We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best choice closest to the train station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropicana

Hotel Tropicana
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gemas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tropicana
Save
You added Hotel Tropicana to your Saves list
Bangunan Lim Chin Moh No.1, Jalan Lintang, Gemas 73400, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gemas
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“best choice closest to the train station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

the whole point was to have a place close to the train station - and this hotel is exactly perfect for that. There was AC. There was hot water. We had our own ensuite bathroom. I didn't really expect anything else. It is true that you can hear everyone in the hallway, the pillow was uncomfortable - but - really - it is what it is, and it is close to the train. plus in the morning you can have roti canai at Gemas curry point.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We only stayed here one night to be able to catch the morning train to the east. Roon was ok for our purpose. It was not exceptionally clean nor was the bed really comfortable. Not a bad place to stay though, but a little to basic for us. Plus point is the close location to the train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gemas hotels

Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We did a railway tour and began in the town of Gemas. We stayed in this hotel after reading reviews about it, I thought it was a bit expensive for the type of hotel it was, but the rooms were pleasantly designed, and very clean, so in a way it may have justified the price. No breakfast is included, but there are nice coffeeshops near by to have your roti canai. Hotel is a few hundred metres away from Gemas railway station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subang jaya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

room just nice . our family book more than 15 room but we were served bad koewtiau. The following night my room are very smelly. I cannot sleep we made a complaint but nobody take it seriuosly. They sprayed my room at 11.30pm and we found out the same guy are serving our dish and do the housekkeping and maintainance.

Room Tip: make sure the room and towel are clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is very near the station... but in Gemas, almost evrything is near the train station ;-)
The staff is efficient and helpful.
Chep, small, but spotless rooms, air con working well.
The room I had had a window opening to the inside of the hall. Maybe noisy due to uncaring guests.
The wifi is working well from the cafe, but may be tricky from the rooms (depends on room location).
Overall good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muar, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Me and wife are travelers on a Tandem. And Gemas is one of our stops along the tour route we did. And we found this hotel, smack in the center of town. Room Ok, though a bit small for us. There was a small tv, hot shower , air conditioned and wifi. A small desk to work on the laptop, and that was it. But it was clean no doubt and best,.. quiet. Just a small complaint, the towels are a bit tiny and well worn out. We paid rm69 and that includes breakfast.

I love the dinning place,. its cosy, cool idylic place to hang about and do some work on the laptop as the wifi is pretty strong and fast too here. Breakfast was good too, western with toasts and eggs , beans etc etc.

Our tandem, which is pretty long since it is built for 2 was allowed to be kept in the back section of the lobby, near the exit door. I feel very secured woth this arrangement.

What to see in Gemas?.. We went to see the 2nd world war memorial 10 kilometers west of Gemas. It was just a small thing but pretty good info. admission free.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I spent 3 weeks here on and off in April 2012 for business, but why anyone else would find themselves in Gemas is beyond me. It's a block of shops with constant traffic rumbling by.

Anyway, this Hotel is clean, comfortable, and the air-conditioning in the room works really well, I had 3 rooms and they were all good. Don't expect luxury, but it is clean and cool, the wet room shower works well, the beds are OK and for the money, 50-70 ringits, it's a bargain for westerners.

The wifi however is poor, 3 routers, all dropping out every 5 minutes or so, very frustrating.... Didn't have a breakfast here as my colleagues prefered to eat on the way to work, but I am told the breakfast is good quality. Also the room keys disable themselves regularly, so leave them at the desk ! No room phone, or bathroom complimentaries but there are so many little shops around you can get virtually anything you need.

Staff friendly and rooms cleaned every day. I will be going back because of work, and I will only consider this hotel in Gemas.

Room Tip: all the rooms are about the same !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropicana

Address: Bangunan Lim Chin Moh No.1, Jalan Lintang, Gemas 73400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Gemas
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gemas
Number of rooms: 45

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.