We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Surroundings,interesting building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Romsey Road, Chilworth SO16 7PT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
LEEDS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Surroundings,interesting building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We chose this hotel to have a relaxing break whilst visiting our son at University,The grounds are amazing.A young deer watched our approach on the tree lined drive to the hotel.The reception area leads into a splendid Edwardian high ceilinged hallway, our room was large but dated.. with garden views and a window seat.Walking through the hotel you reach an impressive terrace with sweeping views through to an 'ecology/wildlife area with a pond,woodland,deer,wild flowers etc.Breakffast was very good,the staff helpful, the wifi a bit hit and miss..but we'll definitely stay again especially when it's good weather and full advantage can be taken of the garden and it's surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Wodey24,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the time to explore and enjoy our extensive grounds and the conservation land beyond.

The University is only a few miles from the Hotel; an interesting fact about Chilworth Manor is it used to be owned by the University and was actually used as a Halls of Residence for sometime.

We hope you will stay with us again when visiting your son.

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    220
    135
    75
    30
See reviews for
100
304
25
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013


Having stayed for one night on a business seminar at this hotel both myself and my colleagues thoroughly enjoyed our experience and stay. We had a conference/meeting room for two days which included lunch and dinner and of course the double room. Rooms were cosy and spacious with en suite. all what you would expect from a best western. The grounds and general feel of the place were quite grand and well looked after. The menu choice was limited but the food was on the whole tasty and well presented. That said, lunch service could have been hotter but by nature of the 'canteen' type service you'll never get piping hot food. During both days, pastries and biscuits were provided with steaming hot coffee and other refreshments. The only down point was the water provided in the meeting room. We found this to be tap water being passed off as mineral water in 'nice' bottles. It's these kind of details which can be disappointing.
On the whole the venue suited the purpose and I would recommend this hotel for business and pleasure, including a lovely place for weddings and christenings bearing in mind the great photo potential and in some cases 'wow' factor the building and gardens have in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear SunChaser75,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent business and meeting trip to the Hotel.

I was really pleased to learn that you had a successful meeting at the Hotel and your group of colleagues were well catered for.

The water we serve in meeting rooms goes threw a purification system, the supplier of the system is AquAid, and we teamed up with them almost five years ago. One of the reasons we chose to work with AquAid because of their charity work, they support Christian Aid, Pump Aid and the African Trust. Delegates can order mineral water in their meeting rooms, but there is an additional cost for that.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor soon.

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I spent the weekend at the hotel with my partner. Its a beautiful looking hotel on approach with a lovely driveway. Check in was quick. Our room was spotlessly clean, also it was light and airy and of a reasonable size. There were weddings being celebrated whilst we were there but it didnt disturb our sleep at all. The bar area is beautiful with a gallery landing around the top of the room. I enjoyed lounging on the sofa on the Friday night with a glass of white wine. All in all we had a lovely time, the staff were excellent and helpful and I returned to work Monday morning fully relaxed. We also went for a meal at the pub just along the road..I think its the Chilworth Arms. Its walking distance very close to the hotel and does great food and gets busy on a Friday evening. Thanks Karen x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Karenlee71,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent weekend break at the Hotel.

I am delighted to read that we were able to meet all your expectations and you enjoyed a relaxing and stress free break in beautiful surroundings with your partner.

We hope to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor soon.

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent 4 nights midweek at the hotel,check in was very quick and the staff friendly. We had room number 315 in the newer part of building. Overall the room was clean and a reasonable size. Although the room was clean there were some stains on the carpet which needed removing. The tap in the bathroom splashed water onto the worktop (a tap with a longer nozel would cure the problem) We had dinner on the first evening which was very enjoyable and again the staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast - Buffet style was a little disappointing,although there was a good choice some items could have been warmer.On 3 out of the 4 mornings we had to wait for a table to be set as the tables had not been cleared as soon as previous guests had finished. During the week breakfast is served until 9.30,make sure you are there by then, because the staff clear all the hot food away dead on time.All the waiting staff then disappear,I assume to have their breakfast. The bar area was an impressive area but choice of beers limited.The hotel setting and grounds were very nice. Although everything was not perfect we woud consider staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Lance - 4,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent break with us.

I am pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay and will consider staying with us again in the future.

I note your comments about your bedroom being clean but there is a stain on the carpet, I will investigate this and take the appropriate action.

Also thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast offer, I will ensure that the team are doing their best to relay tables as quickly as possible and will offer them any support they require,

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the near future.

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights it this Hotel and enjoyed a relaxing time. The rooms vary in size and ours was quite a reasonable size, overlooking the garden with a well filled tea/coffee tray It was clean and so was the Bathroom with fixed on the wall shower gel. However, this was out third visit and we found it a little bit disappointing. Both my husband and I are hard of hearing and usually - after removing our hearing aids we can sleep through any noise -- but not here - at about 11pm one of the parties obviously turned up the music and the constant "thump-thump" of the beat nearly drove us to distraction for about an hour. The breakfast was very nice and the staff really helpful. The choice of the dinner menu was the same for both nights and didn't really inspire us , but we both found something to order only to think - for the prices charged - the portions were very small. We will probably find somewhere different for our next short break but I want to repeat, that the Staff are really helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Away from any weekend parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear 22oap,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again, and your positive comments regarding our helpful and friendly team.

I am pleased overall that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay, however obviously disappointed that you felt we were not quite as good as your previous visits.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the near future.

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marple, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just spent three nights at this charming hotel. We had an excellent check in. Receptioist informed us there would be several weddings over the weekend and had allocated us a quiet room. We were happy with our room and slept well. No noise from weddings whatsoever.
Breakfast was very good. We were pleased to see Black Pudding on the Buffet as we didnt think the southerners liked this! The food was piping hot and of good quality. Plenty of staff working hard to ensure we had everything we needed.Nothing was too much trouble. You could see it was a well run restaurant.
The vast gardens are beautiful and well maintained but the very best bit for us was the CHILD FREE spa. It was a joy to swim in peace and then sit in the jacccuzzi without the presence of other peoples kids. Its very rare to get this in an hotel but so appreciated. The facilties were top class. We hope to return later in the year. One minor niggle. Our sat nav(And other peoples) took us off the main road to an entrance which is now closed. A sign on the gate with directions would have helped. There were three cars trying to find the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear ampletum,

Thank your for your kind and informative review of your recent stay with us.

It is very important that guests not attending an event at the Hotel are not disturbed during their stay and I am glad the team looked after you so well.

We have always had Black Pudding on our breakfast menu, where it shall remain. It has always been a popular item on our menu.

I was thrilled with your comments relating to our ‘Top Class’ Health Club, we really do appreciate your comments; thank you.

With regards to sat navs, we have updated all the main suppliers to try and combat this issue, for the majority it isn’t an issue but we are aware it has been for a few. On our website we recommend you input the street which is University Parkway.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the near future.

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohappydays
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived at the Manor late Friday night. A wedding party was in full flow. The reception checked us in speedily and gave directions to our room (321) She mentioned that the Hotel was having wedding functions over the weekend and that we have been placed away from the partying. She was correct. The room was the furthest away at the far end of the building ( in the newer part of the building) and therefore we were not disturbed any noise.
The room felt a little small to start with but we got use to it and anyway, its not as if you spend much time in the room anyway. It was clean, however we felt the bathroom was very small and a little dated, but again, functional. We were a little upset that the maid failed to clean our room and we had to make a call to reception to get this rectified.
We made use of the bar in the grand hall. It has a cosy feel to it and the bar staff are friendly and happy to advise on drinks. It caters more for Gin drinkers with a very wide range available.
The Pool is attached away from the building and is a very little walk away (1 minute at the most). It is clean and has a few lounges and chairs around the pool edge. Tea, coffee and drinks are available to take with you to the area. It has a hot tub, steam and sauna room.
The breakfast in the mornings have a wide range on the menu and buffet style.
Must say that everyone was very friendly and welcoming.
Will visit again if in the area.

Room Tip: if wishing to stay away from the partys then you will need to book into the newer part of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilworthManor, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear ohappydays,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for offering feedback on your recent stay. I am glad you were well catered for during your stay and were not affected by any function noise in your bedroom.

Thank you for commenting on the high standards of cleanliness within the Hotel and Health Club. I will speak to our Head Housekeeper regarding the servicing of your bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor again in the near future.

Stephen Marriott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor

Address: Romsey Road, Chilworth SO16 7PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Chilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor Hotel lies just 4 miles from Southampton, amongst 12 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Right next door to a conservation area, this wonderful retreat is worlds away, but not far away, from the city centre. An Edwardian Manor house, the hotel is an ideal place to get away from it all and is particularly peaceful for romantic breaks! Though were close to Southampton city centre and port, and the transport links that take you there, we think you'll find more than enough to keep you occupied here at the hotel. Why not work out in our state-of-the-art leisure facilities, or treat yourself to some quality time in our spa?****FREE WIFI ***** FREE CAR PARKING ***** FREE USE OF HEALTH CLUB***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton
Chilworth Manor Southampton
Chilworth Manor Hotel Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.