We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop here if your passing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purangi Estate Limited

Purangi Estate Limited
450 Purangi Road, Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
+64 7-866 5346
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Purangi Winery was established in 1986 the 37th winery in New Zealand on land cleared from second growth scrub in 1972 by the Ecans Family who moved from Hong Kong and who were welcome settlers by the district in 1966 after buying land from the Harsant and Wigmore Families and then owning and operating the Hahei Store. The land now 60 acres was farmed running cows, pigs, sheep and goats then planted supplying the Auction Markets with table grapes, kiwifruit, passionfruit, garlic and fresh produce from the market garden. Later crayfishing down the Purangi River and then a commercial river cruise got started after the winery was established. In 1987/8 we opened awine bar cafe "The Buttery". In 1993 tea planting was undertaken with the establishment of the Tea Research Institute of NZ. When land was cleared originally organic principles were adopted and over the years many "Wooferd" and "HelpXers" have volunteered their help so that our products are made in the tranditional manner with the purest ingredients hence the company name PURANGI ESTATE LTD or "Purest". The Winecellar in St. Kevins Arcades, K'Road, Auckland was started in 2004 and is now a popular city bar and music venue. In 2009 we built a wood fired pizza oven and launched the PURANGI WINERY PIZZERIA which has been very popular - we produce many of the ingredients for our pizzas, making the basil pesto and pizza sauce and using a wide range of fresh herbs and vegetables from the garden.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stop here if your passing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was such a lovely unexpected place. The guy serving us was very funny and charismatic. Tested everything and bought some excellent liquors too including manuka honey
Then sat in the very cosey lounge area before driving due to feeling a little tipsy, with a coffee :)
Would love to go back one day. Have to mention the gigantic ginger cat and the crazy hairy black cat who just made himself comfortable in my lap!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corry, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to the Coromandel Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Do not let the appearance from the road scare you away like it did the first time we went by.
The best wine tasting - generous, entertaining, excellent products. Great fire cooked gluten free pizza.

Attraction Not To Be Missed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Entertainment and great wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Danny was our sommelier and he was hilarious. I have done wine tastings all over the east coast and west coast of the US and Australia. This is not what you would expect out of a wine tasting; so be ready for some fun! You'll have amazing fresh ingredients pizza and not just a wine tasting but also liqueur tasting, so make sure you eat some food while you're there unless you're planning on getting wasted. Lol. Overall, one of the most unique experiences this wonderful country has to offer. Great for people who just like wine w/o the pretentiousness of being in a winery.....not that there's anything wrong with that :-) Oh and did I mention there's no fee for tasting?! Yes, world recognized wine for no fee. Try that Napa Valley!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Everytime we go anywhere near we stop in...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great host to take you through the wine and spirits made on site. Don't miss the lemon gin.

We found this in 2005 and it's good to see it is still going strong.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is probably the most fun wine tasting I've ever been to ( and I may have been to a few). The barkeep was hilarious, keeping us entertained with lots of ribbing and local history. The tasting was free which was surprising given how freely the Wines, Liquers and Gin flowed, but we didn't feel too bad as they all tasted so good we made sure we bought a fair amount. The place is pretty eclectic and not too fancy but it's full of character and warmth.
Will definitley be back - thanks!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purangi Estate Limited also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Purangi Estate Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purangi Estate Limited, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.