We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puccini's

Puccini's
171-174 Chorley Rd, Swinton, Salford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 restaurants in Swinton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
bluebird81
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely birthday meal. Food excellent, service great (maybe a little too attentive though) and great atmosphere. We had a fantastic time. My only slight criticism is that the walk to the toilets is a little tight due to the number of tables squashed in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    164
    45
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great Italian.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A great family night out at this restaurant, the staff where very attentive and the food was fantastic. I went for the specials menu for my main which was dover sole but they had none left and it was only 6-30pm so I had the lemon sole instead which was lovely and went towards making up my disappointment over the dover sole. All the other members of my family were also very pleased with there food. The staff are very warm and welcoming and couldn't of performed there task any better.
My only niggle with this restaurant was there are to many tables, getting to the toilets was impossible without disturbing other diners and we where constantly getting disturbed by staff getting customers coats which where hung next to our table, my brother who comes to this restaurant quiet often said extra tables add been added since there last visit, I suggest they remove them which would make this place perfect. Parking can also be a problem but that isn't the restaurants fault, if you do go you can park opposite in the town hall car park which you can use in the evenings even though it doesn't say so. I would definitely recommend this restaurant but you need to check where your been seated.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My son recommended this restaurant and I was apprehensive on arrival, as the location was not what I was expecting, hidden in a shopping precinct!!
However I should not have worried as soon as we opened the door, we were greeted like royalty the staff from management to college staff were all attentive and professional creating a perfect ambiance.
Good selection of all your typical Italian favorites and a extensive specials menu.
Whilst I found it a little on the expensive side you get what you pay for and I have no complaints about any of the dishes we had, especially my starter of Minestrone soup which was one of the best I have eaten (believe me I've eaten a lot) Everything was cooked fresh and met our expectations.
A nice touch at the end of the meal, not wanting deserts or coffee we were presented with a beautiful plate of fresh fruit to share.
All in all a perfect Sunday evening in a popular (busy) Italian restaurant.
One which will be repeated often in the future.
Thank You Puccinis you should be proud of your staff and the memories you create.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Greater Manchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We heard about Puccini's earlier this year and have been half a dozen times since

The welcome is friendly - the service is attentive but not intrusive and the food is beautifully cooked and presented

Don't be put off by reviews commenting on the location. Puccini's would be great wherever it was.

Go !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife daughter and myself totally enjoyed our meal out the staff are so friendly and the food is amazing a big THANKYOU for a lovely night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini's also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Puccini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puccini's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.