We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly and helpful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clovelly House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Clovelly House to your Saves list
Clovelly House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 Kaoota Rd, Rose Bay, Clarence, Tasmania 7015, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rose Bay B&B and Inns
Terrigal, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely friendly and helpful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived Graeme and Fay gave us a warm welcome. We stayed in the Franklin Suite which is a self contained unit with a kitchenette that gave us greater meal flexibility. It was spotlessly clean and all the necessary crockery and cutlery was provided. Everyday afternoon tea was available with a beautiful homemade cake. The breakfasts were great with healthy options including fruits from the property's beautiful garden.
A big plus is the free Wifi which has not been available for free at most accommodation we have stayed in. It is an easy drive over to the city and it is walkable if you are fit enough. We chose Clovelly initially because it is not suitable for children so it was beautifully quite, we would highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Great location if you have a car (just across the bridge), stunning garden, gorgeous breakfast sunroom, nice bedroom, and warm and very thoughtful hosts. A home away from home! We obviously loved it and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Lovely immaculate property surrounded by beautiful gardens and a view of the river and bridge from the guest lounge. Heater was already turned on in our room when we arrived and delicious shortbread was offered along with coffee or tea. Great lighting in the room (something other B&B's could copy) and bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was huge with fruits, yogurts, breads and juices and even a hot cocoa. Even though its not smack dab in the city its so close to both the airport and Hobart that with a car it was a breeze going to the North Hobart cafes and great State cinema. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We felt very welcome and at home. Wonderful owners. Was surprised they didn't provide a hot breakfast for the price but worthwhile nevertheless. Note that cooking isn't allowed and other websites may mention there is a barbecue. This is not a barbecue for guest use.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a delightful place Clovelly House is... Graeme & Fay were absolutely wonderful. So warm, gracious and caring. They offer beautiful afternoon tea, a wonderful breakfast ... just the right food to get you going again. The room was exceptionally clean, the electric blankets were just the thing for us Brisbanites! They couldn't do enough for us & frankly they are the perfect people to run a business like this. Thank You Greme & Fay. We would highly recommend Clovelly House & would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

After being soaked at the airport getting off my flight (another story) what a pleasure to be welcomed at Clovelly House. Graeme & Fay immediately showed me to my room to dry off and when I returned had the heater on and afternoon tea all ready. This was a great indicator of their hospitality which continued throughout my stay.

The room was clean and comfortable with tea making facilities and a small fridge. Good heating and electric blankets were also included. The guest lounge was a haven as well with Graeme only too happy to light the open fire.

Breakfasts were excellent and a cooked breakfast available for a small charge or included depending on package. Well worth the extra. Clovelly House has plenty of off road parking available and is located only an easy few minutes drive to the city of Hobart. Walks are available around the bay area - very scenic and enjoyable. Views from the house itself over to Mt Wellington are beautiful.

Graeme & Fay are also happy to help with questions re the local area and assisting in booking whatever you may require. They are proud of the place and it shows in the way they look after their guests.

In short - if you are looking for a B&B, this is highly recommended. Perfect for me except for the weather (which unfortunately our hosts could not control) - but as I said, that's another story.

Thanks Graeme & Fay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We booked three nights in the Spa Suite with king bed which is located at the front of the house. It is quite spacious and has great views out towards the Derwent River.
Graham & Faye were great hosts, friendly but not over-the-top. After unpacking, we were given afternoon tea in the conservatory which also has views of the river, the Tasman Bridge and Mt Wellington.
The first night was cold. In the evening Graham lit the woodheater in the guest lounge. So my wife & I sat there watching TV and reading. The other nights we decided to stay in our room, reading & watching TV or preparing for our excursion the next day. Tea & coffee making facilities within the room were well set out. Own mini fridge is someting that does not always appear in bed & breakfasts.
Breakfast was continental and very satisfying. Juice, a variety of cereals to select from, same with bread for toast and condiments. As much or as little as you wanted. Tea and plunger coffee served by Graham. All in the sunny conservatory with those views. Graham was helpful with directions and ideas of what to see.

Room Tip: The spa suite with king bed is quiet and roomy with great views. Heater works well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clovelly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clovelly House

Address: 20 Kaoota Rd, Rose Bay, Clarence, Tasmania 7015, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Rose Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rose Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clovelly House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clovelly House is a classically designed, colonial-style sandstone home set in 2000m2 of beautifully landscaped gardens, with full, daylong sun. Sandstone walls shelter the gardens from the street and provide quiet, secluded accommodation. From its position on the heights of Rose Bay, guests have sweeping westerly views across the Derwent River to the Tasman Bridge and to the city nestled at the foot of the majestic Mount Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Clovelly House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clovelly House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.