We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Ethiopian average but at a price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yabelo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yabelo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yabelo Motel
Save
You added Yabelo Motel to your Saves list
Yabelo, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yabelo
Darlington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Better than Ethiopian average but at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here which were bliss, but to put this into context, this followed two nights in a very basic room in Negele. The overall rating is based on our experience of staying in Ethiopian hotels and lodges.

Our room was in the quiet block away from the restaurant and it faced onto well maintained gardens. The big double bed had a very comfortable mattress, clean sheets and a well fitted mosquito net. The room also had a satellite television (but with limited choice of channels). Although the door to bathroom was a bit odd (it looked as if the lock had been removed) the shower had hot water, which was just heaven (we hadn't had hot water for the last 10 days).

Breakfast wasn't included in the price of the room, which in our experience was unusual in this price bracket (857 birr, approx $45). We note that the Lonely Planet makes reference to the room prices being "beyond ridiculous". We also found it unusual that a hotel in the price range couldn't provide milk for the coffee.

On the plus side, there is a relatively large dinner menu and their plate of vegetables was a welcome change from the usual fare. However, on one evening, our waiter appeared to pluck the price of the bill from the top of his head, when we insisted on a copy of the bill, it miraculously reduced by nearly half!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
6
21
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I had a very nice stay with my 10 year old daughter. Everything, including the water heater and the TV worked fine. We just had to turn the water heater on before we took a shower. The bed felt hard sitting on it, but was very comfortable to sleep on.

We will definitely visit again if we find ourselves in that area of the world.

The slippers were nice, but were my daughter's size.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbera de Llobregat, Spain
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We found this motel better than expected, with the typical african notes such as the shower with no curtain or the door lock assembled inside out, but the garden and the tidiness make it a very good choice. The restaurant, with tables in the garden, is just average, probably the most decent place in the town, because it was full of businessmen from neighboring countries (somalis, kenyattas, ugandan). Strange for such a location? Worth noting that this part of the country is beyond the customs control...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

After a very long drive from Turmi we stayed here as part of our tour. I do realize that we are in the middle of nowhere but this motel is on the main road to Kenya and we would have expected better. The shower has no curtain so the floor got flooded.Only 1 towel. Satellite TV very poor sound. Fridge switched off. Staff unfriendly and bar staff charge what every they like, no bar prices displayed. The place looks like a prison, dirty plates in the garden and cat was cleaning the plates in the dining area.

Room Tip: check your room thoroughly before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yabelo hotels

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a nice hotel to stay, I recommend the new rooms in the back garden. The rooms are clean and nice, and you have a nice garden in front, where you can relax and the children can run around (especially nice after a long days drive). They have nice tibs, but be patient when ordering, the serving is somewhat slow. In the meantime enjoy the relaxing atmosphere in their out door restaurant or in the garden. I enjoy their suite in the corner, it has 2 bedrooms - and suits well for a family. This hotel was a pleasant surprise first time we came to stay here, and even more when they got the new rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped here for one night on our way through the area. The rooms were clean and bright and the gardens were nicely manicured. The restaurant had the slowest service I had encountered in Ethiopia although the setting in the outdoor dining space was lovely. Overall, I think it was nicer than what I'd expected to find in the area.

We visited the nearby Yabelo National Park while staying here--we saw a huge herd of zebras but not much else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethiopia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was until now the only decent option in Yabelo, so 45 dollar for a double last week is a lot , if you get some pensions at a few 100 m from there for 17 dollar.
These pensions offer the same room quality, more silent at night but no food or drinks.
The Motel also stays in a permanent construction and extending phase. They were cutting at 5 m from our table with an electric cutter Ceramic to put on the floor. Television in the middle of the restaurant added 50 people to see English football.
So all by all , overpriced now others are in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Take a room away from noisy areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yabelo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yabelo Motel

Address: Yabelo, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Oromiya Region > Yabelo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yabelo
Number of rooms: 101
Also Known As:
Yabelo Hotel Yabelo
Yabelo Motel Ethiopia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yabelo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.