We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate Jungle Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K Gudi Wilderness Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelandur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
K Gudi Wilderness Camp
Save
You added K Gudi Wilderness Camp to your Saves list
Kyathadevara Gudi, Chamarajanagar | B.R. Hills, Yelandur 571313, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Jungle Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

While most Resorts offer accommodation on the fringes of the forest, Kgudi Wilderness is probably the only place in Karnataka where you are actually living in the middle of the Reserve. The experience is amazing in every aspect.

To Start with, you are greeted by a courteous and friendly staff. Your lodgings are clean, tidy and well maintained. Your view from your cottage is of the forest, birds and bird songs. The food is sumptuous, hygienic and served hot and on time. With the basics taken care of, lets now focus on the real purpose of a visit to a place like this.

The bird sightings are amazing to say the least - in fact, you get to see a whole variety right from your cottage, without even starting off on the safari. The management and the naturalists are very knowledgeable and very friendly with their guests. The Safari is prompt and takes you through the reserve's tourism zone. Being an eco-friendly resort, care is taken to ensure that scare resources like electricity, water are conserved. Its lights out by 10:30 pm and all you are left with is a torch and a hurricane lamp to survive the night.

Wild animals frequent the place during the late night and early morning hours. During our stay, we heard a tiger roar from a are very close to the resort (unfortunately we did not get to see the tiger) - it was the highlight of my stay there. Needless to say, I can't wait for my next visit back to BR Hills and Kgudi wilderness camp.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    58
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
27
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

K.Gudi wilderness camp is in the BRT (Biligiri Rangana Temple) sanctuary limits, 3500 ft above sea level. BRT sanctuary is a unique site of breathtaking beauty—a blend of a hill station and wildlife sanctuary—with hills and valleys and forests, and the place where Western and Eastern Ghats meet. We made a second trip there within six months, such is the lure of the place!

The K.Gudi camp (like the Bandipur Lodge, run by Jungle lodges) is quite unique--accommodation includes rooms at the Maharaja’s hunting Lodge, log huts (on stilts) and tented cottages—we opted for the latter, and loved it. They are set in the most scenic landscape, with pretty little paths. The tented cottage is spacious, beautiful and well maintained, with a modern bathroom, pretty curtains and a superb view of the forests beyond. Electricity is provided by generators from 6 pm to 10.30, but really, one is tempted to switch off the lights much earlier, such is the beauty of the night in a forest, lit up only by the line of hurricane lamps that burn through the night (to keep away wild animals). Indeed, chital and sambar and wild boar roam near the cottages, and predators are not far behind. Macaque monkeys swing from the branches in gay abandon! There are hammocks close to the cottages, and the customary Jungle lodges trademark--the “gol ghar” (dining area as in Bandipur) with the usual lavish buffets! The stunning view of the jungles tempts one to linger there long after a delicious meal is over! However, what drew me away to the other side was the sight of elephants bathing, being scrubbed by their mahouts and then being fed! For there is a small pond adjacent to the camp, and the forest department elephant camp too--for me, this is a major USP of the place! A huge gulmohar tree harbors a host of birds, enthusiastically identified even by the elderly driver who has been there for 13 years!

The program at K.Gudi is similar to Bandipur—safaris into the jungle in the early morning and evening (very enriching, with expert naturalists Lokesh and Narain and the manager Ashish) and a wildlife movie in the evening. A spacious hall in the main lodge is the venue for the movies, and also has a counter selling items like honey made by the local tribals. Visitors and staff often enjoy a game of table tennis!

The 2 nights program includes a drive up to the Ranganathaswamy temple (dedicated to Lord Vishnu). It is an ancient temple, a pilgrimage center for over 500 years. Situated atop a hill it affords a panoramic view, but beware of the monkeys that are adept at snatching packets! There is another small temple adjacent to the resort, dedicated to the local tribal god—Kyathadevarayana, hence the name K.Gudi. You could also request for a trip to a nearby village of the local tribe—the Soligas.

Apart from the ambiance at the camp, the staff and services are professional and commendable. For detailed information and photos of K.Gudi and its wild denizens, you could check out Ashish's site—www.livingintothewild.com, and take a rejuvenating trip to the wild!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

I have visited K Gudi Wilderness Camp multiple times and I have no hesitation to say that this is one of the top 3 wildlife camps that I have stayed at in India. The camp blends itself wonderfully with the surrounding forests with minimal damage to the forest grounds where tents and log huts are laid out. This excellent property is backed by an excellent set of people who know their job very well. The safari into BRT sanctuary is an amazing experience. This forest is not yet fully commercialized and tourist traffic into the sanctuary is only through this camp. The safari drivers and guides are highly skilled and are always eager to show you as much wildlife as they can.
The tents and log huts are beautifully maintained with an amazing level of cleanliness. The camp has no fencing - so deer and wild boars are frequently sighted inside the camp. If you can, wake up as early as you can (5am or earlier) and sit in the balcony - you will never forget that morning in your life.

K Gudi Wilderness Camp is a must-visit for any serious wildlife tourist. Plan at least 2 weeks in advance as the camp is heavily booked all through the year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

One of the few resorts in india which are located within a sanctuary. A cross between a hill station and wildlife sanctuary resort, K Gudi is a gem if one is looking for a quiet 2-3 days getaway. One can hear alarm calls of wild animals all around at night, the sightings on game drives were pretty good too, probably because it was summer. You can laze around in their hammocks all afternoon just listening to the jungle sounds.
There is no electricity in the afternoons and at night after 1030pm. But you dont miss it as its pleasant even during the day in the peak of summer. The service is friendly and spot on, food is good (they took care about our dietary requirements as well), and accommodation is adequate. The tents need refurbishing although the log huts seemed to havea better standard of interiors.
Its quite a good drive to get to K Gudi from bangalore, and I am glad we used the Maddur-Kollegul-Yellandur-BR Hills route and not Mysore-Chamrajnagar one inspite of recommendations that we use the latter. The former route/road is more picturesque, quicker and shorter.
Go there if you enjoy a rustic atmosphere, oneness with nature, game viewing, etc. Dont go if you are looking for luxury or kids want 'entertainment'.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

My family has visited here twice, once with me, once without (2005, 2007). I was so impressed by the quality of the holiday and service that I recommended it to my American professor and husband (2008). They had amazing fun and got a chance to experience widlife in its natural state. However, you do tend to meet wildlife in yoru safaris occasionally at a close distance, and as long as you follow your forest officer's directions, its safe. You need to be able to take a little bit of excitement though.This is an eco-friendly resort, with knowledgeable naturalists who guide you during the treks and safaris. The lights are switched off after dinner by the bonfire, in order to not disturb the animals. They have nicely done cottages, quite comfortable for a stay in the jungle. And the food is great, with a spread that caters to all tastes from indian to western. And the staff are very friendly and hospitable. Overall, a great stay that I recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

I had been to KGudi wilderness camp along with my office colleagues for a team outbound.

We were a group of 30 people.

the place is excellent sorrounded by a forest. The staff were friendly , food was great and the morning walk around the jungle and the evening safari was great.

I felt the cost is a bit higher, since it is calculated per person rather than the per room.

  • Liked — evening safari and the food
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to K Gudi Wilderness Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Gudi Wilderness Camp

Address: Kyathadevara Gudi, Chamarajanagar | B.R. Hills, Yelandur 571313, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Yelandur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Yelandur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inimitable rush of untamed terrain - gorges, valleys, forests and swirling, swollen and frothing white water: that's what the Kali Adventure Camp at Dandeli is about. A sprawling bungalow on the banks of the majestic Kali River, this wilderness camp is all about making a connection with nature. Take a walk down the wild side and discover just how invigorating it can be. Discover the sheer adrenalin rush of being alive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
k Gudi Wilderness Camp Hotel Yelandur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K Gudi Wilderness Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.