We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice enough stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiln Lane | Wooburn Common, Wooburn HP10 OJQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooburn
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A nice enough stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Overall we had a nice stay here. The room was a little on the small side but very clean and the bed comfortable. We booked through booking.com and paid £90. I think that is reasonable but I was glad we hadn't paid the Full rate of £107.50.
The location was pretty good and it was very quiet until the traffic started up early morning, as our room overlooked the road outside. It's not the busiest of roads but if you're a light sleeper you may want to ask for a room at the back.
If anything the service was a little over the top and a bit pushy when asking us to write a review for them but the staff were very helpful.
The food in the bar was pretty good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road at the front if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
25
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Chequers is a lovely, quiet hotel. I had a comfortable night in a quiet room and enjoyed a long walk along the lanes amd woods the next morning. The breakfast was excellent and I was impressed with all the staff I met.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I met some friends at the Chequers for a meal one Friday night. The bar was buzzing upon arrival. We found a table in the bar area and chose from the diverse menu. From Fish and Chips, to Chilli Con Carne, Curry to Sandwiches there's sure to be something for everyone on the menu.
The food arrived piping hot and was delicious. Would recommend and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We popped in with a friend as we were passing through Beaconsfield and wanted to have a break and a quick bite to eat. The Chequers is only 5 mins off the main road between Beaconsfield and High Wycombe and seemed to fit the bill. Service was friendly and the menu diverse. We had a lovely chicken caesar, fishcakes and prawn salad and were very envious of the burgers being served at the next table. Beer garden is lovely and quiet even being sat adjacent to the road and there was plenty of tables and space.

Would happily pop in again when passing as there is much more to try on the menu and the beer range was interesting. Many thanks to The Chequers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Although it was hard to find good shade. Food was fine. The wine was a little disappointing but that was my choice. It's a good quality English country pub. Bit cliquey sometimes. Good place to take visitors

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed one night here after an overnight flight into Heathrow and it was just what we wanted – comfortable and relaxing with good food and nice wine! The room was compact but had everything – hairdryer, tea and coffee including decaff and a better-than-usual packaged biscuit/slice of cake. The shower over the bath was a little problematic – rather slippy and difficult to get the temperature right, but everything was spotlessly clean and the toiletries were good. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious – we just had mains but coffee came with gorgeous petits-fours. We had a drink in the bar afterwards which is cosy and quirky and although inevitably dominated by food, it wasn’t too full so this wasn’t a problem. Breakfast was good too with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast or a full English and they were happy to do variants; the coffee was excellent too. Staff were pleasant and I would definitely recommend it for a short break or stopover.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, Bucks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Restauraut Only.
Maybe it was just a bad day but the experience was not good. The staff were rude, food seriously overpriced ( 6 scampi, 6 calamari rings and 3 prawns for £9.99) and uninspiring to say the least. Even the wine (house admittedly but one would sxpect more) was of a very poor standard.
I hope it was just a bad day as the location is lovely. Won't be taking the risk for a while though....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Kiln Lane | Wooburn Common, Wooburn HP10 OJQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Wooburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely 17th Century family owned coaching inn with a reputation for the exceptional food served in the bar, lounge and restaurant. 17 individual bedrooms all with fantastic new bathrooms. Close to High Wycombe and Beaconsfield in the Chilterns countryside above the river Thames at Cookham. Private room for meetings and private dinners. Barbeque in the gardens in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Beaconsfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.