We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurateurs fantasy come true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belize Spice Farm & Botanical Garden

Belize Spice Farm & Botanical Garden
1 mile South of Golden Stream bridge on Southern Highway., Big Fall, Belize
(501) 732-4014
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Attractions in Big Fall
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Rustico
1 review
“A restaurateurs fantasy come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I happened upon the Golden Stream Spice Farm by chance, driving to Big Falls and seeing this little sign. Dr. Mathew was there, again by chance and offered to take us on a tour. It was apparent immediately, that this is no ordinary man. His kindness towards his people and passion for this huge project are infectious. Many of the spices we use daily in my restaurant, in cuisine in general, were all here, growing on trees and vines. Forests of vanilla and peppercorns. Citrus groves, coffee, cocoa, exotic fruits and flowers. Nutmeg, cloves, cardamom, cinnamon that brought new expectations to my taste buds. Peppercorns were being harvested by young men proud to show us the contents of their bags, then on to the drying room. There was a room all steamy hot with tables and racks of vanilla pods curing. The smell was heaven. We were presented with a fresh squeezed glass of juice from the orange groves at the end of the tour. If you ever have a chance to visit this farm, do it. I wanted to stay, forever. Even though I have to travel across an entire continent to do so, I will go back. I have told every restaurateur I know about my visit. A day I will remember always.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Belize
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tropical Fruit Adventure with Vanilla and Black Pepper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A great experience at Dr. Matthew's beautiful Spice Farm. There is so much to explore and discover it's unbelizable.......
so many different tropical fruits to taste, Vanilla par excellence,....etc..

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

On our road trip to Punta Gorda, we found this hidden
gem. The Belize Spice Farm & Botanical Garden,
so glad we stopped here. We didn't take the tour as
we were a bit short on time. We did take a nice hike
through some of the farm with one of the workers, who
explained things as we walked along. purchased lots
of spices they had on hand, including some vanilla beans. If you are in the area be sure to stop in you won't be disappointed

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another Must Stop Attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

As frequent travelers to Belize we are always looking for new hidden treasures to uncover. On a drive from Placencia to Punta Gorda we came across the Belize Spice Farm & Botanical Garden located on the southern highway in Big Falls (very easy to find). The staff are friendly and all experts on how to grow everything from vanilla to black pepper and will be more than happy to drive you around their jungle farm comfortably seated on a trailer pulled pulled with a very cool tractor! If you are only vaguely interested in plants, the jungle or where your spices actually come from... this is a Must Stop on your trip! (I will never complain about the price of vanilla ever again).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect learning environment for every age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the highlights of our trip. We had a indepth tour of the spices farm how everything is grown,harvested, dried, and sold we also ate and tasted everything! We would go everyday if we could

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belize Spice Farm & Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Belize Spice Farm & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belize Spice Farm & Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.