We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge At Big Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge At Big Falls to your Saves list
The Lodge At Big Falls
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   PO Box 103, Big Falls, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Big Falls B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I was one of a group of 10 people who stayed at the lodge for four nights in February. We had come to the Toledo District to visit archaeological sites. On the basis of that experience, I definitely recommend the Lodge. Owners Rob and Marta, and their staff, including Catarina, were welcoming and helpful in many ways. A friend and I stayed in one of the two newer cabanas. It was attractive, with good lighting and a spacious bathroom. The main building of the Lodge has a very pleasant outdoor veranda, plus a nice bar inside. Food was good and ample. There is a great pool, which we which we took advantage of one afternoon after visiting nearby ruins. Steve, our guide/driver to several archaeological sites, is a knowledgeable and enthusiastic birder who shares his information informally and during early-morning birdwalks. If you come this far south in Belize, you can't go wrong with the Lodge at Big Falls. You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hirons, Owner at The Lodge At Big Falls, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. We do appreciate it and hope to be able to welcome your group to the deep south of Belize in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
51
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just returned from a four night stay at The Lodge At Big Falls. Everything from the moment you arrive is handled perfectly. Rob and Marta (the owners) were perfect hosts during our stay at The Lodge. Our "Hut" was probably the most comfortable place you could stay while in Punta Gorda. Two hammocks on the porch were perfect for afternoon reading. The bed had a memory foam type mattress which was very comfortable. However, my favorite part was the shower. The shower was a indoor shower, but had a large screened window facing outside. The entire area around the shower is completely private covered by beautiful tropical plants and a thatch type material.

Steven Choco was our guide while at the lodge. I can not say enough how a guide can make our break any trip. Steven made this trip fabulous. Steven showed us a undiscovered Belize adventure that would have been imposiible without him. Steven guided us all around Punta Gorda. We had the chance to meet many locals, go birding (he is amazing at this), kayaking, caving, and visiting little known ruins. He is a gem to have on staff at the lodge!

The property at The Lodge is wonderfully lush. You can go tubing down the Rio Grande River (right outside your hut), relax by the pool, star gaze at night... All of this with no TV's or phones to disturb all of the nature around!

All of our meals were fresh and delicious. We enjoyed having a glass of wine or rum punch before dinner at the lodge's bar. I also suggest you try the bananna smootie for a treat.

In case you enjoy birding The Lodge is a great location. While there we saw owls, yellow warblers, parrots, keel-billed toucans, hummingbirds, red-legged honey creeper, woodpeckers, baltimore orioles etc... Of course Steven pointed them all out to us :>)

We had a great time and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was called Tiger Heron.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I Stayed here two wonderful nights but wish it could have been more. This part of Belize is incredible but under explored which makes it the perfect place to really get away from all the tourist traps and experience the "real" Belize. But don't think that means you have to rough it. The Lodge at Big Falls offers five star accommodations and cuisine. The rooms are spacious and even have a kitchen if you feel like going to a local market and trying your hand at using some new ingredients and spices. They are also clean and spotless and incredibly well maintained. There is free Wi-Fi available in the lobby/dining area but if you stay in the room called Mot Mot (which is the closest to said lobby) you can get the internets in your room!
The grounds are fantastic and home to many birds. You will be serenaded with their incredible call every morning. If you are even slightly into birding you can even take an early morning bird walk on the property with a local guide (Steve I believe) and see several dozen species all only feet from your front door.
The food is also wonderful with hearty, flavorful breakfasts (all you can eat) and exciting, exotic, delicious dinners. They don't skimp on the portions either.
The owners were wonderful and accommodating and have done a great job of hiring excellent staff.
If going to Belize you owe it to yourself to stay here and while the price may seem a bit high it is completely worth it.

Room Tip: Mot Mot is the closest to the lobby/bar and you can pick up the free Wi-Fi from that room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hirons, Owner at The Lodge At Big Falls, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the lodge. We look forward to being able to welcome you back again when you have more time to explore the "deep south" of Belize.
It is as you say, "under-explored" and this is perfect time to visit and experience it before more development begins to change the nature of the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our group of 5, family of four and 1 friend, stayed here for four days in December. It was very enjoyable and memorable. The cabanas are nicely designed, with gorgeous thatched roofs, modern accoutrements. The grounds are lovely, great trees and flowers, lots of birds, some small animals. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The bar and dining room are comfortable, and the food plentiful and tasty. Good wi-fi internet available in the bar and dining room area.

The location is good for exploring Toledo and we loved the daily excursions - including trips to nearby falls, the Lubantuun Mayan site, a wonderful visit to a local and very small chocolate factory. We loved exploring the nearby caves and had a fantastic daylong excursion to the Port Honduras Marine Reserve. Our guide prepared fresh conch ceviche - he plucked 5 conch from the waters and prepared it right on our little desert island. The snorkeling was great, too.

Steven, the local guide and drive, who works for the Lodge was very knowledgeable and very helpful and a great driver. Definitely use him if you can.

The only minor problem with our stay was the roosters. If you are a light sleeper be prepared to wake with the roosters from the local village. After the first night, we just rolled over and went back to sleep. It's part of the charm of staying in the Belizean countryside.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We were welcomed by our very warm host Rob Hirons, and his staff, who were very accomodating with our needs.

The beautiful Katerina, a local Mayan girl is the Assistant Manageress who also runs the bar together with her brother Steve who is the local tour guide. Steve's knowledge of birds and his eye for photography is amazing.

Rob gives the impression of being the stereotypical colonial Brit, without being pompous about it. He is a very open and honest person and ever willing to be of help to you. The colonial part of him shines, as you will soon see that he demands excellent service, and his staff who come mainly from the local village, certainly deliiver the goods in a very polite and courtious manner, especially in terms of the standard, the choices, and portions you get with your meals, which he has personally introduced to his cooks as a result of his extensive world travels.

I can only describe it as having Cordon Bleu cuisine, in a somewhat remote and very relaxing wilderness, and say that the cooking had to be of the highest quality as Rob himself likes to join his guests at the dining table without ever being imposing. This itself was good though, as he is a very good conversationist.

The cabanas were very spacious and immaculate, with a good supply of hot water.

If there was any downfall, it would be the mosquitos, however that has to be expected as running through the property is the Rio Grande River, on the edge of the jungle.

A great spot for wildlife photography and although we didn see or hear any of the jaguars or howler monkeys that the country is supposedly famous for, we did see unsual animals visitng the edge of the property but dont worry, they were only the local version of a rabbit, together with the numerous humming birds that like to visit the verandah for a feed of fruit.

Although i initially booked this stay at the Lodge to satisfy my friend who was an amateur photographer, I can really say that I enjoyed my stay there as it was never boring and there is something for everyone to do, including children.

With this in mind, i would have no hesitation in recommending this as a reclusive, romantic and relaxing place to stay, and look forward to visitng Rob and his crew again in the future.

Nigel and Yogi

Room Tip: Take mosquito repellent and a good sting creme if you are bothered by these sort of insects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hirons, Owner at The Lodge At Big Falls, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Many thanks, Nigel and Yogi, for taking the time to write about the lodge, although I am not sure I am too keen on the "colonial Brit" epithet; maybe in appearance but I hope not in attitude.
Everyone visiting Belize should bring a good mosquito repellent with deet. Mosquitoes do not normally make themselves felt year round and as the season gets drier so the insects get fewer. Having said that this year there have seemed to be more . The most effective thing we do to control them is to keep the grass well-cut around the buildings. This keeps most of them away from living quarters.
We look forward to welcoming you back again. Bring your families next time. Best wishes to you both.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We spent a few days at Big Falls with 3 generations of family members from 7 to 70. Rob and Marta made us feel at home. The food was great, and the quiet setting was inviting. Seeing the ruins and the local flavor of Belize was something I don't think you'll get with a big corporate run hospitality organization.

More than anything, I appreciate Rob, Marta, and all of their very gracious staff attention to our special needs. My 12 year old daughter had accidentally sprained her ankle while at Big Falls and really couldn't get around. There aren't many places in Belize where you can swing by a local drug store or clinic and pick up an item like a crutch. One of the staff actually made a crutch out of materials on the premises! No words can say how much this meant to me and my daughter. At any inn or hotel we expect clean rooms and palatable food, but such an act went way beyond and was a true act of kindness and humanity. Needless to say, I have a special place in my heart for Rob and Marta and all of the wonderful people they have.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hirons, Owner at The Lodge At Big Falls, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We have made sure to pass this on to all our staff and especially Cris the impromptu crutch maker. We do have a very talented and resourceful staff. Best wishes to you and the family for 2012. Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I spent a weekend at the Lodge at Big Falls, close to Punta Gorda in the Toledo District in Belize City with my wife and enjoyed it very much.

After a 5 minute bumpy but safe ride down a road off the highway, we got to the lodge. Even though it was close to the village, it still felt like you were in the middle of the jungle. The lodge is situated on a peninsula created by the local river there and consists of 8 cabanas around the main lodge building. The landscaping is vast, huge green lawns framed by tropical forrest.

We liked our cabana very much. Bed were comfortable, bathroom and amenities were high class and very clean. We could have fit at least 2 more people in there and completely catered for ourselves. But we just wanted to relax and be pampered. :-)

We hung out at the Lodge mostly, enjoying good wine and very good food. The owners must have travelled the world before they settled in Belize - the food was very international and creative, a nice change from the Belizean cuisine (which was good but neither creative nor healthy in any way).

We enjoyed hanging out at the lodge, playing badminton and table tennis and the pool. Also, the very knowledgable owner took us on a nature walk where we saw a lot of plants, flowers and birds from vulture to hummingbird in their natural habitat which is the lodge's back yard.

We also went to the Maya Ruin Lubaantun, which is a short trip from the Lodge. Make sure you get a good guide when you're there!

Room Tip: Cabanas are situated either on a hill overlooking a great meadow or with a view of the river. Some h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Falls
8.3 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Turneffe Island
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
12.3 mi away
Tranquility Lodge
Tranquility Lodge
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 18 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
12.4 mi away
Beya Suites
Beya Suites
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#3 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge At Big Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge At Big Falls

Address: PO Box 103, Big Falls, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Big Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Big Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge At Big Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate family run jungle resort on the banks of the Rio Grande. The palm thatched cottages have en-suite bathrooms with shower garden. Beautifully tiled floors, fans and screened, wood louvered windows offer a cool living area. Relax in hammocks on your own veranda. We offer a full service restaurant and bar, a wide range of on-site activities including kayaking and river tubing and day tours organized by the lodge with our local Mayan guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge At Big Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge At Big Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.