We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Low Newton by the Sea, Low Newton by the Sea NE66 3EL, England
01665 576262
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a fabulous spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A very quaint pub in a beautiful setting, only thing missing was the sun! We visited here when my husband found it brewed it's own beer and he wasn't disappointed. Only had a drink so can't comment on food but I would love to call back maybe in the evening, imagine there are many tales of time at sea told here. This is what makes Britain different and we love it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    133
    42
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent ale, the landlord takes great pride in his beer, rightly so. Four tiptop beers brewed on the premise on tap. Good food, Served quick and with friendly service. Crab sandwiches and Ploughman's lunches with cheese and ham, nice fresh bread. We sat inside which has an great atmosphere being small and comfortable with wooden chairs and plain tables. The perfect English pub.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Love this place and always has great vegetarian options. Lovely location really friendly staff and the micro brewery is not bad. Make sure you per book as always busy

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice pub - good food and drink.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very popular pub - for good reason. Nice local food and drink(even has own micro-brewery). Refurbished recently I think. Excellent bar staff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
1 review
“!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Food was average and good for younger children, however my visit was spoilt by the pub allowing dogs in. The pub was very busy and just before my food arrived a couple sat behind with a dog, who was wet and smelly and then to polish this experience off the dog was sick!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.