We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Ardlie Street, Attwood, Victoria 3049, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Attwood
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here twice during our recent travels. The airport pick up and drop off service was great and quick. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and tidy and comfortable to sleep two adults and two children (double and 2 singles, this configuration made the room a bit small but still comfortable) for our short stays. There is a nice little park with a playground a very short walk away as well as a pub and small shops just down the road, so the location of the motel is also good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor

It is great to see that our service met your expectation and due to that you have returned to stay with us on another occassion. Looking forward to your return again hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    127
    57
    15
    6
See reviews for
47
99
34
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked this hotel as a mystery 4 star hotel on Hotwire where the hotel name wasn't revealed to us until we had completed the booking. The name was eventually revealed to us but unfortunately the reasons why this hotel is 4 star remain a mystery! The room was extremely out dated and tired looking. The shuttle bus from the airport was a hassle everytime. On arrival at the airport we had to call the hotel from a personal mobile to request a pick up and then wait around 30 minutes as the hotel is around a 15 minute drive from the airport (not sure why it is called an airport hotel - never did see a plane!). On trying to get back to the airport the shuttle only runs at certain times, even though the bus and driver were available. Unfortunately the timetable of the bus wasn't available in the room or reception so when we arrived at reception at 9.30am we were informed we would have to wait until 10am for the next bus even though we could see the bus and driver out of the window!

We were in a room under the conference room and every morning were woken by chairs scraping along the floor above us as the room was set up. Overall a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor

We do appreciate your honesty as it does help us to improve on areas that we need to concetrate in.

We are currently renovating the block of rooms that you stayed in and we are aware that these rooms need to be at the standard that our other motel rooms are nearer to the Front Reception. The benefit of the rooms that you stayed in though as comments we have had from other guests is these rooms are further away from reception therefore are alot quiter.

In regards to using your phone to call us for our shuttle bus pick up if you go into the Airport at the Travellers services desk there is a free phone that will call our motel directly for pick up. Our motel is only 7km away from the airport and usually takes about 10minutes drive to the motel on the bus unless there is heavy traffic on the road.

Our shuttle bus do run on certain times in the morning which is every half an hour. The drivers and receptionists are informed to run on these times stricktly as other guests pre book these shuttle bus trips and if we do trips in between than we will be late for these other bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel bus will come and pick you up in our case in about 15 minutes and then drive about the same, so about 30 minutes altogether. The check in and out was fast and efficient. The complex is an ex motel and the rooms have been tarted up a bit but basically they are motel rooms flashed up. Comfortable enough, nothing special, not particularly good value considering the price but a fair option if you look at the alternatives .The rooms are all on ground level so you do hear coming and goings, luggage being pulled along the road in front of the rooms, so you may be awoken.Not bad for a night.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
At the Best Western Airport Motel and Convention Centre we are only 7kms away from the Tullamarine Airport, but just depending on where the Airport Shuttle Bus is when you call is to why you may have waited that extra 5 to 10 minutes for the bus to pick you up. We have also recently renovated our rooms to make sure all guests staying at this motel property enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were 2 couples. Had one double bed in between two singles. We found it humorous when we walked in, as our previous accommodation was a huge 2 bed, 2 bath apartment we could have easily lived in! There was nothing wrong with the accommodation. It was clean, and basically a refurbished older motel. Huge shower. Free wi-fi. Were only there overnight, so didn't use the pool. Reception was very friendly, and had free apples to snack on, which was nice after our early supper and late flight. This is called an airport hotel because it has a free airport shuttle. It is a fair distance from the airport, and had we not had our GPS, I don't know if we would have found it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our property

As mentioned our rooms are newly renovated to suit the modern traveller but our family rooms are only one bedroom rooms with a queen size and two single beds in the room. We do though have a couple of interconecting rooms which do suit the travellers who prefer to have seperate rooms but would also like the easy access to get to the room next door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Pleasant surprise. Especially the staff. Efficient at check in and out and the free shuttle to airport is punctual. The rooms are okay. Clean. Enough facilities. All you need. Walls are a bit thin, but shouldn't be a problem if your neighbours are considerate. I prefer a room away from reception, while I am a light sleeper and the shuttle service wakes me up.
It is quiet. Brekkie was nice. I like the people that work there. It is a funny location and the outside of the motel looks a bit run down. A bit more attention to the look and feel could make a major difference. The additional option to park the car for only 8A$ per day can be an added bonus. Quite competetive.

Dont leave your house in the middle of the night. Go there for a decent sleep.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are further away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review on our property

It is great to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us. As mentioned for the light sleepers it is great to request a room further away from reception, but for those who prefer the newly renovated rooms, then the rooms at the front is the best choice for you. Either way we like to please all guests and reviews such as the one you have given to us is great as it not only compliments us but also points out the areas that need to be focussed on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just stayed at this hotel as a stop-over before flying back home via an early morning flight. It was surprisingly better than what I imagined. In fact, we were pleasantly surprised by the nicely refurbished rooms, better-than-expected food, and good, prompt service by the reception counter. They gave us free wifi and the business center (a small one with two computers) allowed me to print out my boarding pass just in time.

What I loved the most was the pleasant surprise when we opened the door to our room - everything looks very new and clean (unlike the "motel" like exterior of the hotel). I think if the hotel can afford some time and money, they can consider also putting up a new coat of paint outside so that the hotel is new from the inside and the outside as well.

I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are just briefly staying for a night or two while waiting for your next flight out of Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We also value your honest feedback especially the comments on the exterior of the property and will share it with our management team. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbydelaZouch
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Can highly recommend if you need a place to stay close to the airport. The reception service is highly effecient and pleasant, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean and the restaurant is very good. Our (very) early shuttle transfer to the airport was free and the driver helpful. All in all a great facility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our services to be wonderful. We are also happy to hear how you found our shuttle bus servicxe that does operate 24 hours a day, 7 days a week very helpful and usefull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre

Address: 33 Ardlie Street, Attwood, Victoria 3049, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Attwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Attwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Airport Motel and Convention Centre is a four star property that is situated minutes from the Tullamarine Airport and it is also situated only 5 minutes away from the very popular DFO Essendon. • Has a range of rooms to cater for a diverse market, from our basic four star motel rooms to our modern and contemporary Deluxe Business rooms• Included in the rate is our complimentary shuttle bus service that operates 24 hours a day seven days a week. • We also have free wireless internet available for all our guests and all rooms also include selected Foxtel channels. • All rooms also include full size iron/ironing board, hairdryer, refrigerator, mini bar, remote control LCD TV, individually controlled heater/air conditioner and same day dry cleaning service.For our guests going away for either business or pleasure we also offer our long term secure parking to store your vehicle with us whilst you’re away for a minimal rate of 8 dollars per day. The property includes an A La Carte Restaurant that operates for breakfast and dinner. Operating in the reception foyer we have a flight arrival/departure screen that will keep you updated on your flight times or you’re more than welcomed to ask one of our very friendly and professional staff members to give you assistance in finding that information for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Airport Motel And Convention Centre
Best Western Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.