We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seen from the air, needs better presentation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tilbury Fort

Tilbury Fort
Fort Road, Tilbury RM18 7NR, England
+44 1375 858489
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Tilbury
Type: Military Bases/ Facilities, Parks, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tilbury Fort is possibly the finest example of a bastioned 17th Century artillery fortress in the Britsh Isles. Today visitors can visit the original Guardhouse, Chapel and Gatehouse buildings as well as the huge eighteenth century gunpowder magazines. You can also explore the Victorian underground magazine passages and imagine what life was like for a gunner in the late nineteenth century. There is a free audio guide, museum, exhibition and gift shop. Hot drinks and a range of light refreshments are available in the shop. There is an indoor seating area in the old Guardhouse and picnic tables and benches outside.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
207 attraction reviews
Reviews in 205 cities Reviews in 205 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Best seen from the air, needs better presentation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Firstly, the staff we spoke to here were excellent, as always with English Heritage - enthusiastic and helpful.

The fort looks incredible from the aerial pictures, from the ground it is difficult to get a sense of the place. Each building has signs on it to say what it is but we couldn't see how to cross the wooden bridge to look at the fort from the outside. There is ongoing work so there are vans parked around which, although necessary, does detract from the place.
The exhibitions in the barracks were very good, well laid out and interesting. I'd just like better signage around the place and an exterior walk - most castles are better to look at from the outside than the inside!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Tilbury Fort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks for taking time to leave a review. The point about seeing the fort from above is a good one and the BBC One Show filmed some amazing aerial footage of the fort from a hot air balloon last year (shown this March). Unfortunately access to the wooden bridges hasn't been possible for some time due to their condition but we do unlock the back gate on request for people who want to take photos of the outworks, or who want to look at the Landport Gate etc. This isn't always possible due to staffing levels but we try and accomodate where possible, and have opened it on at least three occasions in the last week or so. The long term aim is to repair/replace the bridges and once again open up this part of the site. We are also currently looking at replacing the current signage and refreshing the interpretation of the site so this should enhance the presentation further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay in Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“not much to see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Not much to see here and there's a charge for entrance. I think children would be bored and I'm guessing its aimed more at people that are into history...obviously!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Tilbury Fort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I'm disappointed that you didn't enjoy your trip to Tilbury Fort. I personally think the entrance fee (£4.60 for adults) represents excellent value for money when compared to similar attractions and that does also include a free audio guide. I'm not sure if you saw everything that is open to the public but there is quite a bit to see including Britain's oldest military fortress chapel, the monumental 17th century Water Gate built for Charles II, the rare early 18th century gunpowder magazines, the Victorian underground magazine passages and the handsome 18th century Officers' barracks. There are also fine views over the river Thames from the elevated gunline. To add to this we have recently been working on opening up another house in the Officers terrace which is set up as a second world war barracks with period fixtures and fittings. This is due to be opened at the weekend.

I have to say that I don't often see bored children at the fort. Usually they are too busy running up and down the grass banks and playing with the adjustable guns, pretending to fire at passing ships or shelling Gravesend across the river. We do offer children a free 'Step Inside' activity booklet and the audio guide is also very appealing to children. I have a three year old daughter who never gets tired of visiting the fort. We are looking at the possibility of introducing some children's dressing up clothing, uniform etc which will hopefully make the visitor experience even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times.. however I have recently been on an over night ghost tour which was very good.. the place certainly comes alive at night.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Across from Gravesend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Where ocean liners used to tie up, Tilbury was a bustling passenger port in the 1960s, the time that I first took the passenger ferry across the river from Gravesend to the north bank. A pleasant walk along the sea wall takes you to Tilbury fort. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Wet and windy Visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A very grey and blustery day brought a brooding atmosphere to the Fort and we two were one of two couples there at 11.00am on a Thursday morning in April. able to take the dog everywhere and with a very good audio tour we were able to regain the knowledge we had lost since our last visit.Flooding stopped us visiting all the Magazine/Battery stores but plenty to see in an unusual Fort on the banks of the Thames.
Very Good!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilbury Fort also viewed

 

Been to Tilbury Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilbury Fort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.