We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool clear exhilirating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunya Mountains National Park

Bunya Mountains National Park
Bunya Avenue, Bunya Mountains, Queensland 2004, Australia
+61 (0)7 4668 3127
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cool clear exhilirating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

we camped, fed wild life walked until our legs dropped off, had a funny experience with some prickly pears, coped with the awkward moments of a first camping trip and laughed in the cool March air - perfect

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Tranquil Tracks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose a longer walk and happy to meet a large goanna, small wallaby, big lizard, kangaroo, lovely birds and the usual scrub turkeys. It was Christmas day and we detoured to Maidenwell to see the Coomba Falls with lots of happy splashers, and note the great new pathway down to the billabong.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Self guided can be challenging but certainly back to nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Bunyas - as locals know it - is the great for the family day out or just to escape the crowds. The signage can be misleading or non existent in some parts of the walks but we were never lost just momentarily geographically misplaced - we always found our way back. Take plenty of water on hot days. Amazing views that break from the undergrowth. Well worth it. Stayed in kingaroy this time rather than camping

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Changes are not always for the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Although the scenery is always lovely, it was a shame that the restaurant and shops had been expanded to cater for increasing numbers of visitors. Service was slow (up to one hour for a simple meal), queues were long, service was non existen, orders were mixed up, some dishes did not arrive and had been "lost" somewhere in transit and when staff were advised of the problems they were very offended and UNapologetic about the issues. We gave up on many dishes although we had paid for them and no refund was forthcoming!
What happened to the lovely friendly simple good quality service of years gone by... I enjoyed going there but will definitely no longer put it on my list of places to go with visitors as it is a poor advertisement of Australian hospitality standards.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“back to nature:friendly wildlife everywhere, scenic and uncrowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

we were the only people other than the park rangers walking the scenic circuit this week. we followed a gentle creek and gazed on lush waterfalls and pools. The majestic bunya pines are found only here and in a small area of nth queensland in the world. Gorgeous birds flitted around, some quite rare to see such as the noisy pitta. We stayed at the dandebah units at the entrance to the park where wildlife such as wallabies, kangaroos and their joeys played in the front yard. King parrots , spectacular read and green birds, rested in trees outside our door.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunya Mountains National Park also viewed

Rolleston, Queensland

Been to Bunya Mountains National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunya Mountains National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.