We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anaversry meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puccini's

Puccini's
171-174 Chorley Road, Swinton, Salford M27 4AE, England
0161 794 1847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Swinton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Anaversry meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I had a very good meal as always when we come here.the service was good and not pushy . Will be going again in the future

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    61
    22
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We got recommended to go here by family, I booked a table 2 weeks prior to going on Sun 9th Feb. We arrived told the staff we had a booked a table, to be told they could not find anything in my name, but has it was not over packed we got a table. on sitting at our table my husband went to the toilet so I mentioned to the waiter it was his birthday & would it be possible to do something for him, like a birthday drink or something coming over the microphone for him. As the night passed I asked somebody else what was happening, explained what I would like to have been done, but he said he didn't know nothing about it, didn't even go & ask anybody, pretty disappointing. I know the waiters/ waitresses ask if everything is ok, but they kept coming up every 2 mins, we didn't seem to get anytime to eat or chat with each other. The food seemed a little overpriced for the amount what you seemed to get. As we where leaving the boss, I presume to be the boss asked if we had enjoyed our night, I am sorry we had to say no, we gave him our concerns & said he would speak to the people involved, whether he did or not we don't know. we wont be going back to this overpriced restaurant, Felicinis at Monton any day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went here on a Sunday night for my partners birthday, all I can say is amazing. The service was the best service I have experienced. It was only our first time but we felt like locals, our waiter was hilarious and had us all in stitches, he introduced us to the owner. We mentioned that we were celebrating a birthday, the put happy birthday on over the speakers and all the staff came and sung happy birthday with a profiterole and a candle.
There was not one complaint about the food from our party of six. We all had starters mains and desert.
We will definitely be going back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester .UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“fantastic o”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

our family and friends go to puccini,s when ever we are in the area, its always top class, in fact it has to be, as lots of the local football teams are always in having a meal Its a family place, and most of the staff are relations,of the owner.
so you get well looked after, food is always excellent, not cheap, but not too expensive, and excellent value for money. Good drinks, wines, beers, spirits on the menu. , and again excellent service, I,ve seen a couple of poor reviews, they must be from other eating places, as Puccini, s is always busy, and Michael and staff are always on hand to look after you,as if you were a vip. some other new places opened up, but not a patch on this place,although, leo,s , danniel,es are good other places to try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Manchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Had dinner the other evening with family.The warm welcome from the owner and staff was genuine. The restaurant is well laid out and has a nice feel. My eight year old grandson was fussed over and felt like a real VIP. Starters of Parma ham and garlic bread to share were delicious. The main courses of dover sole (one of the best I have ever tasted) chicken, pizza's and pasta were all exemplary and shows a kitchen that is confident and knows exactly what it is doing. Wines were chosen by the owner and were spot on and compared to London an absolute bargain.

A few reviews have been unfair in my view. Yes it gets its fair share of footballers and celebrities (even the prime minister and chancellor dined here recently). But Puccinis is about the food that is why it is busy even on a midweek night. Given its location in a Swinton shopping centre 15 minute drive out of the city centre it has to be doing something right and that is great service and food.

If you are staying in Manchester hop in a cab and give it a try you will be glad you did!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini's also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Worsley, Salford
 

Been to Puccini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puccini's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.