We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Low Newton by the Sea, Low Newton by the Sea NE66 3EL, England
01665 576262
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Love this place and always has great vegetarian options. Lovely location really friendly staff and the micro brewery is not bad. Make sure you per book as always busy

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    138
    43
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice pub - good food and drink.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very popular pub - for good reason. Nice local food and drink(even has own micro-brewery). Refurbished recently I think. Excellent bar staff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
1 review
“!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Food was average and good for younger children, however my visit was spoilt by the pub allowing dogs in. The pub was very busy and just before my food arrived a couple sat behind with a dog, who was wet and smelly and then to polish this experience off the dog was sick!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hygeine could do with a woman's touch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Visited a couple of weeks ago. Nice enough pub but the toilets and the tables could do with a good clean. There is obviosly no proper cleaning rota. The area at the back of each toilet is really dirty. Tables are sticky and generally grubby.If these things were attended to it would rate much higher.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Expensive!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I visited The Ship Inn Last week.
We both ordered Kippers and a pint of their Beer.
The Beer was very good. The kippers arrived after 15 minutes. One Kipper each with a slice of bread, nothing else, no Garnish or anything. The Kippers were nice but I think everything is well overpriced
2 Pints of Beer and 2 Kippers cost us £18.60.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.