We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bland tired hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Romsey Road, Chilworth SO16 7PT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Very bland tired hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

We went to a friends wedding reception here and decided to make a night of it and stay on the night.

For something sounding as grand as Chilworth Manor what you imagine is not what you get,The outside looks impresive and grand but inside the bedrooms would not look out of place at a service station motel and you seemed to walk forever and needed a map to get to them,the lobby/bar has a very limited seating area and is very bland and once again very tired looking and has seen better days,the lift reminds me of an old warehouse lift that clatters its way up and down and is about as clean as a warehouse lift.

The buffet style breakfast is just something out of a greasy spoon cafe cheap and nasty,its a scrum off people crammed in to a room fighting their way through to get a share of dryed up sausages,toast (which was really warm bread) under cooked bacon,squash (not fruit juice) and tea and coffee with the staff who could not understand you with their broken English and you had to keep reminding them.

From what i made of the hotel they dont try because they dont have to and maybe just live an old and very dated reputation that will not last forever........

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms,Staff,Breakfast,Bar prices
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    242
    149
    83
    32
See reviews for
107
331
27
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

Stayed for the weekend in this wonderful Manor house. Food was excellent and the staff very accommodating but due to there being functions on there was not sufficient seating in the lounge.Yet no seating at all is provided around the gallery area on the 1st floor. This seems such a shame as it would be the perfect place to sit and relax.

  • Liked — Very clean and all amenities
  • Disliked — Slightly in need of re-vamp
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2006

Well it all depends on your point of view.....I stay here twice a year when I work in Southampton (easy access but in the country). The grounds are lovely (I don't recognise the wild and unkempt bit in the previous reviews!!). In Spring the rhodendrons are great. Now, it is a hotel that survives on the business trade, so you get conferences and people like me. But as a lone woman business traveller, it is great. The old house is lovely and last year the magnificent Christmas tree in Nov was fab! When my son came with me, they put him up on an extra bed easily and he liked it too. The bar is in the atrium and fine (I never buy champers). The staff in the restaurant are great, and the food very good indeed. The bedrooms are in a newer wing and like all hotels they vary, but I have never had anything that was not clean and comfortable.

It's not the hotel for a magical romantic weekend break maybe. If you need access to Southampton, it's great. so stop moaning people!

  • Liked — The situation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

Chilworth Manor is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. It has a warm welcoming atmosphere, good food, friendly staff and splendid well appointed rooms, I enjoyed views from my room of well tended gardens. There was a wedding taking place while I was there - you could only tell because people were wearing buttonholes! I wonder could there be two Chilworth Manors as my experience of the hotel differs so much from reviews previously posted! I have to save hard from a very tight budget to be able to take weekends breaks and I rarely go back to a hotel unless it is first class. I will definitely stay at Chilworth Manor again.

  • Liked — room size/cleanliness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — not much to do in the area
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

My friend and I have just spent the most relaxing weekend at Chilworth Manor Hotel. Warm welcome, superb service and hospitable staff ( and very approachable) Everything about this place was wonderful.
When I think we almost didn't go because we had read reviews on Trip Advisor which weren't so good. People talked of damp rooms and not so friendly staff. This only goes to show that you must try things out for yourself as this certainly wasn't our experience. We will definately be booking again.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

The only good thing about this hotel is its website. It flatters itself and misrepresents in every way. We stayed one night. The building may once have been a grand house, but now it is in need of a complete facelift. The carpets are threadbare, there is a lingering smell of damp and beer, the bedroom heating is an electric wall heater, the carpets are threadbare, the rooms are very small and the double bed was about the size of a large single bed. I asked for a glass of champagne at the bar and was told that you can't buy a glass of champagne. The place is faded and past its sell by date. It is also extraordinarily expensive for what it is - it cost us £216 for one night with an indifferent dinner. You would get much better all round at a Travel Lodge for less than half the price. The grounds are wild and I suspect that no gardener has been eomployed for years. So beware, don't go there until they do what they should do and shut it for several months while they spend huge sums of money bringing it up to modern standards. When I mentioned my views as I paid my comments were greeted with a shrug. I believe it survives on conferences. It is truly appalling.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Address: Romsey Road, Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though were close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.