We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ship Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Low Newton by the Sea, Newton by the Sea, Alnwick NE66 3EL, England
01665 576262
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ship Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

As always very very good - even when crowded on a hot summers day. Home brewed beer excellent. Crab sandwiches are classic.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    185
    57
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Keep it a secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Low Newton is beautiful. Apart from the lazy dog owners that you get everywhere, it is completely unspoiled. I really hope it stays that way.

This little pub is just perfect. I've eaten here a couple of years ago and when we visited this holiday, the food looked just as good. We only popped in twice - once for drink and pudding (having had sandwiches on the beach) and once for ice cream. The staff are lovely. The interior is lovely. The plum crumble was gorgeous. The green outside is lovely. Lovely alround.

I only wish that I liked beer because the home brew looks ace. Will be back next time with beer loving husband.

Bet it's a gorgeous place to visit in the winter too after a blustery walk.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My first visit to the Ship Inn this year, and what a great warm day to choose. It meant I could sit outside with my beer and crab stottie. If anything, I think the beer has improved since last year: I bought a few bottles to take home just to verify that. The crab stottie was nearly too big for me, really fresh crab and proper bread, with lots of mixed salad on the side helping me towards my 5 a day. Magnificent views over the beach towards Dunstanburgh Castle just completed my lunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Dog Friendly Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Visited a couple of times recently for both just a drink in the afternoon, and also dinner in the evening. Service very good. Food very fresh and well cooked. Dogs Welcome in all areas of pub.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a fabulous spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A very quaint pub in a beautiful setting, only thing missing was the sun! We visited here when my husband found it brewed it's own beer and he wasn't disappointed. Only had a drink so can't comment on food but I would love to call back maybe in the evening, imagine there are many tales of time at sea told here. This is what makes Britain different and we love it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.