than welcomed to ask one of our very friendly and professional staff members to give you assistance in finding that information for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Airport Motel And Convention Centre
Best Western Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.