We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Low Newton by the Sea, Low Newton by the Sea NE66 3EL, England
01665 576262
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Alnwick
1 review
“!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Food was average and good for younger children, however my visit was spoilt by the pub allowing dogs in. The pub was very busy and just before my food arrived a couple sat behind with a dog, who was wet and smelly and then to polish this experience off the dog was sick!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    161
    47
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hygeine could do with a woman's touch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Visited a couple of weeks ago. Nice enough pub but the toilets and the tables could do with a good clean. There is obviosly no proper cleaning rota. The area at the back of each toilet is really dirty. Tables are sticky and generally grubby.If these things were attended to it would rate much higher.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Expensive!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My Wife and I visited The Ship Inn Last week.
We both ordered Kippers and a pint of their Beer.
The Beer was very good. The kippers arrived after 15 minutes. One Kipper each with a slice of bread, nothing else, no Garnish or anything. The Kippers were nice but I think everything is well overpriced
2 Pints of Beer and 2 Kippers cost us £18.60.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent beer, mediocre food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Delightful location. Beer brewed on the premises is excellent. When we ate there, however, we found the food to be rather disappointing - the soup and the main course both arrived at the same time but the soup had to be sent back as it was absolutely stone cold. The pub gets busy, particularly on Sunday lunchtime, with the result that a long queue firms out if the door which can become quite intrusive if you are seated at one of the tables in the main bar. On a cold day it can get quite chilly with the door often being propped open by queuing customers.

So, overall great for a beer when the pub is quieter, but we wouldn't eat there again. Fantastic folk music session once a month with some great players and friendly people.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What's not to like, traditional feel, micro brewery, great food, excellent location at end of a beautiful beach

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.