We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart but relaxed hotel with great food by the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Park Resort

Save Saved
You added Green Park Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Park Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Tulipani 1, 56018 Calambrone, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calambrone
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smart but relaxed hotel with great food by the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I've stayed at the Green Park three times now and it never disappoints. The hotel is set out like a small campus round a park which is always fun to wander through on the way to the pool, restaurant or reception. For those who must there are little karts to get about. It is a bit Dr No really, with a sixties design theme. Both the restaurants are excellent. The less expensive one is about €100 for dinner for 2, but it's better than anywhere else we've found in Tirrenia. The lunch and dinner menu is the same, same prices. Breakfast is standard European fare let down a bit by having a coffee vending machine instead of a proper Espresso. May is low season and its nice and quiet although the outside pool is closed, which was a disappointment as it used to be open all year. There's a popular health and beauty facility on the site for treatments and which has a pool and gym machines. They do good value treatment packages but otherwise its €17 to walk through the door. Better to have a swim in the sea which is 5 minutes walk away. Nice big sandy beach with bars open in summer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are generously sized. Those facing the park have the best views whilst those facing ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    126
    53
    49
    35
See reviews for
72
158
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed there with friends for about 10 days, and it was great experience. The hotel is located at the outskirts of Tirrenia (or better say at neighbouring Calambrone), takes a 20-min walk or a quick drive to get to the centre. The area around the hotel is a little bit deserted with some construction in progress, which is somehow compensated by the hotel huge territory, it is indeed a green park, and the 3 min walk to the sea. A car is essential if you want to see Pisa, Lucca and the coast. The hotel is organized as several separate small buildings on the territory of the park with an outdoor swimming pool and a separate spa building with indoor swimming pool. The rooms are quite big, with table and chairs, and with big bathrooms. Breakfast is standard, but very nice coffee. There are two restaurants, one more formal, the other one is like a grill outside, we have been to both for dinner, and the food was up to very high standards. You will not find same quality around easily. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here from 10th September thru to 16th , its a great place to relax , the rooms are very good , but although the great weather continued the hotel was getting ready to shut down. Madness ! , you could easily fill all rooms with guests from the colder parts of europe ( UK etc ) with a little imaginative promotion . The quality of food was good but a bit overpriced in our opinion , you can eat out in Tirrenia or Pisa , but a hire car is essential for getting there as nothing nearby

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massa, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The resort is very nice. The spa amazing, with well-equipped fitness center. Lunasia restaurant excellent. Room comforteble. There are two open big swimmingpools and one inthe spa. The location is near to many important city like Pisa, Lucca, Forte dei marmi and Florence.
Pisa airport takes in 15 minutes by car. I recommend it to everyone. 1

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted to spend a romantic weekend in a special place to regain a psycho-physical balance before returning to the work routine.
We didn't know where to go, but some of our friends have recommended the Green Park Resort in Tirrenia.

It was just what we were looking for!

A wonderful place, relaxing, full of green, where you can breathe clean air, just a stone's throw from the sea.

We were received at reception by a nice lady who showed willingness and attentive to our every needs in every moment of our stay, then we were escorted to our room.
The room was large and airy, with a nice bed, a desk, a sofa, a lovely balcony and of course the TV. The large marble bathroom with comfortable bath.

Then we went to the spa and, after being changed in the locker room, we immediately immersed in a large pool of warm water, which was divided into zones. In each area you could enjoy a different type of massage. My favorite was a jet of water from above, which created a small waterfall. If you go under the waterfall, the water pressure will massage your back and neck. I won't tell you what a pleasure!

Upstairs in the spa, as well as be a gym, there is a beauty salon where I enjoyed a one-hour massage with fragrant oils. The masseuse, a true professional, at the end of the massage pampered and offered me a tisane.

I will not describe the other structures, such as swimming pool, bar and tennis court, otherwise I should write a very long message!

A special comment, however, goes to the cuisine of the restaurant "Le Ginestre", whose chef is Luca Landi - which by the way I found to be a handsome man ... you can see some photos on the brochure that there is in the room.
Supersensory experience of flavors! Really, I think I have never eaten so well in my life. You can notice it from the first bite, even for inexperienced palates, that behind every dish is a study and care of the dish that only a great chef can give. Nothing is left to chance. From starter to dessert was a crescendo of taste and perfection. If you happen to stay at the hotel, DON'T go to eat somewhere else, not worth it. But even if you are passing and just want to eat, stop by to have dinner there!

A latest positive comment goes to one of the waiters at the restaurant, a tall man with blue eyes, who was so courteous, friendly and genuine that I couldn't ignore in this feedback.


We are very satisfied, definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I've been in Green Park resort in the middle of August with my family, i had a really great time! and we were allowed in a suite room. We really appreciated the park...with its treas and birds!!!we really appreciated it for my daughter, and we had a lot of fun at the 2 outdoor pools and at the spa, where children are accapted, so we have spent a lot of time together!!!
We chosed the half board solution, so we have tasted 2 of the three restaurant, the Ginestre and the barbeque, and we really liked them!!!I suggest this hotel for guests with familly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

• Our booking was badly managed; we were told that it could not be found. This was because the booking had been made using a first name rather than a surname. Check-in staff were unapologetic and treated us as if this was our error.

• We were given a disabled room in error as a ‘triple’ room. The ‘triple’ bed was a small sofa. Not only was no apology offered for this ‘mistake’ but we were left waiting 40 minutes for a new room (that was on the opposite side of the building from the family members in our second room, who were also left standing in the hallway outside their room for a full 30 minutes as a problem with the key was rectified).

• The advertised luxury garden resort no longer exists; the trees have all been cut down, however this isn’t stated on any of their adverts or website. The resort is not surrounded by parkland; it is in the middle of a major building site. Many people have complained that the resort is not what they sell on the internet, and we agree.

• The staff were frequently rude, and sometimes even abusive. An incident with an internet card resulted in an explosive, abusive tirade from an elderly ‘reception manager’, who has obviously had no training in customer courtesy (never mind common courtesy).

• We were repeatedly told that the restaurant was fully booked. We rang the restaurant later just to make sure and got a booking immediately. It was empty the whole time we were there, and we were served with mediocre food.

• The attitude of the staff was sarcastic and contumelious. When we asked to speak to a manager, we were not so politely told that there wasn’t one.

• We booked 2 nights here, and left after 1, as it was so bad. When we went to check out early, the reception staff smirked openly.

The real problem with this resort is with the front desk staff, other staff such as the man who helped us with our luggage to the rooms was helpful and friendly. Do not stay here if you wish to be treated with any kind of dignity. We noticed other guests being treated discourteously in the lobby on two occasions. It is sad to see people that obviously have no pride in their jobs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparkresort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Green Park Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Sirs,

We are very very sorry to hear about your disappointment concerning your latest stay with us; please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

Concerning the check in it could happen that a reservation is registered under the guest first name instead of surname but it relly takes a few minutes to check this.

Regarding the disabled room, there were no apology from the reception, since this wasn’t a “mistake”, infact this type of rooms have got all the services just like any other room in the hotel and moreover this was a free upgrade, because the disabled room is a Deluxe while you booked a simple standard triple room.

Regarding the sofa this is not small as you stated since this is a proper single bed for an adult which if not used can be prepared as a sofa (for example if the room is occupied just by two people).

We are really sorry that you had to wait 40min. to get another room, but you have to understand that the hotel was fully booked andit wasn’t easy to find another triple room available.

We would like also to state our sincere apology for keeping the second room waiting concerning a problem with the key: normally we check all the keys before the guests arrival, but since they are magnetic it could happen that they need to be reprogrammed if kept near electronic devices (for example mobile phones).

Concerning the trees, it was really painfull for us to cut them down, but we were forced to do this due to a pine desease that struck all the area. Anyway we are already planting a new type of pines, that at the moment are obviously smaller than the previous pinewood. We are renewing our web site and our brochures with brand new pictures but since all this begun just 2 months ago we need time to prepare the new brochures and photo gallery.

Regarding the construction works those are outside our resort and independent from us. The building site can be seen from our resort but it doesn’t create any particolar inconvenience, especially if we consider that during the month of August they have 2 weeks off.

We apologize if you had the impression that our staff was not polite, but we can assure you that we always try to have the maximum of courtesy with all of our guest and that our priority is to make them have a good and relaxing time.

Concerning the internet card “accident”, we apologize for the mistake of giving you a 2h card instead of a 1h card as you asked, but the reason why we asked for the payment was because you used the card anyway so we can not take it back.

Regarding the manager, we would like to put a note on the fact that even when the general manager is not here there is always someone available to listen to the guests needs and ready to help because our guest are our first priority.

For the restaurant, we are sorry to hear that you didn’t appreciate the food, since normally we receive a lot of compliments from our guests. You were told that the restaurant was fully booked because, since also the hotel was fully booked, the tables were reserved to people in Half Board or Full Bord, which are a lot in this period.

If you found a table available directly there, maybe it was because some guests had dinner early and free the table. Regarding the fact that the restaurant seems empty to you is probably because people that reserve a table have got thee chance to go to dinner from 19:30 till 22:00 and normally they don’t go all at once.

We are sorry that you decide to stay just one night instead of the two booked, but after listening to all the inconvenience you said you’ve experienced we decide to agree with your tour operator to make you pay just the night you stayed instead of the total amount as stated in the cancellation policy, and we think that this is another sign of our will in satisfying our guest.

Thanking you for your kind attention, we send you our

Best regards
The Direction
GREEN PARK RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Park Resort

Address: Via Dei Tulipani 1, 56018 Calambrone, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Calambrone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calambrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Park Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Green Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel Tirrenia
Green Park Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.