We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great big burger” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Tea House Whitehead

The Old Tea House Whitehead
1 Kings Road | Whitehead, Whitehead BT38 9PU, Northern Ireland
(0)7540 567003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Whitehead
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Great big burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A friend had told me about their burgers, one of their “specials”. I wrote this down: Crossgar 6oz steak burgers topped with smoked applewood cheese, served with tomato, lettuce, onion & skinny fries – for £7.90. I took a photograph, in case you didn’t believe me when I tell you tthat you get a great mound of chips. My friend actually shares this meal between two people, because the portions are so generous! I was actually very tempted to try the other special, it was Cooleeny goats cheese and cherry tomato quiche with house salad. I’ll go back another day for that. I like to see good “norn iron / irish” food in a locally owned restaurant.
The one thing wrong was that I had no room left for a dessert, but I bought a little something for later in one of those takeaway boxes. They do very nice cakes!
I do like the music they play in the old tea house. The staff are very good. The paintings on the walls keep changing, and the whole room takes you back in time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    11
    4
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“Local Artwork And Lovely Scones!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I visited recently and had a lovely cappacinino and a cherry scone. I chatted for ages with my friend. The calming background music and the array of local artwork, see attached photograph, really brought the place to life and I enjoyed my visit. I must call again soon. The old décor is lovely and the waitress was very helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
619 helpful votes 619 helpful votes
“Service above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went 4 one of their occasional evening events – it’s the only restaurant in the heart of Whitehead where u can eat at night. That was handy, this was a bring-your-own bottle affair, so I could take a drink, and just walk home. We stayed for hours, and I must compliment the staff. They were amazingly polite, attentive and patient with us all night long. Top marks. All the food was great, too.

They have a bunch of new paintings and photo art on the walls by 5 or 6 artists. The furnishings and old antiques that decorate the main room have been given a makeover during the summer. They have olde world irons, tea pots, a gramophone, and many attractive period curiosities, plus books on local history you can browse.

Outside is all flower baskets for the summer season. The outdoor seating from their corner affords you the best view of both main streets, plus sunshine. They do daily specials, and I’d recommend the Irish goat’s cheese and red onion relish. They source ingredients locally, and I like that (e.g. Glenarm salmon, Crossgar steak burgers).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I see this place has had mixed reviews. Can only go on my own experience. My wife and I recently visited on a saturday afternoon. Staff were friendly. My homemade burger was superb and wifes soup was good also. Finished off with a cracking cappucino and seriously large piece of shortbread. Didnt cost the earth either. Whitehead is a lovely little town and really needs some places like this. Will def be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

What has happened to this cafe? The staff are awful and the quality of the food has slipped too far for comfort. The other reviewers must have gone on a really good day.Wont be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Tea House Whitehead also viewed

Whitehead, County Antrim
 
Carrickfergus, County Antrim
 

Been to The Old Tea House Whitehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Tea House Whitehead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.