We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Italy. Great Food and Perfect Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortino Napoleonico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fortino Napoleonico to your Saves list
Hotel Fortino Napoleonico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Poggio 166, 60020 Portonovo, Ancona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Portonovo
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best of Italy. Great Food and Perfect Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent two days on our Honeymoon in 2001 and it was by far the best of Italy. The rooms were spacious, the service perfect and the best food we had during the two weeks. We are looking to go back a celebrate our anniversary. Truly a beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    59
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
79
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a special property. A truly unique setting within a Napolionic era fort. This is a boutique hotel in a superlative setting. Having read some of the prior reviews, it certainly seems this property is prudently listening to prior concerns. Service levels were appropriate to the cost and hotel rating. We had free in-room bottled water and free WiFi throughout. The restaurant in the center of the fort is wonderful. First class service, great food, but not a bargin. It is however worth the money. Our room was clean, thoughtfully decorated, and comfortable. It did have the smaller European style bed; I am 6', it did not present any inconveience. The bed was firm and comfortable. The beach is rugged and narrow, the sea water is clear and refreshing, the small mountains rising near the water line. Water shoes are suggested as this is not Clearwater beach sand. Well worn rocks and pebbles are more present than any beach sand. But it is picturesque. It was a pleasure to stay there

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annemasse
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Yes it is a unique hotel. Location is unique and the food and wine are excellent with excellent service in the evening. We asked for a quiet room with two comfortable beds.........some of the worst beds ever....short and narrow. Why are European beds so uncomfortable.?

Hotel rating agencies have a lot to answer for. They rate hotels as comfortable etc without ever checking bed quality. USA hotels provide excellent interior sprung mattresses; why cannot we have these in Europe.

Room Tip: Avoid if you want a comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel and conference center has a great location: the rocky edge of a pebbles and rocks beach, looking out on a still relatively unspoiled part of the adriatic. The surrounding parks and woods might make for a very leisurely stay.
However, the rooms, cramped and low ceilings are badly in need of functional redecoration. Now it is mostly ugly kitsch, vaguely based on supposedly napoleonic empire style. He slept here apparently, but I hope he did not have the problem that we had: a gust of wind made part of a window and a picture frame fall on our heads while sleeping.
Breakfast is terrible: no fresh juice, no fresh fruit, just biscuits in wrappers, industrial bread, no fresh eggs.

This place is nowhere near it own claims for four stars, three maybe at the most, and then only after you ignore the rather unenthusiastic service at the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Built on a small promontory about 8 kilometres from Ancona, this hotel would appear to have everything - certainly a secluded restaurant on the water (the food was good but not very imaginative) - but in the absence of good sturdy seashoes to avoid a fall, it was close to impossible to indulge in a relaxed swim since the rocks and the pain of crossing the very small beach made such a wish unfulfillable. The rooms are large and quiet and generally well appointed and the service courteous. However, all in all I would not wish to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My mother and I stayed here in mid September. It was a big treat for my mom who loved it. Part of her 80th birthday present. She loved the patio area. Neither of us are crazy about Italian beaches with the pebbles and water shoes are a must. Vistas were beautiful.

I read the other reviews and don't agree - breakfast was excellent. Lots of choice. I did not expect our room to have views - its an old fort!! Agree that internet would be nice but its very typical of anything over 3star in Italy to charge for internet - stay at 3star wifi is usually free. Beds were pokey but again Italian twin standard.

Beach area was private. We did walk over to the sister hotel outside the main gate and used their pool. Staff provided towels.

We both loved it and needed a break from the heat. It was expensive but worth the drive from where I live in Italy. Sometimes you have to treat yourself in life and this was one of those good experiences.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

A wonderful little hotel inside the national park. An old, small fort overlooking the approach to the bay has very nicely appointed rooms and excellent service. (Italians are pros at service)
We did not eat dinner there, but opt'd for a beach side seafood resturant - Graniche. Good seafood, even out of season.
Breakfast was average and included
For the price Internet should be included please

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fortino Napoleonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortino Napoleonico

Address: Via Poggio 166, 60020 Portonovo, Ancona, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Ancona > Ancona > Portonovo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Portonovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortino Napoleonico 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fortino Napoleonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fortino Napoleonico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.