We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hygeine could do with a woman's touch!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Low Newton by the Sea, Low Newton by the Sea NE66 3EL, England
01665 576262
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Hygeine could do with a woman's touch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Visited a couple of weeks ago. Nice enough pub but the toilets and the tables could do with a good clean. There is obviosly no proper cleaning rota. The area at the back of each toilet is really dirty. Tables are sticky and generally grubby.If these things were attended to it would rate much higher.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    120
    38
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Expensive!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I visited The Ship Inn Last week.
We both ordered Kippers and a pint of their Beer.
The Beer was very good. The kippers arrived after 15 minutes. One Kipper each with a slice of bread, nothing else, no Garnish or anything. The Kippers were nice but I think everything is well overpriced
2 Pints of Beer and 2 Kippers cost us £18.60.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent beer, mediocre food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Delightful location. Beer brewed on the premises is excellent. When we ate there, however, we found the food to be rather disappointing - the soup and the main course both arrived at the same time but the soup had to be sent back as it was absolutely stone cold. The pub gets busy, particularly on Sunday lunchtime, with the result that a long queue firms out if the door which can become quite intrusive if you are seated at one of the tables in the main bar. On a cold day it can get quite chilly with the door often being propped open by queuing customers.

So, overall great for a beer when the pub is quieter, but we wouldn't eat there again. Fantastic folk music session once a month with some great players and friendly people.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What's not to like, traditional feel, micro brewery, great food, excellent location at end of a beautiful beach

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly kippers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were on our way to Bamburgh and Holy Island and stopped off at The Ship Inn at Low Newton-by-the-sea for lunch. What a good move! This pub brews its own ales and they are so delicious we bought a couple of bottles to take away with us. And the kippers were to die for, I have never tasted any so good. And the apple crumble was delicious too. Staff were friendly and the service quick and efficient. The only problem was they had run out of crab sandwiches at2pm on a Sunday - hardly a sin..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.