We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bunya Mountains Tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bunya Mountains Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunya Mountains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bunya Mountains Accommodation
Save
You added Bunya Mountains Accommodation to your Saves list
Bunya Avenue | Dandabah, Bunya Mountains, Queensland 4405, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Bunya Mountains Tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

If you want to get away from the noise and stress of the city, this is the place to go. We recently stayed at Rice's Cabins with our family, and it was a great experience. The accommodation is as you would expect, basic, but very clean and comfortable. Rice's Cabins are very reasonably priced and represent great value. At around 1000m above sea level, the temperature is a pleasant change from the heat and humidity of Brisbane. To be able to walk bare footed on cool, crisp grass, in the well maintained grounds, is a real pleasure. The wild life was not intimidated by our presence, and the mountain parrots, lyre birds etc are happy to be hand fed. Take your provisions with you, as local supplies are quite expensive at the local store, as you would expect. Good bushwalks are available, and the tracks are, on the whole, well maintained. This was our second visit, and we will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: One and two bedroom cabins are available. All have undercover car parking for one vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMACTeam, Manager at Bunya Mountains Accommodation, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello BernieM 1950
Thanks for your feedback about Bunya Mountains and Rices Cabins. Glad you had such a great experience and will return.
Look forward to seeing you again at Bunya Mountains.
BM Accommodation Centre team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at Godshill, On booking the accommodation I was worried because the property has three accommodation modules on the one property but to my delight it was very private, quiet and peaceful and you would never know that anyone else was there. The kitchen was very well equipped, the owners have thought of everything, loved the open fire place and there was plenty of chopped fire wood supplied. The furnishings were very contemporary unlike other houses we viewed where the furniture was very dated and a real let down. I would recommend Godshill to anyone, we will definately return. My only negative comment is that the staff from Bunya Mountain Accommodation were not very friendly unlike the owner of the house who I found to be very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMACTeam, Owner at Bunya Mountains Accommodation, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Kristobel... Thanks for leaving a review and our apologies for the delay in responding. To be honest, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay however, terribly disappointed you didn't experience our fabulous service. We've had many improvements on the mountains since your review including a new chef in Poppies Cafe, a new licensed restaurant, new website and compendiums. We welcome you back so you can see your service experience wasn't the norm. Thanks & Regards Sue and the BMAC team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had the pleasure of nearly a week at the delightful Whitewood Cottage in the middle of winter this year. It was amazing! The log fire in the cabin was infact so effective that it overheated the house and we had to open the doors many days.

The cottage is literally nestled into the forest and you have daily visits from kangaroos, scrub turkeys and many other members of the local wildlife.
Particularly cute was the possum who came and knocked on the door each evening for his apple pieces. He was quite tame and very keen to say hello should you be willing. Take a few apples or mandarins and cut them up and feed them to him when he turns up (but don't tell the rangers! shhh! )

A small but nice selection of DVD's in the draw too.

We adore the Bunya Mountains and will definitely take our family there frequently once that is an option for us.

Room Tip: Take a few DVD's with you, and a pile of books!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMACTeam, Owner at Bunya Mountains Accommodation, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Mark and Bron...
Thanks very much for leaving a review quite some time ago and our apologies for the delay in responding. Whitewood cottage is a great private property and glad to see the locals made themselves known. We've had some great improvements since you stayed including a new chef in Poppies Cafe on site open 7 days and also a new licensed restaurant and bistro across the road. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Sue and the BMAC team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We just stayed at the Godshill West Wing which was just gorgeous. This home is laid out very well with lots of big windows to see all the wildlife through. The home was very clean and has a fabulous fire place (for either warmth or romance). The bed was super comfy...we slept very, very well. The bathroom is generously sized and has a great spa bath. The animals come right up to your door and are very tame. We just loved the King Parrots that would fly down onto our arms. There were countless wallabies all around the grounds. The Bunyas are great for relaxing and bushwalking. We did some great walks with fantastic views. We ate at the Puzzles Restaurant which had great food and perfect service. We ate so much we thought we would explode...it was that good! And the bonus is with all the bushwalks you do not have to worry about eating their yummy desserts as you will burn the calories off the next day! We will definitely come back to the Bunya Mountains and stay in the Godshill West Wing again. It is the perfect weekend getaway! I would recommend a visit to this place to everyone!

Room Tip: Stay at Godshill West Wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMACTeam, Owner at Bunya Mountains Accommodation, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear vs...
Thanks v much for leaving your review and our apologies for the delay in responding. Godshill is a beautiful property and glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. We've had some great improvements on the mountain since 2011 including Poppies Cafe is now open 7 days along with another new licensed restaurant across the road. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again. Sue and the BMAC team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Each year we try to visit the Bunyas; the peace and tranquility, the wildlife, the views, the walks, the overall serenity! Hard to beat. We have stayed at several different accommodations there: Rice's Cabins, Eco Lodge, Sky. All great. All well furnished and the upkeep is of a high standard. So kick back and enjoy all that the wonderful Bunyas has to offer. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMACTeam, Owner at Bunya Mountains Accommodation, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Bill...Thanks very much for your review and our apologies for the delay in responding. We hope you've been back to see all the changes happening since leaving the review. Poppies Cafe is now open 7 days offering Bunya Nut treats and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again for the feedback. Regards Sue and the BMAC team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Many cottages and homes to rent for very reasonable tarrifs. We recommend 'Tranquility' which was fully equipped, warm, spacious and so peaceful. A short walk to the National Park walks, and wallabies resting on the front lawn, it was lovely.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMACTeam, Owner at Bunya Mountains Accommodation, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Loves good food... thanks for leaving the review. Our apologies its taken so long to respond. We're just catching up with Trip Advisor. We're delighted to let you know there's been a few changes, we now have a new chef in Poppies Cafe which is open 7 days serving great Bunya Nut delights on site and there's a new licenced restaurant across the road also open at night. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Sue and the BMAC team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bunya Mountains Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunya Mountains Accommodation

Address: Bunya Avenue | Dandabah, Bunya Mountains, Queensland 4405, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bunya Mountains
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bunya Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunya Mountains Accommodation Centre is the largest accommodation provider offering a stunning selection of 97 architectually designed chalets on the doorstep of the 2nd oldest national park in Australia ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunya Mountains Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.