We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Italian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puccini's

Puccini's
171-174 Chorley Road, Swinton, Salford M27 4AE, England
0161 794 1847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Swinton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Huddersfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favourite Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The food is always great here and the service is brilliant. Everything is always really fresh and the wine list has loads of good options. The restaurant has a friendly atmosphere and the service is always perfect.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    51
    19
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Not relevant
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Trading on former glories”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A few years ago Puccini's was THE place to eat and frequented by stars including David Beckham. Prices have always been steep, but the level of service and quality of food were worth paying for. Try getting a table on a Saturday night without giving a week's notice, impossible! Not now ...

I have eaten at Puccini's so many times over the years, but my last 3 visits have been nightmares. In an age of recession when they could be tempting people in with discounts, Puccini's prices have risen. Not always a bad thing, but ten quid for four pieces of ravioli? Come on ...

The warmth and genuine friendliness of the staff has been replaced by arrogance and arguments. They used to greet customers with a handshake and a smile and say goodbye at the end of the visit as if they were saying goodbye to family. On my last visit my party and I walked out of the restaurant without so much as a "ciao".

So to my last 3 visits:

1) Undercooked meatballs starter, that I only noticed half way through. I complained to the waiter, he said they were cooked. They weren't, as I found out shortly after I got home. Main course of risotto that was nothing more than mush, again complained to the waiter, he tasted it and said it is supposed to be like that. It had been overcooked by about an hour!

2) Head waiter spilled wine down my mother in law's back, not just a little bit, but a lot. There was a terse apology, but no offer of a free drink, or some other recompense. When I enquired what he would do for her he snapped "Sir, I have apologised!"

3) We were served by the most horrible waitress who if the saying "you are what you eat" is true must have eaten a proper sour faced old witch. Not a single smile from her all night, main courses not served together, we had to remind her that we should have vegetables with the main course and she kept us waiting another ten minutes. A horrible experience.

The question is, do I give them one more chance? Or do I accept that this once great giant of a restaurant is now trading on former glories?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“really good..................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

really good food, excellent service and courtesy, the owner and a great sympathy and kindness, we will gladly return

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore living in Shanghai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We saw the review and was recommended as one of the italian place a tourist must go. So we tried it on July 15 for dinner of 4. We arrived around 6.20 pm and within miniutes the places were filled. The tables were a little bit cramp but the services were good and friendly. Environment is a little bit noisy, but they make you feel at home.

I ordered my usual special italian dish (not on the menu - lobster lingunie with tomato). They were very well done. The taste is excellent. You should try their desert as well. I would recommend the terimitsu - excellent as well. We are going to go back again before we leave Manchester. Thank you. Tourist from Singapore.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Loved the food, but very very busy place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We went to Puccini's after reading all the great reviews about it.

We went early on a Saturday (6.30pm) and it was very busy even early, so book in advance.

I thought the food was brilliant (Had the lobster linguine & Steak Al Pepe) and so did my partner but we couldnt help but feel we were been rushed. Also all of the tables are close together, which felt a bit like you couldnt have a private conversation.

No real complaints about the staff, we were greeted by the owner on the way in and also he thanked us when we were leaving for our visit.

Value wise £80.00 for two including desert and drinks so i thought it was good value for money and would eat here again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini's also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Puccini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puccini's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.