We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good lunchtime deals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Windsor Castle

Ye Olde Windsor Castle
Portsmouth Road, Great Bookham Gu23 6ez, England
+44 1483 224360
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good lunchtime deals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I went to the Windsor with my family and all enjoyed good meals and good service. The lunchtime menu is good value and so to be recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    17
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have never felt compelled to come straight home from a meal and submit a review until I ate dinner in the Windsor castle this evening. Bad service would be an understatement. We waited more than half an hour for each course. We were brought plates that where not what we ordered and worst of all we were ignored all night by the staff, including the "supervisor" who had no interest in appeasing us after explaining our issues. Stay away at all costs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Windsor Castle, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear pnmar5h

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Ye Olde Windsor Castle with regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Misleading Lunch Menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I had occasion to go to the Windsor Castle today with my Brother.
I had to go and find the menu myself and picked up the lunchtime special one.
With that in my hand we both ordered the 6oz rump steak and a portion of pate for starter.
When we went to pay we were presented with a bill for nearly £27 instead of £15.
It was pointed out that it actually said 6oz rump steak burger so we had been given rump steak off of the main menu, partly our fault I except but we had to pay £5 for the pate instead of £3 as we hadn't ordered a main meal off of the special menu.
That said the steak was quite nice apart from the fact that we were given each other's by mistake and the pate came with such a small portion of butter it would hardly touch the two doorsteps of bread.
Fortunately the lady took nearly fifteen minutes and still hadn't returned to take our order for a sweet so we didn't bother.
One thing I would like to know is why did she return with the lunchtime special menu when we would of not been eligible for the reduced rate sweets?

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Olde Windsor Castle, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Tony G

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Ye Olde Windsor Castle in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A reasonable pub meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

A spur of the moment visit, but a pleasant and hot meal within a good atmosphere (though not a busy evening, can imagine it could become hectic). Staff are polite and approachable. The quality of food was reasonable and there was not a long wait for food. The menu is a good variety with numerous choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hygiene poor and food poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I visited an old friend in Bookham and decided to visit here as it looked lovely outside. I ordered a lemonade but the bar tender served a scratched glass with lipstick marks. I asked for fresh drink with a clean glass but i could not tell if the glass was clean as this was also scratched and old. I tasted the drink but the tap lemonade was also flat.
I then ordered a Cheese and Ale Chutney sandwich. The manager (lady) served a plate with a large sandwich and asked if we require sauce. (No knives or forkes, no salt and pepper and no napkins were offered). I opened the sandwich which was full of chutney with a pinch of grated cheap cheese in it. The manager came back and i asked if she could take some of the chutney out and put a normal amount of cheese in it . She apologised and she brought it back packed with cheese but still the same amount of chutney! I took four five bites after scraping out the chutney and after getting a mouth full of butter i left it. My friends words were " i never come here as it is always bad food". Never again!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Windsor Castle also viewed

Great Bookham, Surrey
Leatherhead, Surrey
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to Ye Olde Windsor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Windsor Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.