We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful escape just up-river from Hobart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cleburne Homestead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cleburne Homestead to your Saves list
Cleburne Homestead
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   1036 East Derwent Highway | Risdon Cove, Risdon, Clarence, Tasmania 7017, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape just up-river from Hobart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were very lucky to snare a last minute room at Cleburne...the hosts were delightful, the breakfast immense, fresh, local & utterly memorable.
The amazing, lovingly restored old stables (that we were in, there are other restored buildings with a range of accommodations) are cosy, soundproof & afford a solid sleep.
Leave time for a leisurely breakfast on the massive table in front of the open fire - it will set you up for the day!
You need a car to be staying here, but it is close to MONA (DO NOT miss MONA), & still just minutes to Hobart, so who cares?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

What a wonderful quaint homestead representing the true style of old-fashioned charm and elegance. We are so impressed with the homestead in every way from the impressive buildings; the amazing Alpaca's to the simple yet lovely geese. Their breakfasts were fabulous and their service was superb. Penelope and David are just terrific and delightful people and nothing was too much trouble.

We were a family of eight (four adults and four children) and we were easily accommodated. My mother uses a walker and wheelchair and Cleburne accommodated us without any troubles. They are environmentally friendly which was really impressive.

We fully recommend Cleburne and would love to go back again one day. Thank you to both Penelope and David for a wonderful time.

Mark & Tracy

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed here at the end of May and what a lovely place. Don't let the location put you off. Despite being surrounded by major roads you can't hear a thing once inside those thick stone walls. We had a little 2 storey cottage and everything was wonderful. David had the fire all ready to go when we arrived, and with loads of good quality wood we were toasty warm all night. Breakfasts were fabulous and generous, with warm poached fruit every morning, YUM!! Good location if you want to go to MONA, but not really within walking distance of anything much. Had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Had a great weekend here with amazing hosts David and Penelope. Loved the contrast of the cosy stone walled rooms and vegetable garden with the cutting edge art collection. Great contrasting spaces to hang out in within the homestead and gardens

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gippsland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Beautiful, rustic 19th century buildings and elegant, comfortable rooms - Cleburne Homestead is tucked away by the north end of the Bowen Bridge about 10kms from Hobart CBD, just across the river from the Derwent Entertainment Centre. It's a little oasis from the city's hustle and bustle. The hosts were charming, friendly and helpful; the breakfast was tasty; plus free off-street parking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We loved Cleburne. Its location would be difficult if you don't have a car, but I would still recommend it. The rooms all had character, were extremely confortable and very clean. The continental breakfast was superb, with mulberries stright from the bush that morning, excellent bread and jam, and tasty homemade muesli. David and Penelope were superb hosts, giving us a guided tour of the animals and garden, and allowing us to try a little bit more fruit from the mulberry tree and a plum tree! They really bent over backwards to help us, with directions, recommendations and advice about things to do in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Set in beautiful grounds with alpacas and geese for a rural touch. One of the oldest buildings in this area of Risdon Cove which was the orignal settlement, each room is different but the historical authenticity of the buildings has been retained. Some very interesting modern art (Penelope our hostess is an artist) decorates the rooms and the main house. With four couples we enjoyed having "the Cottage" to gather together where David and Penelope lit a fire for us each afternoon. Penelope and David are the ideal hosts, very welcoming and informative and interesting to talk to. Continental breakfasts were varied, hearty, fresh and delicious. The only drawback is that the large rural property is surrounded by busy roads but the noise seemed distant and visually it did not detract from the setting as the the roads were hidden by greenery and far enough away not to be intrusive. If you are very light sleeper the road noise might bother you but it didn't bother me.Tranquil setting with the attraction of living in an historical building. Something out of the ordinary. You need a car but it is not far to Hobart central and we found it a good set off point for Port Arthur, 90 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleburne Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleburne Homestead

Address: 1036 East Derwent Highway | Risdon Cove, Risdon, Clarence, Tasmania 7017, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Risdon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Risdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleburne Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleburne is a fascinating and luxurious art hotel located at Hobart, Tasmania. We offer bed and breakfast accommodation in heritage-listed sandstone buildings. The art hotel is furnished with contemporary Tasmanian and Australian artworks. With the fusion of new and old, Cleburne Homestead is one of the most earliest original heritage accommodation in Tasmania.We are the perfect spot to stay during your explorations of different beautiful places in Southern Tasmania. Our art hotel is a five minutes drive to MONA – the Museum of Old and New Art and fifteen minutes drive to Hobart's Constitution and Salamanca Place. Cleburne Homestead lets you experience art with our modern art collections embellished in every room.Cleburne Homestead is a place for comfort and relaxation. We have complete facilities for your satisfaction. You can choose from our five delightful suites: The Cottage, The Bakehouse, The Homestead, The Barn and The Stables. The Cottage is a two-storey suite with a queen-size bed and fully equipped kitchen. The Bakehouse has a free-standing bath furnished with Tasmanian art. Our Homestead is perfect for morning coffee and has private access to the Reading Room. You can enjoy the cosy atmosphere of The Barn and The Stables with its stone walls and leather furniture. Our two day beds can accommodate additional guests and children. Enjoy our delectable foods in our dining room or the verandah. Cleburne Homestead gives you the best bed and breakfast accommodation experience that you will never forget.Cleburne Homestead gladly accepts singles, couples and children and pets by arrangement. We take pride to our genuine hospitality and finest bed and breakfast accommodation. We are accredited with the Tourism Council of Tasmania and registered with GALTA. What are you waiting for? Spend a lovely time and enjoy the delights of Cleburne Homestead! Make your bookings now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cleburne Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleburne Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.