We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Low Newton by the Sea, Low Newton by the Sea NE66 3EL, England
01665 576262
Website
Update restaurant details
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Love this place and always has great vegetarian options. Lovely location really friendly staff and the micro brewery is not bad. Make sure you per book as always busy

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    109
    81
    23
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice pub - good food and drink.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very popular pub - for good reason. Nice local food and drink(even has own micro-brewery). Refurbished recently I think. Excellent bar staff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
1 review
“!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Food was average and good for younger children, however my visit was spoilt by the pub allowing dogs in. The pub was very busy and just before my food arrived a couple sat behind with a dog, who was wet and smelly and then to polish this experience off the dog was sick!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Hygeine could do with a woman's touch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Visited a couple of weeks ago. Nice enough pub but the toilets and the tables could do with a good clean. There is obviosly no proper cleaning rota. The area at the back of each toilet is really dirty. Tables are sticky and generally grubby.If these things were attended to it would rate much higher.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Expensive!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I visited The Ship Inn Last week.
We both ordered Kippers and a pint of their Beer.
The Beer was very good. The kippers arrived after 15 minutes. One Kipper each with a slice of bread, nothing else, no Garnish or anything. The Kippers were nice but I think everything is well overpriced
2 Pints of Beer and 2 Kippers cost us £18.60.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.