We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere, but worth staying,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1 Exposition Drive, Trincity, Trinidad   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trincity
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere, but worth staying,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Chose this hotel after having horrible experience at another hotel nearby. It's 5 min drive from the hotel, and the highway access made it easy for us to drive to back & forth to POS or chaguaramas. The hotel is located in the middle of this large property with nothing else around it, but that's the only bad I can say about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    64
    52
    20
    5
See reviews for
28
48
25
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Situated a bump 10 minute drive from the airport; this property occupies an area that is adjacent to a 4 lane highway on one side and the Youth Prison and main Royal Prison on the other sides.

As the inmates of those facilities will attest; there is no escape. Fortunately, if you are considering a stay at this Holiday Inn Express, you, unlike the inmates have a choice of much better accommodations. Either the Hyatt, Courtyard Marriott, or Crowne Plaza - in town.

Granted it is a drive, so, plan accordingly; however, if you decide that this airport property is for you - be aware of the following.

Shoddy accomodations, stained carpets, foam pillows, air conditioning that is so loud, you will need earplugs Bathroom fixtures are dated and falling off the walls. Associates who really don't care about guests. Free shuttle service - good luck with surviving that. You'll wait about 25 minutes at the airport, call the hotel and get the 'he's on his way'. Shuttle van has no shocks and driver, in our case drove at excessive speeds - for no reason.

Want some food - unlike the inmates who you can see from your windows, and who receive three hots and a cot, you'll have to endure a van ride to find anything resembling a restaurant.

Takeout - forget it. Breakfast - if you're preference is for High Fructose Corn Syrup and apples - this is your place. Otherwise, save your money, go for one of the earlier mentioned hotels and just get up earlier if you have to catch a flight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear PBRD,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor service from our staff and housekeeping as well as the poor breakfast selection. We will look into this and assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trincity hotels

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here on my last night in Trinidad and chose this hotel for its nearby location to the airport. . Its located about a 5-7 min drive away from the airport , but a fair distance from the action in POS.
Hotel staff were friendly, the room was large with good amenities, a flat screen TV and a large comfortable bed. WiFi is also available and theres also a decent sized pool onsite.
There's no restaurant on site but theres a free shuttle which is available to take you to either the restaurant, golf course or shopping mall and will drop you back to the hotel at your convenience. I opted to order room service- over an hour later I was contacted and told the delivery driver had had car problems and was delayed. He arrived shortly after and was given the food free of charge due to the excessive wait so no issue with that .
All up it was a nice place to stay and good if your stopping over for a night . Rooms were quite expensive however and if your looking for some action at night it'd be worth looking elsewhere closer to the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at this property for 4 days the staff where excellent and friendly.. The breakfast was just fine.. The room was in good condition with a comfortable bed and had been recently refurbished. The cleaning staff keep the place looking good.. All the staff where friendly and always helpful as I found everyone I spoke to in Trinidad... Unlike some places in the world this place is still tourist and visitor friendly.. Meals are at a near by golf course that has a free shuttle service again an excellent experience with great food.. It is near the airport so a little away for the action..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel isn't bad but isn't the best Holiday Inn Express I have stayed in. I have stayed in great ones, but this lacks a few friendly touches.
It is clean and the reception staff are friendly, but where it has problems is with the breakfast and some of the maid service.
- The breakfast is basic and not always ready at 6am when it opens. They seem to be constantly out of the pastries and many mornings there aren't any even 30 minutes after openining. The only alternative is bread. This is a small thing but when there are limited choices it is important to get these out for the guests and topped up when running low.
- The maid service is hit or miss. There have been many days where the bath mats and towels were not replaced, but there were always extras so no big deal. I was bothered one morning at 8am being asked for just my towels - there was no 'I'm sorry for being so early' just a smile and the word 'towels' uttered several times. 8am ??? really?
- there is no restaurant and you can't walk anywhere as it is too far. They rely on room service being deliverd from a restaurant called Muscvado which is overpriced and very average food. It can often take 45 min to an hour to be delivered and your order isn't always right but the thought of waiting another 45 minutes for it to be corrected wasn't worth arguing over.

The staff are very friendly though. Despite the small issues I would stay here again if I was in the area. I liked the pool and the gym facilities as well as the internet service (although a bit slow).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel is near the airport so is a good location to layover when travelling between islands as I did. The rooms are a little tired and need upgrading/painting. The bathroom badly needed grouting and the bathtub dripped terribly (yes, I did report it). Quite disconcertingly, I placed a washcloth in the tub to stop the noise of the drip and in the morning noted that the white cloth was now brown from sediment from the tub water! Filters can't be running too well I think.
The hotel has no restaurant for kunch or dinner. The shuttle will take you to a local golf club or a shopping mal for food court food. I opted for the golf course and I wa dropped off and picked up with no problem. The food was good and very inexpensive. Burger, fries and 3 Carib beers was $USD15 with tip. Not bad for the Caribbean.

Will I stay there agin? Yes, as a business traveller it had what I needed....free wifi, good shuttle and a comfortable bed. Price, though high, was in scope for the Caribbean.

Room Tip: No probelsm with any of the rooms as there is no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The staff members at this hotel are very polite, considerate and understanding. Check in was quick and efficient. You were told what to expect (breakfast) and what not to expect (lunch and dinner). The breakfast was varied and satisfying. I must commend the shuttle drivers. It was a pleasure being transported to and from the Mall.in a timely and efficient manner.Housekeeping was great. What struck me most was the seemingly good relationship among the workers. Their seemed to be great camraderie which did not diminish the professionalism.
I would certainly recommed this hotel to other business travellers and family members.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport

Address: No. 1 Exposition Drive, Trincity, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Trincity
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trincity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Trincity, Trinidad. We are pleased to offer you a 100% non-smoking Hotel.This attractive, recently built hotel is conveniently located 3 minutes from the Piarco International Airport, just 30 minutes from the capital city Port of Spain. We offer a complimentary shuttle service which runs from 4.00 a.m. to 12 midnight. Situated within a growing urban development with an 18 hole PGA Championship Golf Course, Premier Shopping Mall and Multiplex Cinema, this property features 82 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites and is ideal for business or pleasure. The hotel offers a complimentary Express Start breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an outdoor swimming pool, facility, fitness center, business center and free high speed Internet access throughout the hotel! Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Trincity, Trinidad and experience this new hotel with exceptional views and outstanding service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport Hotel Trincity
Holiday Inn Trincity
Holiday Inn Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport Trinidad And Tobago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Trincity Trinidad Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.