We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Cricketers Arms

Royal Cricketers Arms
385 Reservoir Road, Prospect, Blacktown, New South Wales 2148, Australia
02 9622 6498
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Prospect
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pub food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Its a pub serving food. Not a restaurant serving beer.
4 of us shared starters. Two steaks. One lamb stew and I had the baramundi
All adequate in quality. Large portions. But not restaurant quality. But the beers were good. And the atmosphere like a pub
Expect pub food and enjoy the noght

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a lot has changed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

this used to be one of my favorite places to go for a Sunday lunch or afternoon drink but boy is it different , I should have noticed that it was not busy this should have tipped me off that things had changed but as we had booked a family Sunday lunch we grabbed a drink and waited for the others , I ordered a ploughmans plate and Caesar salad to share with my mum , what was this that arrived no ploughmans lunch that's for sure ...precut bega cheese squares, cocktail pickles ,bread roll,bransen pickles,no picked egg this was not what i expected , then the salad well if you like lettuce ...no much chicken , no egg , no anchovies .The rest of the tables food much the same .Overpriced , will not be going back , beer overpriced as well

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Has gone downhill at a rapid rate"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Have lunched midweek at this character pub for many years BUT yesterday was a big dissapointment. My wife ordered the Chef's Quiche and I ordered the Ceasar Salad. The quiche was burnt, bland (perhaps reheated too many times) and the chips were soggy and undercooked. The Ceasar was devoid of crispy bacon, the egg hard boiled within an inch of its life, the croutons soggy and inetable and the Parmesan was sparse. When our dissapointment was conveyed to the waiter his response was " Oh well some bad some good" Can't figure what was good BUT the wine was cold and the bottle freshly opened. We won't be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The food was woeful !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Went to this pub about a month ago and really enjoyed the ham and egg and the fish and chips. Returned this weekend ( went to Wet and Wild) and stayed at the Atura. Now an English guy was running it a month ago and the food was fine. This weekend it was truly awful - the English guy has left. They had run out of fish and chips and Toad in the Hole ( never good when you have to make second choices) but we ordered other things. The liver parfait was nice but the toast was very burnt and so quite bitter. The chicken and sweet corn soup I ordered as a main was truly awful ,I could not eat it - it tasted like tinned beef soup with chicken and tinned corn thrown in. The chips in the other meals were so undercooked we couldn't eat them . The brownie for dessert just tasted cheap ( homemade my eye) and The Ashes ( meringue) was soggy bought meringue about 4 strawberries and squirty cream. All in all a woeful attempt at catering - we won't be going back !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Once is enough, basic food, overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We had wanted to try the pub for a while but were disappointed. Although the staff were friendly and we fully expected an old english style pub, it looked a little tired & unkempt especially the gardens at the back. The food was delivered within 15 mins which was good, but was poor for the cost (except the fish/chips which was excellent) the salad was old & limp, the side sauces in pots had been standing a while because they were dry/skin on top and we got cold mushy peas??!! We had the beef pie too which was disappointingly bland, luke warm with a crust which looked like it had been cooked & added seperately(?). So not fresh out of the oven as expected. It was Sunday & the live music (gent) was basic & ruined a few good songs. Drinks were reasonably priced. All in all the experience was disappointing & we wont be recomending it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Cricketers Arms also viewed

Rouse Hill, Blacktown
Rouse Hill, Blacktown
 
Blacktown, Greater Sydney
Blacktown, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Royal Cricketers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Cricketers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.