We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Entertainment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purangi

Purangi
450 Purangi Road, Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
+64 7-866 3724
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Coffee Shop, Wine Bar
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
“Best Entertainment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our rained out sailing trip became an indoor adventure at the Purangi WInery. Daniel entertained us from the moment we walked through the door. His personality, wit and customer service talents soon had our sailing blues washed away. We learned many uses for Nz's Feijoa fruit. My, but they are tasty! We had so much fun with Daniel that we moved into the eatery for some delicious stone cooked pizza, a few more drinks and several rounds of table tennis.
Thanks for the fun guys. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Found this place by chance and it was perfect. A true kiwi experience, with excellent liqueurs and fab pizza. The host was incredibly welcoming and the history of NZ from 'Moa to Feijoa's' was funny and interesting. A great end to a wonderful day on the coromandel peninsula. Would recommend to all!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
1 review
“Well worth the effort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Incredibly generous tastings. Unique products. Knowledgeable and passionate proprietor full of wonderful stories. A great Kiwi experience. We had the vegetarian pizza which was wonderful, even though it could have been left in the wood fired ovens a few more minutes. We washed it down with the fabulous feijoa and apple cider. The outdoor surroundings are rustic and charming. The tables are set under kiwifruit vines, hanging with fruit. Great spot, well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good save”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Ordered some food and there was a mix up getting the order to the kitchen so it took a long time and we needed to remind them. The staff were very sorry and the owner gave us a free round of drinks for the kids and some wine so it was a great save. Lovely venue and even squeezed in a game of table tennis. Wood fired pizza. Kids liked the ketchup and aioli.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“True Highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I spent an hour talking and laughing with the people here.
A fantastic spot, really rustic with some great and truly unique liqueurs!
Really really enjoyed it!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purangi also viewed

Cooks Beach, Whitianga
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Purangi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purangi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.