We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Airport departures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Ardlie Street, Attwood, Victoria 3049, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Attwood
So. California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Location for Airport departures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We returned our rental car at Melbourne airport then called the hotel for their shuttle pick up. They were there within 10 minutes. We asked the driver to drop us off at a restaurant a few blocks away from the motel and then we walked back. Our family had 2 different flight times, so 2 of us left at 5:30am and the other 2 took the shuttle at 11:00. Very accommodating.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room at the farthest end, which turned out to be perfect location since there was a conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank-you for your recent post on trip advisor

It is great to here your compliment on our shuttle bus service as we do try to make sure guests aren't waiting to long to be picked up. Unfortunately due to traffic on the roads or depending were the shuttle bus is at the time of the call, we can't promise that all pick ups will be so quick, but we will always try to be as quick as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    154
    64
    20
    6
See reviews for
59
129
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

To avoid the pre peek hour traffic madness on the Ring Road to catch an early flight to Bali the next morning, my daughter and I decided to book in overnight at the Best Western Airport Motel. We were very pleased with the most friendly staff at check in. We then decided to take the hotel shuttle service to the airport and check out the duty free shops and purchase our goodies for pick up the next morning. Once finished, a call to the Motel and the driver arrived within 15 minutes. The following morning we left on our flight feeling totally refreshed and convinced the decision to stay at the Motel was a great way to start our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Here at the Best Western Airport Motel and Convention Centre we are pleased to here you began your holiday with a great start. We are popular for guests staying over night with us for early morning flights, just as you were and leaving your car with us for a great price of $8 a day. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our friendly service as we strive to hear these comments as we pride ourselves on this service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I arrived at Melbourne airport around 9:30pm and hired a car. My GPS found the hotel and I arrived within 5-10 minutes. The checkin was simple and plenty of car spaces were available. The standard room was comfortable, though not the most modern I have stayed in. For $12 the continental breakfast was pretty good value with a fine selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, pastries and toast. While the hotel is not really near any attractions as such, I did go for a nice long early morning walk along the Moonee Ponds trail, which was quite pleasant. For the reasonable price and convenience to the airport I would certainly stay here again overnight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, along with the breakfast and plaesant parks and surroundings around the motel. We look forward to you returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in a family room and it was perfect with three beds and enough space. The shuttle to the airports works well and the service at the reception friendly. Area not that good, so only recommended if you want to stay nearby the airport

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor

It is great to see you had a pleasant stay with us recently. As stated in your response that the surrounding area isn't that good, we do have parks and cafes that some may enjoy otherwise we do have a courtesy shuttle bus service that can take you to the Broadmeadows shopping centre which is quite a large shopping centre and the bus can also take you to the local train station, where you can take the train to the city and other destinations you may want to go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel, markedly better than the first two. During check-in I mentioned that I'd had problems during previous stays with cigarette smoke wafting into my room from outside.

The very efficient and pleasant young lady at reception gave me a room on the far side of the property, which solved the secondhand smoke problem. A nice touch at check-in was that the airport shuttle driver waited for me to check in, after which he drove me to my room.

The room appeared to have been recently renovated, with modern furnishings and lighting. Both sleeping area and bathroom were scrupulously clean. Water pressure and temperature consistency in the shower were very good. The bed was comfortable and internet worked well during my stay.

The property is located in a mostly residential area, and there are several food options, including a fish & chips place as well as a grocery store within easy walking distance.

Fortunately I was well awake before 7 a.m. the following morning, at which time the housekeeper made her presence known by loudly and repeatedly banging the wooden porch posts and molding with her broom. Perhaps some remedial training would be in order for this housekeeper.

Checkout (with the same pleasant young lady as the previous afternoon) was fast, and the airport shuttle left the motel exactly on time.

This hotel met my needs on previous stays and was a notch even better during this one. I'll surely use it again if the need arises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review

As majority of our rooms are non-smoking and as most smokers do abbide by the rules, they do then smoke outside the rooms, which therefore is the reason of smoke wafting into other rooms. Unfortunately this is out of our control, as the only other option is allowing the smokers to smoke in their rooms, which of course wouldn't benefit the following guests staying in that room, especially if those guests were non-smokers. We do value very much your compliments especially about the bus driver helping you to your room, as we understand after a long trip especially with lots of heavy luggage, it is great on the guests behalf, to get help and to be shown to your room for the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I booked for only 1 night on Family room as we have 4 adults on my group. The rate is really great value of money if you have 4 persons on your group. I booked BW Airport Motel since our arrival in MEL was in midnight and we have first flight to Sydney on the next morning so we only need good night sleep after exhausting stopover journey from Jakarta and Kuala Lumpur.

For anyone who need the airport shuttle, the phone booth for the hotel is located near to information center. Press the dial button then it connects directly to the hotel. In about 20-30 minutes, the complimentary airport shuttle came. The journey from MEL to the hotel was about 7-8 minutes.

Since our check-in time was 1 am, we were expecting cold receptions or something like that. To our surprised, we found out that the Front Office was so enthusiastic in greet us. We were staying in 3 different hotels in Australia; while two others have higher stars than BW Airport Motel but we found out that the services provided were above than the later hotels that we stayed. Too bad that I didn't remember the FO staff who handle our check-in since it was about 8 months ago. We were also asked if we had another departure flight tomorrow and asked if we would like to book the complimentary airport shuttle too. Such a great service!!!

The family room is ok, it fits for 4 of us. The complimentary wifi is also good so we could connect to the wired world. Unfortunately, we were slept and didn't manage to catch complimentary airport shuttle. However, the hotel could order taxi for us on the right time so we didn't miss our flight to Sydney. All in all, thank you very much for your great services! Kuddos to Best Western Airport Motel !

Regards,


Aris
Indonesia

Room Tip: If you would like to book room for 4 person, book directly on their website rather than the ordinary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review,

As we do value negative comments as they help to make this a better property on a daily basis, we love hearing good compliments just as much. We do understand how not everyone has a mobile phone and that is why to convienience our guests we do have set up at Travellers Services at the Melbourne Airport a telephone line that connects straight to our motel with no cost to the guest. As you also stated normal check in time for not only our property, but most around the world is 2pm, we always understand that there are early flights and we will if possible accomodate for those early guests if we can. Once again thank-you and we are excited to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Overall this motel was ok. it was clean & the staff welcoming which is always nice.
The free shuttle to the airport was certainly a big bonus.
The only real complaint i had was the cigarette bins outside our room...my husband is severe asthmatic & everytime someone butted out it would waft into our room & not only stink us out but would set his asthma going which he is still battling the next day. My suggestion is to ask patrons to smoke elsewhere & not outside anothers room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your post on trip advisor

It is fantastic to hear how our staff is very welcoming as we try to make everyone feal at home as soon as they walk into the front door at our property. We do have ashtrays located directly outside each room, to insure that smokers do, do the right thing and not smoke in the rooms as we found without these ashtrays, smokers would sometimes disregard the non-smoking room signs and smoke in their rooms, which therefore would make your husband for example, have a very unpleasant stay (health wise).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre

Address: 33 Ardlie Street, Attwood, Victoria 3049, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Attwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Attwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Airport Motel and Convention Centre is a four star property that is situated minutes from the Tullamarine Airport and it is also situated only 5 minutes away from the very popular DFO Essendon. • Has a range of rooms to cater for a diverse market, from our basic four star motel rooms to our modern and contemporary Deluxe Business rooms• Included in the rate is our complimentary shuttle bus service that operates 24 hours a day seven days a week. • We also have free wireless internet available for all our guests and all rooms also include selected Foxtel channels. • All rooms also include full size iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, mini bar, remote control LCD TV, individually controlled heater/air conditioner and same day dry cleaning service.For our guests going away for either business or pleasure we also offer our long term secure parking to store your vehicle with us whilst you’re away for a minimal rate of 8 dollars per day. The property includes an A La Carte Restaurant that operates for breakfast and dinner. Operating in the reception foyer we have a flight arrival/departure screen that will keep you updated on your flight times or you’re more than welcomed to ask one of our very friendly and professional staff members to give you assistance in finding that information for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Airport Motel And Convention Centre
Best Western Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.