We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home but better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clovelly House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clovelly House to your Saves list
Clovelly House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 Kaoota Rd, Rose Bay, Clarence, Tasmania 7015, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rose Bay B&B and Inns
Newcastle NSW
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home but better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at Clovelly as a last minute option for a real bed and to get some washing done on our camping holiday. From the first minute Graeme and Fay welcomed us as friends and bent over backwards to help us out. They even hung the washing out while we were out! Every need and want is catered for with great attention to detail right down to the best toast settings for each kind of bread on offer at breakfast. Our room was very comfortable and the bed linen soft making for a fantastic nights sleep. The breakfast was more than adequate and the fresh baked muffins on our arrival yummo! The only down side was that we couldn't stay longer. Hobart seems to be quite expensive for what you get in terms of accommodation but this place is a definite exception and absolutely worth a visit. Thankyou!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
35
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Clovelly house is a lovely B&B situated just outside Hobart City Centre. It’s beautiful grounds, lovely rooms and wonderfully comfortable beds make this place a real find. Graeme and Fay are simply a delight to stay with – I would highly recommend Clovelly house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our hosts were superb in welcoming us and making us feel at home in Tasmania. Very comfortable accommodation with views across to Mount Wellington. Excellent continental breakfast. Tv and wifi available. Very good advice on trips and tours across Tasmania. Tea, coffee and cakes/biscuits on arrival. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived Graeme and Fay gave us a warm welcome. We stayed in the Franklin Suite which is a self contained unit with a kitchenette that gave us greater meal flexibility. It was spotlessly clean and all the necessary crockery and cutlery was provided. Everyday afternoon tea was available with a beautiful homemade cake. The breakfasts were great with healthy options including fruits from the property's beautiful garden.
A big plus is the free Wifi which has not been available for free at most accommodation we have stayed in. It is an easy drive over to the city and it is walkable if you are fit enough. We chose Clovelly initially because it is not suitable for children so it was beautifully quite, we would highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Great location if you have a car (just across the bridge), stunning garden, gorgeous breakfast sunroom, nice bedroom, and warm and very thoughtful hosts. A home away from home! We obviously loved it and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Lovely immaculate property surrounded by beautiful gardens and a view of the river and bridge from the guest lounge. Heater was already turned on in our room when we arrived and delicious shortbread was offered along with coffee or tea. Great lighting in the room (something other B&B's could copy) and bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was huge with fruits, yogurts, breads and juices and even a hot cocoa. Even though its not smack dab in the city its so close to both the airport and Hobart that with a car it was a breeze going to the North Hobart cafes and great State cinema. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We felt very welcome and at home. Wonderful owners. Was surprised they didn't provide a hot breakfast for the price but worthwhile nevertheless. Note that cooking isn't allowed and other websites may mention there is a barbecue. This is not a barbecue for guest use.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clovelly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clovelly House

Address: 20 Kaoota Rd, Rose Bay, Clarence, Tasmania 7015, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Rose Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rose Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clovelly House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clovelly House is a classically designed, colonial-style sandstone home set in 2000m2 of beautifully landscaped gardens, with full, daylong sun. Sandstone walls shelter the gardens from the street and provide quiet, secluded accommodation. From its position on the heights of Rose Bay, guests have sweeping westerly views across the Derwent River to the Tasman Bridge and to the city nestled at the foot of the majestic Mount Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Clovelly House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clovelly House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.