We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The REAL Nicaragua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Somoto

Hacienda Somoto
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Somoto
Save
You added Hacienda Somoto to your Saves list
Carretera Panamericana kilometro 229, Somoto, Nicaragua   |  
Ranked #3 of 6 Somoto B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The REAL Nicaragua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you are prepared to rough it for a few nights, I would highly recommend staying with this family if you plan to visit Somoto. Though the bedrooms, shower block and outside toilet leave a lot to be desired, the wonderful family more than makes up for the poor living conditions. A typical Nicaraguan family; mum and dad, six sons, three daughters, aged between 23-37, all living under one roof bar two who have left home to live in Somoto town centre 13km away. Our children, aged 8 and 10, were given so much attention and the whole family loved sitting and chatting to us all, even with our limited Spanish. All the animals, including two of the most adorable puppies ever seen, kept my children entertained for hours. We stayed for two nights and on the day in the middle two of the sons took us on an amazing trip into the canyon which is only a few km from their front door. It was one of the best things we have done in Central America. We walked, swam, body-surfed down rapids and jumped off high rocks into the deep canyon below. The boys made it so much fun with their light-hearted manner and even though it was a tough five hours, their professionalism didn't falter for a second. I would highly recommend staying with this wonderful family if you are travelling in Nicaragua. A unique opportunity to meet the real people in this beautiful and friendly country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My partner and myself came to Somoto not expecting much. We'd heard of the canyon by the same name and we were heading in this direction anyways (on the way to El Salvador) so we planned on checking it out. We asked the front desk at Hotel Colonial about a guide for the canyon and they introduced us to "Johnny", who ended up being our guide for the canyon and who also introduced us to his family at Hacienda Somoto. We were originally planning on just passing through Somoto after a day and a night, but after taking the tour, meeting the family, and eating a meal, we ended up staying for another 4 days.

I can't say enough about this total experience~

The extra experience you get by taking the guide is absolutely worth every cent. Normally we like to save our $$$ and find our own way but in this case, you get a chance at seeing the best of the canyon with the guys who grew up there.

The Rivas family were great to be around! Very sincere, very honest, friendly, and accommodating. If you want to learn spanish, even better! They are happy to teach and even better than that, they're articulate, speak super clearly, and as slow as you need to understand.
The food here is definitely worth mentioning. Great cooks! If you ask nicely, they'll teach you how to make tortillas.

This was an over all Nicaraguan cultural experience that tops my Nicaragua favorites list and is in the top five for all Central America.

*muchas gracias de la familia Rivas, para lo todo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Trip Advisor indicated that this place wasn't available for the nights we wanted to stay (don't know how this works but it wasn't accurate) but we got to experience a little of it anyway. Our 'hotel' in town booked tours of the canyon and ultimately it was with Maudiel from Hacienda Somoto. And we were joined by a great young gal from Canada that was staying here. Our 5 hour trip through the canyon lasted at least 6+ because we were having so much fun. And when we got back to the hacienda, there was a fine hot meal prepared. So I can attest to a great place to get a guide to the canyon (and you really do need one to see the best of it) and for a place for great food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The most fun and beautiful thing I saw in the whole country! Loved it. Brilliant guide who will show you everything you want to see including where the best (and safe) jumps are. Delicious food. Nowhere near a town (unfortunately right next to a major road though). Clean rooms. You won't sleep in (donkeys and many other farm animals here) but you will have REAL interactions with a real, big family. AND it's incredibly cheap!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've been travelling to Somoto Canyon for 3 years and now I can stay with the family of the best guides right next to their house just off the Panamericana Highway with direct access to this highlight of any Nicaraguan adventure. Just navigating the smallholding that surrounds the house, with its irascible turkeys, guinea fowl, hens, ducks and geese, rabbits and donkeys is fun in itself. Not to mention the animated family with so many brothers and three garrulous sisters. You are made to feel at home and share their jokes while they ply you with good value solid campesino meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. And if you're lucky you'll catch them partying with a ranchero band in attendance. These are the friends you want to meet while travelling. The dorm and family rooms are spartan but more than adequate. Enjoy the experience soon as it will be booked out all too quickly I believe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbon, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed for two days in this family runned hostel close to entrance of the Somoto Canyon (approx. 2km). The accomodation is simple but sufficient and the family is super friendly. The restaurant offers traditional food to a very fair price also the accommodation. The several brother who are living and grew up there also offers adventures trips trough the Somot Canyon. Very recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Somoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Somoto

Address: Carretera Panamericana kilometro 229, Somoto, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Madriz Department > Somoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Somoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Somoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.