We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Park Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Green Park Resort to your Saves list
Green Park Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Tulipani 1, 56018 Calambrone, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calambrone
Massa, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“relax and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The resort is very nice. The spa amazing, with well-equipped fitness center. Lunasia restaurant excellent. Room comforteble. There are two open big swimmingpools and one inthe spa. The location is near to many important city like Pisa, Lucca, Forte dei marmi and Florence.
Pisa airport takes in 15 minutes by car. I recommend it to everyone. 1

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    134
    54
    49
    36
See reviews for
75
165
5
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted to spend a romantic weekend in a special place to regain a psycho-physical balance before returning to the work routine.
We didn't know where to go, but some of our friends have recommended the Green Park Resort in Tirrenia.

It was just what we were looking for!

A wonderful place, relaxing, full of green, where you can breathe clean air, just a stone's throw from the sea.

We were received at reception by a nice lady who showed willingness and attentive to our every needs in every moment of our stay, then we were escorted to our room.
The room was large and airy, with a nice bed, a desk, a sofa, a lovely balcony and of course the TV. The large marble bathroom with comfortable bath.

Then we went to the spa and, after being changed in the locker room, we immediately immersed in a large pool of warm water, which was divided into zones. In each area you could enjoy a different type of massage. My favorite was a jet of water from above, which created a small waterfall. If you go under the waterfall, the water pressure will massage your back and neck. I won't tell you what a pleasure!

Upstairs in the spa, as well as be a gym, there is a beauty salon where I enjoyed a one-hour massage with fragrant oils. The masseuse, a true professional, at the end of the massage pampered and offered me a tisane.

I will not describe the other structures, such as swimming pool, bar and tennis court, otherwise I should write a very long message!

A special comment, however, goes to the cuisine of the restaurant "Le Ginestre", whose chef is Luca Landi - which by the way I found to be a handsome man ... you can see some photos on the brochure that there is in the room.
Supersensory experience of flavors! Really, I think I have never eaten so well in my life. You can notice it from the first bite, even for inexperienced palates, that behind every dish is a study and care of the dish that only a great chef can give. Nothing is left to chance. From starter to dessert was a crescendo of taste and perfection. If you happen to stay at the hotel, DON'T go to eat somewhere else, not worth it. But even if you are passing and just want to eat, stop by to have dinner there!

A latest positive comment goes to one of the waiters at the restaurant, a tall man with blue eyes, who was so courteous, friendly and genuine that I couldn't ignore in this feedback.


We are very satisfied, definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I've been in Green Park resort in the middle of August with my family, i had a really great time! and we were allowed in a suite room. We really appreciated the park...with its treas and birds!!!we really appreciated it for my daughter, and we had a lot of fun at the 2 outdoor pools and at the spa, where children are accapted, so we have spent a lot of time together!!!
We chosed the half board solution, so we have tasted 2 of the three restaurant, the Ginestre and the barbeque, and we really liked them!!!I suggest this hotel for guests with familly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

• Our booking was badly managed; we were told that it could not be found. This was because the booking had been made using a first name rather than a surname. Check-in staff were unapologetic and treated us as if this was our error.

• We were given a disabled room in error as a ‘triple’ room. The ‘triple’ bed was a small sofa. Not only was no apology offered for this ‘mistake’ but we were left waiting 40 minutes for a new room (that was on the opposite side of the building from the family members in our second room, who were also left standing in the hallway outside their room for a full 30 minutes as a problem with the key was rectified).

• The advertised luxury garden resort no longer exists; the trees have all been cut down, however this isn’t stated on any of their adverts or website. The resort is not surrounded by parkland; it is in the middle of a major building site. Many people have complained that the resort is not what they sell on the internet, and we agree.

• The staff were frequently rude, and sometimes even abusive. An incident with an internet card resulted in an explosive, abusive tirade from an elderly ‘reception manager’, who has obviously had no training in customer courtesy (never mind common courtesy).

• We were repeatedly told that the restaurant was fully booked. We rang the restaurant later just to make sure and got a booking immediately. It was empty the whole time we were there, and we were served with mediocre food.

• The attitude of the staff was sarcastic and contumelious. When we asked to speak to a manager, we were not so politely told that there wasn’t one.

• We booked 2 nights here, and left after 1, as it was so bad. When we went to check out early, the reception staff smirked openly.

The real problem with this resort is with the front desk staff, other staff such as the man who helped us with our luggage to the rooms was helpful and friendly. Do not stay here if you wish to be treated with any kind of dignity. We noticed other guests being treated discourteously in the lobby on two occasions. It is sad to see people that obviously have no pride in their jobs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparkresort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Green Park Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Sirs,

We are very very sorry to hear about your disappointment concerning your latest stay with us; please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

Concerning the check in it could happen that a reservation is registered under the guest first name instead of surname but it relly takes a few minutes to check this.

Regarding the disabled room, there were no apology from the reception, since this wasn’t a “mistake”, infact this type of rooms have got all the services just like any other room in the hotel and moreover this was a free upgrade, because the disabled room is a Deluxe while you booked a simple standard triple room.

Regarding the sofa this is not small as you stated since this is a proper single bed for an adult which if not used can be prepared as a sofa (for example if the room is occupied just by two people).

We are really sorry that you had to wait 40min. to get another room, but you have to understand that the hotel was fully booked andit wasn’t easy to find another triple room available.

We would like also to state our sincere apology for keeping the second room waiting concerning a problem with the key: normally we check all the keys before the guests arrival, but since they are magnetic it could happen that they need to be reprogrammed if kept near electronic devices (for example mobile phones).

Concerning the trees, it was really painfull for us to cut them down, but we were forced to do this due to a pine desease that struck all the area. Anyway we are already planting a new type of pines, that at the moment are obviously smaller than the previous pinewood. We are renewing our web site and our brochures with brand new pictures but since all this begun just 2 months ago we need time to prepare the new brochures and photo gallery.

Regarding the construction works those are outside our resort and independent from us. The building site can be seen from our resort but it doesn’t create any particolar inconvenience, especially if we consider that during the month of August they have 2 weeks off.

We apologize if you had the impression that our staff was not polite, but we can assure you that we always try to have the maximum of courtesy with all of our guest and that our priority is to make them have a good and relaxing time.

Concerning the internet card “accident”, we apologize for the mistake of giving you a 2h card instead of a 1h card as you asked, but the reason why we asked for the payment was because you used the card anyway so we can not take it back.

Regarding the manager, we would like to put a note on the fact that even when the general manager is not here there is always someone available to listen to the guests needs and ready to help because our guest are our first priority.

For the restaurant, we are sorry to hear that you didn’t appreciate the food, since normally we receive a lot of compliments from our guests. You were told that the restaurant was fully booked because, since also the hotel was fully booked, the tables were reserved to people in Half Board or Full Bord, which are a lot in this period.

If you found a table available directly there, maybe it was because some guests had dinner early and free the table. Regarding the fact that the restaurant seems empty to you is probably because people that reserve a table have got thee chance to go to dinner from 19:30 till 22:00 and normally they don’t go all at once.

We are sorry that you decide to stay just one night instead of the two booked, but after listening to all the inconvenience you said you’ve experienced we decide to agree with your tour operator to make you pay just the night you stayed instead of the total amount as stated in the cancellation policy, and we think that this is another sign of our will in satisfying our guest.

Thanking you for your kind attention, we send you our

Best regards
The Direction
GREEN PARK RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calambrone hotels

Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

To be honnest: we didn't want to see the rooms anymore (so we cannot judge the quality of the room). We had such a bad surprise when we arrived and checked the domain of the hotel and swimming pool: in the middle of the construction sites, a lot of noise of the construction, no trees anymore, ... so nothing to see with the picture on the internet.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparkresort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Green Park Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment concerning your latest visit in our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience due to the construction works, visible from our resort and sometimes a bit noisy; regarding your comment we regret that you refused to see our nice rooms and that you didn’t have the chance to try our services and restaurants, but you spent only 5 minutes in our hotel.

I hope you have appreciated the fact that we have not charged the penalty as stated in the reservation you made, because we wish to satisfy any needs of our customers.

Thanking for your kind attention, we send you our warmest regards

Direction
GREEN PARK RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We booked 10 nights at the Green Park Hotel last July (23/07 to 02/08). After reading the reviews, we were a bit anxious to discover this resort but all in all our stay was very pleasant and we enjoyed every moment:
- we had booked a standard room and were not disappointed. Although the room had no balcony, it was a large and clean room with a very nice bathroom. Our room was located in the villa number 4 (first floor) and was very quiet. My husband was happy too to have Sky TV.
- With the B&B formula, we never went to the restaurants in the evening (according to the reception, they were always booked for guests in half/full board). But this was not an issue as the closest centre (tirrenia) was very close by car and offered lots of nice restaurants at very affordable prices. We ate very well every evening and tuscan food.
- The beach was located on the other side of the main road (about 300 m) from the hotel. It was nice and well furnished....no problem there but be sure to know what is included in the price of your room as you may have to add extra euros to use sunbeds (instead of chairs).
- Calambrone seems to be a little centre in complete renovation and modernisation...as a result, there are some works in progress (construction) near the resort. If you exclude the visual disturbance, it is not really an issue once inside the main site (garden).
- We never used the swimming pool but it looked very nice and well-maintened.
- We enjoyed the SPA twice during our stay (swimming pool, massages and face treatment) and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of it and the kindness of the staff. This element definitely added value to our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparkresort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Green Park Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your comments written on Tripadvisor and for recomanding our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience of being our Guests during your stay.

We would like to remind you that your comments and suggestions are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

Thanking you for your kind attention, we assure you of our personal assistance at all times and we send you our warmest regards

Direction
GREEN PARK RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Green Park Resort & Hotel: Beware of lies and fraud. We booked from the website where a beautiful leisurely garden with endless trees was shown. Leisure impressions and high quality all over. A fantastic brochure and website. Arriving we found no trees but dirt and nearby construction all over. All trees were chopped off last Winter, unfortunately (!) as the manager said. But they still advertise and sell the place with the old pictures!! It is fraud in extremest. It is a different hotel! Definitely not worth the prices shown! And definitely not that high quality resort you were looking for. On top: Due to the construction and dirt all over the reception is the delivery entrance! Welcome!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenparkresort, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Green Park Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Sirs,

We are very very sorry to hear about your disappointment concerning your latest stay with us; please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

Regarding your comments, we would like to make a note about your sentence “Fraud, simple fraud”; as our manager said to you we chopped off some trees because they were sick. We used the term “unfortunately” because it was a big disappointment for us chopping our trees but, we are planting new ones, updating our website and working on new brochure (considering that we chopped the trees 2 months ago, we need times to make new pictures for printing new brochure).


About our park, rich of mediterranean plants and flowers, very curate from our gardening staff, we would like to inform that we received a lot of compliments so… we do not think we are cheating someone!


Thanking you for your kind attention, we send you our
Best regards

The Direction
GREEN PARK RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Park Resort

Address: Via Dei Tulipani 1, 56018 Calambrone, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Calambrone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calambrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Green Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel Tirrenia
Green Park Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.